Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Restaurants

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill. Overlooking the lake at the Kings' Shops is, granted, not an oceanfront setting, but if you're staying nearby and are looking for decent food, this place fits the bill. In the mood for a light meal? Choose from the enormous selection of great appetizers, paired with something from the extensive wine-by-the-glass list. The three-course meal is a good bet, as is the butterfish or Szechwan ribs, a melt-in-your mouth encounter. The menu

changes nightly and has a lot of specials, like ancho-chili-pepper seared sea scallops and grilled Hawaiian ono taco. Kings' Shops at Waikoloa Village, 250 Waikoloa Beach Dr., Kohala Coast, HI, 96738. 808/886–4321. www.roysrestaurant.com. No lunch.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Kings' Shops at Waikoloa Village, 250 Waikoloa Beach Dr., Kohala Coast, Hawaii, 96738, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-886–4321

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 01/06/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Big Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2008

Worth it, if you can get in

I've been to Roy's several times and the food has been consistently top-notch, creative and some of the best on the Kohala coast. The waitstaff knows its stuff and their service is quite good. But you've got to put up with a very loud dining room and the chance that your reservation gets lost. And the earlier you make a reservation, the better chance of getting in.

By drjoe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2008

a fun place for very good food

We have been to Roy's on 4 separate trips, and we have found it to be top notch each time. It is in the King's Shops shopping center, but once you are in the place, you are in a vibrant food atmosphere with an upbeat wait staff and some great local dishes. We love Roy's ahi appetizer, and the daily specials usually have something interesting. We'll return on our next trip.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2006

Disappointed

My meal was pretty good, but my wife thought her stuffed chicken was bland. The molten chocolate dessert that I've heard so much about was surprisingly "blah". I've had much better chocolate desserts at Chili's and Don Pablos on the mainland.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2005

Roy's Rant

We were completely disappointed because we had heard good things about Roy's. It was loud, it's in a strip mall, Ugly decor, slow/bad service and the food was mediocre at best. You can get better fish at the Wharf in SF.

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2005

In a hurry?

They are...The food was excellent but...it's a very popular place so they are suffling you through as quickly as possible to turn over the tables, so quickly that your lucky if they don't literally turn over your table, drinks...in the process. Tables packed in, LOUD!

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2003

Reliable Favorite

Have eaten at Roy's Waikoloa on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The menu is extensive, to say the least; the difficulty is deciding what to order. The food -- be it appetizers, main courses or desserts -- is consistently good. Very good wine list, too, especially for Hawaii. Service is always friendly and professional, and does a great job with the kids. Yes, it's loud, but there are other places to go for a quiet, intimate

dinner; this place has an open and festive feel that is quite enjoyable.

Read More

By Heidi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2003

Good Value, Good View

It may be a chain, but our food was quite good. Great wine list & our server was terrific. Definitely a great place for kids. They have the best kid's menu on the Big Island. Highly recommend it.

By cheryl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2003

Royally wowed by Roy's

We had the pleasure to go to Roy's because it was recommended by our friends. Granted, it was kind of noisy, but at least it wasn't stuffy or snooty. The staff was friendly and attentive. We ordered the ribs and and the ahi. Boy, we were glad we ate there. I can still taste the glaze on the ribs. I'm sorry to say that we didn't order dessert, but I wish I had! Good food, nice friendly atmosphere, what more could you ask for?

By bodi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2003

Roy's Raves

We enjoyed an early dinner and excellent service. The food was so fabulous, we ordered extra dishes to take with us. I agree with others, the room is very loud and crowded. I wish that trend would end. I would have enjoyed Roy's creative cuisine even more in a quiet place.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2003

Overcrowded & Overcooked

A real disappointment. Cramped, crowded, and VERY noisy. Fish dishes overcooked and dry.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2002

Though Located In A Hawaiian Disney Land, The Food Is Good, Trust Me

Can't say I love the location in Waikoloa Village that looks like a shopping plaza at Disney Land, the food is good and so it makes a logical stop for lunch before an afternoon at nearby A-Bay Beach. Wok charred Ahi with Udon Noodle rocks and his terriaki pork sandwhich is yummy. Relatively smart wine list too which you don't see on this Island at many places. Like Disney Land it can get crowded, but like I said, before beach time is a good plan.

By Trent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2002

Outstanding!

As Roy expands his restaurant empire, I feared that the overall quality of his restaurants would suffer. So, far, this hasn't been the problem. Had dinner there twice while on the Big Island (3/7&10/02) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Food is first-rate and service is friendly, attentive, helpful and well-informed. It's terrific to have waiters who really know about the food they're serving! Tip: the kitchen will prepare most entrees

at half-portion (and half-price), so you can do appetizer and dessert along with your entree. Worked out real well for us!

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2001

Roy's is great but the one on Kaui was better

Good food. Very knowledgeable staff. Not really romantic.

By C

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2001

Try the Sake Tasting Menu

Noisy restaurant, but the courses paired with Roy's special sake selections are delicious. Reasonably priced.

By joan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2001

better than stateside

This one is much better than the ones we've eaten in Calif.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement