Big Island Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Exterior

At a Glance

    Pros

  • extra-large rooms, all ocean-facing
  • direct access to one of island's best beaches

    Cons

  • fitness center is a 10-minute walk from the golf course
  • daily fees for Wi-Fi and parking

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Review

More reasonably priced than its neighbor resorts, this hotel occupies the northern corner of the largest sand beach on the Big Island. All of the rooms face the ocean, creating an expansive property with long walking distances. The massive structure features enormous columns and a terraced, open-air lobby with rotunda ceiling, curved staircases, and skylights. At night, lighting transforms the hotel into an architectural showplace. Recently renovated rooms are large, with marble bathrooms and plenty of in-room amenities like coffeemakers and robes. The hotel is large enough to escape from other guests if you so desire, and the staff is exceedingly helpful. The Hapuna Prince serves up excellent cuisine—check out the Let's Go Crabbing all-you-can-eat buffet at the Ocean Terrace on Friday nights. There's also the Hakone Buffet on Saturday night, plus a breakfast buffet each morning. For the budget conscious, the on-site deli-café provides affordable options for breakfast and lunch, including sandwiches, hot dogs, salad bar, soup, fresh fruit, and pastries. The golf course, designed by Arnold Palmer and Ed Seay, has topped many a "best courses" list.

    Hotel Details

  • 351 rooms, 37 suites.
  • Rate includes no meals.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 01-06-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Don't make this mistake

    We were at this property 10 years ago and it was great. When we checked in this time for our anniversary, it was obvious it is in disrepair and badly in need of a major refurb. The room smelled like a musty midwest basement. The bathroom tile in the shower was moldy. They had outdated furniture and an old TV (Even inexpensive hotels have upgraded to HD flat screens). All this for $350 a night. Your are a sucker if you choose this hotel. We left after two nights----what a disappointment and management didn't seem to care.

    by desertnancy, 6/9/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Terrible

    Room was at the end of the hotel as far away from the lobby as possible which is about half a mile!!! One of us is handicapped, walks with a cane. No entertainment to speak of unless you want to listen to a guy playing a guitar who seems embarrassed by his own performance and lack of people listening to him. Bar? forget it. Just a big open area under the lobby area with maybe two or three people if you are lucky and no one talks to you. Beach? Just a backdrop, too far away to enjoy. Drinks? Watered down like crazy. Breakfast? continental breakfast for $21 a pop and not even special!!! What a rip off. Far away from all the activities and shops of Kona. This place drove us crazeeeeeeeee

    by rosie329, 4/19/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great Stay, but with some issues

    We stayed at the Hapuna Beach Resort for 7 nights this January, 2008. We were in room 4-711. Building 4 is just off the lobby, so it was convenient location to the lobby and car. The main part of the hotel is a truly massive building which I describe as from the “Monumental Mayan” school of architecture. Very impressive and very open to the beautiful Hawaiian weather and ocean views. The staff was great; cordial and responsive to our needs throughout our stay. It seems many of them have been at the hotel for a long time, and this shows in the smooth operation. The hotel and the rooms are very clean. The lawns and gardens are manicured to within an inch of their lives. The pool and the beach are fantastic. Just beautiful!

    We felt, however, that there are signs of deferred maintenance at this property. The October, 2006 earthquake damaged the ceilings of the lobby which has not been repaired. Steel supports have been bolted to certain areas as reinforcement. I found it a little disconcerting to be sitting in the Reef Lounge with a nice Mai Tai and looking up at those large cracks running out across the ceiling from each of the massive pillars. I assume that the structural integrity of the hotel has been certified, but it would be nice if they could patch up the cracks some day. I assume that the repairs to the Mauna Kea is the main priority right now, but the Hapuna Beach Hotel is beginning to suffer.

    The Room:
    A bit on the small side, but with a very large bath with dual granite topped sinks, a separate shower stall, bath tub and enclosed toilet area. We also had a granite topped bar area with an empty refrigerator ready for your sodas and such. There was no minibar. Our room had two queen (?) beds which were arranged so that we did not have the big easy chair which is in the pictures posted online. I missed not having the easy chair in the room. Room 4-711 has a good view of the ocean, but a massive round support pillar on the left side of the balcony makes it impossible to see the left side of the property and the pool area. Because of this obstructed view, I would not take this room again.

