Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Restaurants

Kona Inn Restaurant

  • 75-5744 Alii Dr. Map It
  • $$
  • American

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

This vintage open-air restaurant offers a beautiful, oceanfront setting on Kailua Bay. It's a great place to have a mai tai and some appetizers while watching the sunset, or to enjoy a calamari sandwich, clam chowder, or salad at lunch. Dinner is also available, but the entrées are less than stellar and for the prices there are better options once the sun disappears.

Restaurant Information

Address:

75-5744 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, 96720, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-329–4455

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 01/06/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Big Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By MHG1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2008

Good fish, ocean front, and professional service

The fish is fresh and very good. Service is very professional and quick. Setting is very nice being right on the ocean. Food is a bit pricey but it is an acceptable value given the other components. We tried just about all of the fish and all were winners.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2006

Just Okay

We had dinner there during our honeymoon. Service was fine and food was okay. We ordered drinks - they don't have Jameson. For dinner, we ordered Filet Mignon and got some other slab of steak. Tasted like a college BBQ as they brought out A1 sauce. It's very laid back but don't expect too much.

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2006

One of my island favorites

Atmosphere and view is fabulous. Food is very good and the service was great. I wouldn't miss this one if I were you. It is the perfect way to begin or end an island vacation. Quite memorable!

By janie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2006

still waiting for elvis

The food is only just bearable, that is what is still available, out of almost everything. I am still crying that they were not out of everything, yuk yuk yuk

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 20, 2003

Surprisingly good

Dined late here one evening and we were not disappointed. Food was surprisingly good, service was attentive, and prices are more reasonable than most Big Island restaurants. Entire restaurant is open-air and it would appear to be a great place to watch a sunset too. Mud pie for dessert was most memorable.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2002

View is great but...

Nice sun set view so stop for a drink around that time if you are shopping along the water front but skip it for dinner unless your Chart House fare. I mean the food is fine but the Big Island has so much to offer that you are wasting your time and money here.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement