Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Honolulu and Oahu Hotels

Halekulani

  • 2199 Kalia Rd. Map It
  • Waikiki
  • Fodor's Choice
Check Rates
  • Courtesy of Halekulani

  • Courtesy of Halekulani

  • Courtesy of Halekulani

  • Courtesy of Halekulani

  • Courtesy of Halekulani

Pros

  • Location on small (private-feeling) beach
  • Heavenly interior spaces
  • Wonderful dining opportunities in-house
  • World-class service
  • Artsy perks

Cons

  • Might feel a bit formal for Waikiki
  • Pricey

Updated 03/04/2015

Fodor's Review

The luxurious Halekulani exemplifies the translation of its name—the "house befitting heaven"—and from the moment you step into the lobby, the attention to detail and impeccable service wrap you in privilege at this beachfront location away from Waikiki's bustle. It begins with private registration in your guest room and extends to the tiniest of details, such as complimentary tickets to the Honolulu Museum of Art. Spacious guest rooms, artfully appointed in marble and wood, have ocean views and an extra large lanai. You'll also find fine dining options at Orchids, which hosts a popular Sunday brunch, and La Mer with its Belle Epoque bar L'Aperitif. Don't forget to sip a handcrafted cocktail and listen to live jazz at the chic Lewer's Lounge. For a day of divine pampering, check into the award-winning SpaHalekulani. Outside, the resort's freshwater, heated pool has an orchid design created from more than 1½ million glass mosaic tiles; small and intimate Gray's Beach fronts the hotel just beyond the pool.

Hotel Award Winner | 2013

Hotel Information

Address:

2199 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Hawaii, 96815, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-923–2311; 800-367–2343; 844-288–8022

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 411 rooms, 43 suites
  • Rate includes No meals

Updated 03/04/2015

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Honolulu and Oahu

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

rooms

My husband and I were there Jan. 2012 for Pro Bowl. Hotel was very open and lobby was beautiful. The air was sweet. However, the room we had was very outdated. The sliding door handle to the closet feel off in my hand - this was a mirror door - handle shatterd on the floor. Room furniture very dated. Not what I was expecting for the price. They were doing outdoor construction - the best outdoor dinning area was closed for this on the last 2

days we were there. VERY small beach area but beautiful pool.

Read More

By Russm

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Apr 20, 2008

Excellent for a few days

The service was outstanding throughout the property. Restaurants, spa, front desk. business center, everywhere we went the service was excellent. Loved the food especially Le Mer.

  • Service

  • Value

  • Room

  • Décor

Mar 4, 2008

fab

We'll always fondly remember the five nights we spent here in February. Yes, it's expensive and the beach directly in front of the hotel is poor. But you can quickly walk down Waikiki Beach, and everything else about the hotel is fabulous. The breakfast buffet outside in the morning is a wonderful experience.

By Karol

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Room

Jun 2, 2007

Worth the money

My husband and I just returned to New York from Oahu today. We stayed 4 nights at the Halekulani after a wedding in L.A. This hotel is clean & comfortable, and the staff is friendly. We had a Diamond Head view room & the view was perfect. We spent evenings at the House Without a Key having mai tais and watching hula, which was sooo relaxing & laidback. I'd read some stupid online complaints about the hotel before I booked but I am a fussy traveler

(especially regarding cleanliness) and I was absolutely satisfied w/ our stay. We went to Dolphin Quest at the Kahala & felt so thankful not to have stayed there. It seemed cold, austere, and dark compared to the Halekulani (although Dolphin Quest was great). They do have an evening "dress code" but it really seemed to be for La Mer more than anywhere else & we saw all kinds of casual clothes in the public areas at all hours. My husband has stayed at Ritz locations on the mainland for business & he was impressed by the Halekulani, as well. Treat yourself & pick this hotel. It is wonderful. One note: If you have kids, you may want to choose a place geared toward them, with activities & babysitting services.

Read More
  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Room

Mar 4, 2007

Heaven

Sitting on your balcony looking at diamond head overlooking the ocean is heaven. You are right in the middle of a busy area but feel that you are miles away from everything. The ambiance and service of the hotel are amazing and worth the money. We have been there twice and will return. Try the romance package, it wont disappoint you.

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 14, 2007

Fodor's choice for a reason...

We stayed at the Halekulani for two nights this past Christmas (Dec. 22nd & 23rd) and were impressed by the service and special touches. Upon checking-in, we were escorted to our room by the Manager who answered many of our questions about the hotel. A plate of fresh fruit, box of chocolates, and juice(2 bottles) and water(two bottles) were waiting for us in our room--all complimentary. Later that evening guests of the hotel were invited to a "Managers

Reception" where they had hot appetizers and an open bar. The food was very good and the champagne plentiful. There isn't much of a beach, but the pool is sufficient. Pool attendants circle the grounds offering cold face towels and fruit bars. I am not a fan of Wakiki/Honlulu, but the Halekulani made our stay worthwhile.

Read More
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 5, 2007

Overrated Hotel

We arrived Christmas eve to an average lobby with barely any holiday decorations. Because we were checking in before 3pm, my husband and I were taken to the lounge to "check-in". We weren't told of the procedure so we had to ask the employee to inform us what was going on. I don't find it necessary to take guests to another location just to check in. We were told our bags would be taken care of while we walked around Honolulu - five hours later

we came back to the hotel and saw that our luggage had been sitting outside, in the sun, the whole time. This was unacceptable. We were escorted to our room so we could have a proper tour of the room. When we entered the room, my jaw dropped - stains on the carpet and furniture that clearly is the same since the hotel opened in the 80's. For the $600 we were paying a night, this is unacceptable. The couch had food stains and the glass on top of the TV cabinet hadn't been wiped down in a long time. Also, the TV screen was clearly wiped with a dirty rag as we could see streaks everywhere. When we walked out to the balcony, we saw the chairs had bird poop on them. We always stay at high-end hotels, Four Seasons, Peninsula, etc. and pay the same prices for better quality and clean rooms. As we decided to make the most of the situation, we went to the concierge desk to seek help on what to do after we visit Pearl Harbor. The young man, didn't have any "good" suggestions and was helpful. Overall, I would not recommend the Halekulani Hotel. It is overrated for the area we were visiting.

Read More

By Poqgal

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 23, 2006

Perfect Spot to relax

Outstanding service and lovely location. You will never want to leave.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.