    I hate to say it, (because I really like this property) but the general condition of our room was just above passable. They need to update the rooms, get rid of the armoires and install flat screen TVs. The furniture and carpets are beginning to show their age. The headboards are apparently replacements for earlier ones which were attached directly to the wall. When they removed them, however, they did not patch the holes and left the bright red plastic screw anchors in the wall. There is just no excuse for that. Some of the wall coverings are starting to come off the walls. We noticed a musty smell in the room when we first arrived, but after the A/C was turned on, the odor disappeared and did not return during our stay. This may just be the way it is in Hawaii given the humidity and warm weather. This was not a problem at all during our stay.

    Our balcony had a padded lounger, two padded chairs, a dining table and a drying rack. In the room, the mattresses seemed old and I actually felt the springs with my knee several times as I got into bed. Surprisingly, however, I always had a good night’s sleep. The pillows and linens were very comfortable. The hotel uses Neutrogena bath items including rain wash, shampoo, conditioner and lotions with clear facial soap and milled soap for the bath and shower. We were provided with daily free bottles of spring water in room and a daily newspaper. The hotel is apparently using leftover supplies from the Mauna Kea such as the beach flip-flops, drink coasters, robes and other items. The maid service was superior. We only needed to contact Housekeeping on one occasion for a change of feather pillows upon arrival. The response was efficient and quick.

    On site restaurants:
    - Hapuna Café in the lobby: This is one of the little gems in this hotel. In the mornings, they have very good coffee, teas and pastries for about $2.00 each. At lunch, $6.00 to $9.00 selections as compared to $15.00 to $18.00 sandwiches and $9.00 hotdogs at the pool bar. This place is a great, cheaper alternative.

    - Ocean Terrace, Breakfast Buffet: We only did the breakfast buffet once which cost $28.00 per person ($21.00 for a limited continental buffet). It was ok, but nothing special at that price. Coffee and a pastry from the Hapuna Café before leaving for a day of sightseeing was better for us.

    - Hakone Steak House and Sushi Bar: We did not eat here due to high prices on the menu and some less than stellar reviews in the tour book.

    - Coast Grille and Oyster Bar: Expensive but worth it! We ate here twice. The food and service exceeded our expectations on both visits. Gorgeous oceanfront views. We really like this place and I wish we had this restaurant back home! I would definitely make this your “splurge night” restaurant on the island if you’re on a budget. And it just happens to be at your hotel!!

    SIDE NOTE: Ocean Front Trail: There is a largely unpublicized public access trail that runs along the beach that is just fantastic. We stumbled upon it by accident. We were in flip-flops so we didn’t get to far and, unfortunately, did not have time to get back to it during our stay. But from what we saw, I would recommend wearing some athletic shoes and go exploring. The oceanfront views are awesome. We came across two ancient Hawaiian historical areas in just our brief tour between the Hapuna Beach Hotel and the Mauna Kea property. They really should let more people know about this!

    Absolutely loved the Big Island and loved this hotel. We would stay here again, but would also be overjoyed to see an upgrade/renovation program at this property!

    by richs10, 1/24/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Simply fabulous in every aspect

    This place is gorgeous and the people are wonderfully friendly! We stayed for five days in the second week of October, 2007, to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was amazingly warm and welcoming, from the complimentary bottle of wine delivered to our room to the personable waitstaff at the delicious and abundant breakfast buffet. The staff greeted us by name each day and went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. The valets were especially helpful, with directions and advice, as well as bottles of water for our daily sightseeing adventures around the island. The hotel grounds are immaculately kept and beautifully landscaped--the views are terrific from every vantage point. From the moment you arrive in the open-air lobby to the quiet moments on your ocean front lanai, you will enjoy the sight of the Hapuna Beach bay and the park-like setting. The food at the Coast Grille was great and the service good. The pool is also beautiful. Large, well appointed rooms; twice daily housekeeping; huge marble bathroom; in room coffemaker and fridge; air-conditioning; quiet and private. I would return in a heart-beat. Well worth the money.

    by jrz, 10/28/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Loved It!

    After spending 5 nts. in Kauai at the Sheraton and feeling very crowded, the Hapuna Beach Prince was heaven. My husband and I spent 5 nts. here in October 2006. The hotel felt empty, which was very calming and serene. This was our 4th trip in 5 years to the Big Island and by far the most luxurious experience. From the juice and warm towels at check-in to the twice a day maid service with free bottled water, it was perfect.
    The infinity pool was the largest we had seen and Hapuna Beach is absolutely beautiful.
    The staff was very helpful and even when we checked out we were informed of an unspent resort credit and encouraged to go spend it in the shops. How nice was that! We had forgotten all about the credit, else we would have had more drinks by the pool. Next time...
    My husband and I will definitely stay here again.

    by dlcb86, 5/22/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories