Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Hotels

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

  • 62-100 Kaunaoa Dr. Map It
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Extra-large rooms, all ocean-facing
  • Direct access to one of island's best beaches

Cons

  • Fitness center is a 10-minute walk from the golf course
  • Daily fees for Wi-Fi and parking

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

More reasonably priced than its neighbor resorts, this hotel occupies the northern corner of the largest sand beach on the Big Island. All of the rooms face the ocean, creating an expansive property with long walking distances. The massive structure features enormous columns and a terraced, open-air lobby with rotunda ceiling, curved staircases, and skylights. At night, lighting transforms the hotel into an architectural showplace. Recently renovated rooms are large, with

marble bathrooms and plenty of in-room amenities like coffeemakers and robes. The hotel is large enough to escape from other guests if you so desire, and the staff is exceedingly helpful. The Hapuna Prince serves up excellent cuisine—check out the Let's Go Crabbing all-you-can-eat buffet at the Ocean Terrace on Friday nights. There's also the Hakone Buffet on Saturday night, plus a breakfast buffet each morning. For the budget conscious, the on-site deli-café provides affordable options for breakfast and lunch, including sandwiches, hot dogs, salad bar, soup, fresh fruit, and pastries. The golf course, designed by Arnold Palmer and Ed Seay, has topped many a "best courses" list.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

62-100 Kaunaoa Dr., Kohala Coast, Hawaii, 96743, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-880–1111; 866-774–6236

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 351 rooms, 37 suites
  • No meals

Updated 01/06/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all hotels in Big Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2009

Don't make this mistake

We were at this property 10 years ago and it was great. When we checked in this time for our anniversary, it was obvious it is in disrepair and badly in need of a major refurb. The room smelled like a musty midwest basement. The bathroom tile in the shower was moldy. They had outdated furniture and an old TV (Even inexpensive hotels have upgraded to HD flat screens). All this for $350 a night. Your are a sucker if you choose this hotel. We

left after two nights----what a disappointment and management didn't seem to care.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2009

Terrible

Room was at the end of the hotel as far away from the lobby as possible which is about half a mile!!! One of us is handicapped, walks with a cane. No entertainment to speak of unless you want to listen to a guy playing a guitar who seems embarrassed by his own performance and lack of people listening to him. Bar? forget it. Just a big open area under the lobby area with maybe two or three people if you are lucky and no one talks to you. Beach?

Just a backdrop, too far away to enjoy. Drinks? Watered down like crazy. Breakfast? continental breakfast for $21 a pop and not even special!!! What a rip off. Far away from all the activities and shops of Kona. This place drove us crazeeeeeeeee

Read More

By richs10

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2008

Great Stay, but with some issues

We stayed at the Hapuna Beach Resort for 7 nights this January, 2008. We were in room 4-711. Building 4 is just off the lobby, so it was convenient location to the lobby and car. The main part of the hotel is a truly massive building which I describe as from the “Monumental Mayan” school of architecture. Very impressive and very open to the beautiful Hawaiian weather and ocean views. The staff was great; cordial and responsive to our needs throughout

our stay. It seems many of them have been at the hotel for a long time, and this shows in the smooth operation. The hotel and the rooms are very clean. The lawns and gardens are manicured to within an inch of their lives. The pool and the beach are fantastic. Just beautiful! We felt, however, that there are signs of deferred maintenance at this property. The October, 2006 earthquake damaged the ceilings of the lobby which has not been repaired. Steel supports have been bolted to certain areas as reinforcement. I found it a little disconcerting to be sitting in the Reef Lounge with a nice Mai Tai and looking up at those large cracks running out across the ceiling from each of the massive pillars. I assume that the structural integrity of the hotel has been certified, but it would be nice if they could patch up the cracks some day. I assume that the repairs to the Mauna Kea is the main priority right now, but the Hapuna Beach Hotel is beginning to suffer. The Room: A bit on the small side, but with a very large bath with dual granite topped sinks, a separate shower stall, bath tub and enclosed toilet area. We also had a granite topped bar area with an empty refrigerator ready for your sodas and such. There was no minibar. Our room had two queen (?) beds which were arranged so that we did not have the big easy chair which is in the pictures posted online. I missed not having the easy chair in the room. Room 4-711 has a good view of the ocean, but a massive round support pillar on the left side of the balcony makes it impossible to see the left side of the property and the pool area. Because of this obstructed view, I would not take this room again. I hate to say it, (because I really like this property) but the general condition of our room was just above passable. They need to update the rooms, get rid of the armoires and install flat screen TVs. The furniture and carpets are beginning to show their age. The headboards are apparently replacements for earlier ones which were attached directly to the wall. When they removed them, however, they did not patch the holes and left the bright red plastic screw anchors in the wall. There is just no excuse for that. Some of the wall coverings are starting to come off the walls. We noticed a musty smell in the room when we first arrived, but after the A/C was turned on, the odor disappeared and did not return during our stay. This may just be the way it is in Hawaii given the humidity and warm weather. This was not a problem at all during our stay. Our balcony had a padded lounger, two padded chairs, a dining table and a drying rack. In the room, the mattresses seemed old and I actually felt the springs with my knee several times as I got into bed. Surprisingly, however, I always had a good night’s sleep. The pillows and linens were very comfortable. The hotel uses Neutrogena bath items including rain wash, shampoo, conditioner and lotions with clear facial soap and milled soap for the bath and shower. We were provided with daily free bottles of spring water in room and a daily newspaper. The hotel is apparently using leftover supplies from the Mauna Kea such as the beach flip-flops, drink coasters, robes and other items. The maid service was superior. We only needed to contact Housekeeping on one occasion for a change of feather pillows upon arrival. The response was efficient and quick. On site restaurants: - Hapuna Café in the lobby: This is one of the little gems in this hotel. In the mornings, they have very good coffee, teas and pastries for about $2.00 each. At lunch, $6.00 to $9.00 selections as compared to $15.00 to $18.00 sandwiches and $9.00 hotdogs at the pool bar. This place is a great, cheaper alternative. - Ocean Terrace, Breakfast Buffet: We only did the breakfast buffet once which cost $28.00 per person ($21.00 for a limited continental buffet). It was ok, but nothing special at that price. Coffee and a pastry from the Hapuna Café before leaving for a day of sightseeing was better for us. - Hakone Steak House and Sushi Bar: We did not eat here due to high prices on the menu and some less than stellar reviews in the tour book. - Coast Grille and Oyster Bar: Expensive but worth it! We ate here twice. The food and service exceeded our expectations on both visits. Gorgeous oceanfront views. We really like this place and I wish we had this restaurant back home! I would definitely make this your “splurge night” restaurant on the island if you’re on a budget. And it just happens to be at your hotel!! SIDE NOTE: Ocean Front Trail: There is a largely unpublicized public access trail that runs along the beach that is just fantastic. We stumbled upon it by accident. We were in flip-flops so we didn’t get to far and, unfortunately, did not have time to get back to it during our stay. But from what we saw, I would recommend wearing some athletic shoes and go exploring. The oceanfront views are awesome. We came across two ancient Hawaiian historical areas in just our brief tour between the Hapuna Beach Hotel and the Mauna Kea property. They really should let more people know about this! Absolutely loved the Big Island and loved this hotel. We would stay here again, but would also be overjoyed to see an upgrade/renovation program at this property!

Read More

By jrz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2007

Simply fabulous in every aspect

This place is gorgeous and the people are wonderfully friendly! We stayed for five days in the second week of October, 2007, to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was amazingly warm and welcoming, from the complimentary bottle of wine delivered to our room to the personable waitstaff at the delicious and abundant breakfast buffet. The staff greeted us by name each day and went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. The valets

were especially helpful, with directions and advice, as well as bottles of water for our daily sightseeing adventures around the island. The hotel grounds are immaculately kept and beautifully landscaped--the views are terrific from every vantage point. From the moment you arrive in the open-air lobby to the quiet moments on your ocean front lanai, you will enjoy the sight of the Hapuna Beach bay and the park-like setting. The food at the Coast Grille was great and the service good. The pool is also beautiful. Large, well appointed rooms; twice daily housekeeping; huge marble bathroom; in room coffemaker and fridge; air-conditioning; quiet and private. I would return in a heart-beat. Well worth the money.

Read More

By dlcb86

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2007

Loved It!

After spending 5 nts. in Kauai at the Sheraton and feeling very crowded, the Hapuna Beach Prince was heaven. My husband and I spent 5 nts. here in October 2006. The hotel felt empty, which was very calming and serene. This was our 4th trip in 5 years to the Big Island and by far the most luxurious experience. From the juice and warm towels at check-in to the twice a day maid service with free bottled water, it was perfect. The infinity pool was

the largest we had seen and Hapuna Beach is absolutely beautiful. The staff was very helpful and even when we checked out we were informed of an unspent resort credit and encouraged to go spend it in the shops. How nice was that! We had forgotten all about the credit, else we would have had more drinks by the pool. Next time... My husband and I will definitely stay here again.

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2006

Read some of these reviews with a grain if salt...

The location is fantastic no doubt! But the rooms are no better than any typical mid to high level resort hotel. I did not find the bed at all comfortable, for example. The meals and the drinks are a budget buster; after the four of us whipped up a $120 bar tab in a hour (2 drinks each and one appetizer) after that we went to town and bought some mixings :) Expect $35 entrees to be typical at dinner. Don't pay full price! We did and felt ripped

off. The couple we were vacationing with got their identical room for $100 less a night than we did. By the way, many of the other comments strike me a little over enthusiastic. This is a very nice place but certainly not so exceptional and also no bargain. The comments in this forum seem a little over specific, and over detailed, almost like sales copy. Hmm, I have to wonder if the staff at the Hapuna might have been honing their creative writing skills on this forum :)

Read More

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2006

Jewel of the Island

What a fantastic place. The grounds are unbelieveable. The rooms were the best that I've stayed in on the island (includes Mauna Kea and Hilton Waikaloa)and the bathrooms far overshadow other hotels. Breakfast here can make you cry, between the view of the ocean and the view and taste on your plate, this was truly one of my favorite times on our vacation. If we could have cancelled our reservations at Mauna Kea, we would have stayed longer here. Has

one of the coolest pools I've ever seen. Great place to stay.

Read More

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2005

What a relaxing experience!!

My wife and I just got back from spending 8 days at the Hapuna. At first, we were skeptical because it was not the typical high-end hotel but after "experiencing" the Hapuna hotel, I will never stay anywhere again on the Big Island. My wife is a travel agent so we were also able to tour the Mauna Kea. While nice, the room is not as big or as lush as Hapuna. The grounds at both hotels are extraordinary. I could not believe how nice everyone was

at the hotel. And, we were told the Hapuna was at 70% occupancy but unless you went to the pool, you would never see anyone. The room is set up so that you walk to the room from an open hallway with views of great landscaping. When you walk into the room, it is not overly impressive but the views will take your breath away. Many nights, we had cocktails on our balcony and watched the sunset. If you get a chance, ask to see the Hapuna Suite. It is 8000 square feet and an amazing place. As for food, I only ate breakfast there once and it was average. We ate dinner at the Coastal Grill once, too, and while I did not like my food, my wife's fish was great. If you are looking for great food, dont go to the hotels; instead, try Merrimans in Wailea or Cafe Pesto just beyond the Mauna Kea. You will not be disappointed. We toured several of the other properties there, too (i.e. Mauna Lani, Fairmont and FS). Other hotels were nice but the view at the Hapuna will make you keep coming back. We look forward to our next trip.

Read More

By Kirsten

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2005

Wonderful Hotel!

This was a refreshing change from the Hilton Waikoloa Village. Our kids liked it there, but once we checked in here, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The hotel is beautiful with a more casual feel. All areas are open to the wonderful views. We would visit the Big Island just to stay here! Beautiful quiet pool, excellent restaurants, quiet and beautiful surroundings, and the beach is the best! We snorkeled with the turtles every day and had the

best night's sleep with the ocean breeze flowing through the room because of the screen door at the front of the room and screened lanai. Very large spacious marble bath, impeccable service, my daughters even had complimentary hula lessons! We had a wonderful stay here.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2004

Best combination of beautiful hotel, pool and beach all within yards of each other.

This resort was beautiful. Views were spectacular, great beach and infinity pool.Lobby overlooking grounds and ocean. Rooms were nice and with varying views. Ocean view room were nice. Staff was friendly and service was good. On vacation with our 2 children ages 12 and 17 and we had connecting rooms by a common door which was great. Everyone had their own beds. Cabanas were free but you had to reserve them early. Food was a bit expensive but

its Hawaii. Self service Cafe that you can get bagels, yogurt fruit for breakfast and sandwiches and salads for lunch. Would highly recommend this resort, exceptional value when rate is discounted from $460 to $250 a night and in our case 2nd room 1/2 price at $125 a night. Best combination of hotel, pool and beach all within yards of each other.

Read More

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2004

HBP hard to beat!

We spent 10 days on the Big Island, 5 days at Hapuna Beach and the 5 at the Four Seasons. They were so different (FS a bit too pretentous), and Hapuna Beach cannot be beat! The beach, pool and room are great (our upgraded room to an oceanview suite was spacious and comfortable- and the view was awesome!) We also enjoyed the access to the Mauna Kea Resort and walked along the golf course path to get there- great beachside restaurant and outdoor morning

yoga! Really a great value and relaxing place for couples.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2004

Very good, not great

We got a promo price on the room ($250/night for premium ocean view - free upgrade at check-in, which was very nice), otherwise value rating would have been much lower. The room is nice, but nothing spectacular. Do not pay full price. There were actually quite a few bugs, but it was an anomoly (so we were told) because of unseasonable humidity - whatever that means. The pool is excellent, the beach is excellent and the grounds are very pretty.

The spa leaves a lot to be desired. If spa is your thing, stay elsewhere. If beach is your thing, the Hapuna has a great one. Also of note, once at the resort, everything is crazy, crazy expensive. And the quality of the restaurants do not warrant the price at all. But that can be said for most of the restaurants on the Big Island. It's simply a very, very expensive place to vacation. So be prepared for $10 drinks and $35-38 entres. Other than those complaints, had a wonderful time. Volcano is fun, snorkeling is great. If you can afford wild prices, you won't have regrets.

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2003

Highly Recommended

Our 3rd trip to the Big Island in the last 5 years and 1st stay at HBPR. last minute trip and booked a room on their internet site - great deal and got upgraded to Premium Ocean View Room. The hotel was and the island was very quiet (late Sept) added to our enjoyment. As everyone has stated - it's an excellent beach, and there are are many relaxing vista spots to enjoy the ocean scenery. In our experience, some of the best, personable service from

the hotel staff that we have ever experienced in the Hawai islands. We enjoyed our 5 nights here, would highly recommend and we would also return.

Read More

By Heidi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2003

More Than I Hoped For!

For starters, the Hotel sent some one to the airport to welcome us, & she gave my daughters their first leis.This property is relaxing,beautiful,filled with activities & very well located for touring. Room was very clean with a gorgeous head on ocean view. Staff was friendly & accomodating. Some families (but not a zoo) but also rather romantic. Would definitely return!

By Stuart

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2003

Beautiful and Relaxing

I love this place. As soon as we drove up and walked into the gigantic, multi-level, open-air atrium, we new it was someplace very special. You walk into the atrium/lobby and the panoramic view of beautiful Hapuna Beach unfolds before you. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, like walking through a botanical garden. The facilities (pool, watersports, shops, etc.) were very nice. The staff was courteous and attentive. Our room was spotless,

with a huge bathroom. We had a private balcony with a great view of the AMAZING beach. Extra bonus: the right side of the hotel property has a fabulous snorkel spot where I swan with sea turtles and even a Manta Ray. The knock against this place is the "Minimalist" decor, but I think that's crazy. Perhaps compared to the "Overboard" decor of the Hilto Waikoloa, maybe. Also, the hotel is located in one of the most beautiful locations I've ever seen, and very peaceful, without a any hussle and bussle. I've stayed in a lot of nice places, this is one I can't wait to go back to.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2003

Great Place to Stay

Bathrooms are HUGE and luxurious. The room was very nice and suited us just fine. Beach is wonderful and the pool area is magnificent. Went to sister resort of Mauna Kea several times. Hapuna Beach Prince was much nicer. In fact, guests from Mauna Kea come to the pool at Hapuna Beach Prince as it is much nicer. Only reason to visit sister property is for the manta rays.

By Melinda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2003

Best Beach to Snorkel!!!

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we were very happy with this hotel. The rooms were beautiful and we felt like we were the only ones at the hotel it is very private. The snorkeling was great we saw turtles, and a variey of different fish. I loved this hotel and definitely would stay again.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2002

Great Beach but at significant price

Just returned and spent last 2 nights at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The rooms were very nice with great bathrooms. Upgraded to a room that offered a decent view of beach but needed to ignore the air conditioning units on roof of one of the restaurants when viewing it. The beach is definitely the biggest asset - food and drink our extremely expensive as compared to the rest of the island and my home state of Wisconsin. This hotel was relaxing

due to the beach and you can hear the ocean when sleeping (not as good as other hotels on the Big Island though). If you want a great beach and have some money to spend - this place is highly recommended. If you are looking to explore the island and only need a place to sleep - stay at a hotel in Kona.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2002

Perfection

Beautiful resort in an amazing setting. Room faced the ocean with the sound of waves to lull us to sleep. The room, balcony, and bathroom were all large. Purchased 'sight unseen' on hotwire and so a 5 for value is probably the biggest understatement in this case. I can't wait to go back.

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2002

Great Beach Location

Setting is on one of best beaches in Hawaii. Traveled with parents celebrating 50th anniversary ... however, hotel refused to provide them with upgrade even though it was far from full occupancy. Rooms are nice, not overly large, however bathrooms are huge. Had oceanview room and could see part of ocean over the trees. Food expensive here... ate most meals elsewhere. The beach is the MAIN asset here ... without it, this place would receive a

lower score.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2002

Truly Amazing Beach

I read so many reviews of resorts across the islands, trying to find the perfect place for our vacation. I finally chose the Hapuna Beach Prince because of everything I had read about the location. We were not disappointed. The resort and the beach were beautiful and the staff could not have been nicer. The rooms were comfortable and the food at the Coast Grill and Ocean Terrace restaurants was very good. We visted other resorts on the Big Island

during our stay, but would return to the Hapuna Prince without a second thought.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2002

Service Service Service!!

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hapuna Beach Prince hotel. My husband convinced me to shave one day off our stay at Four Seasons so we could stay one night at this hotel and enjoy it's beach. The staff at this hotel were very helpful; they brought us a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary and gave us an upgrade to a premium oceonview room.This hotel has a very relaxed feel about it. The rooms have great bathrooms.. big tubs,

glass showers, and nice vanities.The beds are comfortable and rooms are clean and well-appointed. Although the hotel does have a minimalist look to it, it is still beautiful and the beach is out of this world. You won't find a better beach in the islands(Wailea is a close 2nd) and the staff is very attentive. For dinner, the restarant manager made up a beautiful desert plate for two with the words "Happy anniversary" written in chocolate. He offered to take pictures of us and wished us congratulations. Stay here.. you'll be glad you did.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2002

Whatta Beach!

We went to virtually every other competitively outfitted resort on the Kohala Coast, and this was the winner hands down! Price was great (always ask for the "Hot Deals" promotion), and the rest was incredible. The beach is a major, major draw. Not crowded, pristine. And you get all the signing privilege's up the road at Mauna Kea. BTW: Definitely choose Hapuna Beach Prince over Mauna Kea, if you need to make the choice. WAYYYY classier, and

up todate.

Read More

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

A great place for a honeymoon

The Hapuna was our last residence during a two-week stay on the Big Island. Our room - a premium oceanview - was a free upgrade and was standard-sized and well furnished, with a huge bathroom. The hotel is airy and open, except the curious dark-hallway walk to the beach. The beach is lovely, the staff was very responsive, and we had some of our best meals here, especially the seafood buffet and the lavish buffet breakfasts. We did have to pay

close to top dollar for our stay, but the "Splash Package" offers $100/day credit towards all resort charges - a nice perk, especially when the breakfast buffet runs $25 per person plus tip.

Read More

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2002

Fabulous

We had an amazing honeymoon! The service was wonderful. The beach is beautiful. The resort is very peaceful, a wonderful place to relax. Our room was huge and the bathroom was even bigger.

By Brent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2002

Great Presentation

The bathrooms were awesome. The beach is the best on the island-ask anybody. Lobby and surrounding areas were very nice but we were there when it wasn't too busy so it felt kinda empty. The pool was also very nice. You would be very pleased with your choice of hotels. But my advice on which hotel to stay at would be in this order #1 Four Seasons #2 The Orchid (the old Ritz) #3 Hapuna Beach Prince #4 Mauna Lani #5 Mauna Kea. My wife and I spend

more time checking out other resorts than actual sight-seeing. Go figure.

Read More

By Bobby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2001

serenity

It felt as if we had the hotel to ourselves due to the tragedy the week before. The hotel had an upscale/ contemporary feel. We had an premium ocean view room. The bathroom and lanai were huge. The beach definitely deserves the reputation it receives from various travel magazines. The golf course was beautiful yet challenging. The only drawback due to the lack of hotel guests was that several of the restaurants and activities were closed. Overall,

I would definitely return!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement