Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Restaurants

Huggo's

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

This is one of the only restaurants in town with prices and atmosphere comparable to the splurge restaurants at the Kohala Coast resorts. Dinner offerings sometimes fall short, considering the prices, but the pupus (appetizers) and small plates are usually a good bet. The dining lanai overlooks the rocks at the ocean's edge, and at night you can almost touch the marine life swimming below. Relax with cocktails for two and feast on fresh local seafood; the certified

Angus beef is a cut above USDA Choice. If you're on a budget, Huggo's on the Rocks, next door, is a popular outdoor bar in the sand, and the burgers are pretty darn good, too. It's also Kailua-Kona's hot spot for cocktails and live music on Friday nights.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

75-5828 Kahakai Rd., off Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, 96740, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-329–1493

Website: www.huggos.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 01/06/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Big Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By LoisL

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2007

Wonderful experience, relaxed atmosphere, great sunset views!

We had Christmas dinner here, after having it recommended on the Fodor's site. We couldn't have been happier with it. The place is laid back and comfortable, with great views of the sunset. There was a minor inconvenience prior to seating, as we were told to wait for a table, and then when I checked back to see if we'd be called, was advised to check back on my own! Once past that, our table was right on the rail overlooking the water, our waiter

[Dick] was accomodating, our food was good [particularly the Ahi which both daughters ordered] and the views couldn't get much better. We would go back there in a heartbeat.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2006

Huggo's A Must!

I don't know what the Learns are talking about! We made reservations and were seated promptly, right at the railing overlooking the waves coming on shore. The food was very good and priced accordingly. We had drinks at Huggo's on the Rocks, right next door, and they even took our unfinished drinks over to our table, after refreshing them in new glasses...what service! Our waiter was great. Our only disappointment was the elevator/piano music

instead of a Hawaiian singer/music. Definitely worth the trip!

Read More

By Randy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2005

Anniversary Dinner

We've been going to Huggo's for our Anniversary dinner for 4 years in a row now. Island Johnny has been our waiter each time and he makes it special. Food is good. Mud Pie is great. Sunsets have all been spectacular. Going again this year.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2004

Good view... so-so food

I do not mind $30 entrees if they are worth it but clearly this restaurant is capitalizing on its views more than its food. The one highlight is the seafood sampler appetizer which can be enjoyed as an appetizer if you are an Ahi fan. For $22, you get a few slices of sashimi tuna, a few slices of seared tuna, a nice serving of poke (raw tuna, hawaiian style), and three large shrimps wrapped with rice noodles and deep fried with a thai dipping sauce.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2003

Held Up at Huggo's

Way, way over priced. Ono (a fish) was served cold. Server forgot our salads. Location is great. Park where you can.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2003

Fine Dining on the Ocean

Well prepared steaks, seafood salads and desert, with charming Kona waterfront views day, sunset or after dark.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2003

Huggos, Like a Worn Comfy Recliner...Good Times

I have dined at Huggos now 5 times. I love the ocean front views, the surf, the ambiance. The service varies. I have had one waitress 3 times and her 'rote' memorization of everything was so impersonal, I began to 'tune' her out. We had one great Hawaiian native waiter, great, no problem with attentivness. And the others I have forgotten. The place seemed run down or shabby after being up to the resorts. But, Huggos is still a great place.

Not plush, good food, great location. We threw our rolls down to the turtles, and then looked over to tourists making silly at the Huggos on the Rocks bar next door. When in Hawaii...Lighten up and go with the Lava Flow...relax and just not worry about quick, efficient, fast....it is the Island time...and you have to check into the Island time or you will just be frustrated all the time. Chill!

Read More

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2001

Great location

Tasty food with wonderful tables above the crashing surf. Service was slow and entrees pricey though.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement