Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Hotels

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Pros

  • Beautiful design
  • Award-winning spa
  • No hidden fees
  • Complimentary valet parking

Cons

  • No luau

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

Popular with honeymooners and anniversary couples for decades, this elegant Kohala Coast classic is still one of the most beautiful resorts on the island, highlighted by a breathtaking, open-air lobby with cathedral-like ceilings, Zen-like koi ponds, and illuminated sheets of cascading water. Under the same ownership since its opening in 1983, the resort maintains continuity via its longtime staff, who cultivate a personal connection with return guests. Eco-friendly practices

prevail here; the resort features one of the largest photovoltaic systems of any resort in the world. Even the golf carts are solar powered. Free cultural and educational programs provide guests the chance to enjoy a more authentic Hawaiian experience and "sense of place," whether touring ancient petroglyph fields with the on-site cultural historian, Danny Akaka, or enjoying an evening "Talk Story" session at the historic Eva Parker Woods Cottage. There are no hidden fees; services including Wi-Fi and DSL, shuttle service throughout the resort area, Kona coffee in the lobby, and valet parking are complimentary. With soft hues reflecting the flora of the island, the majority of the decidedly spacious rooms have ocean views, and all include climate-controlled air-conditioning, ceiling fans, dimmer lights, and expansive private lanai. The flagship CanoeHouse restaurant offers romantic dining by the sea, plus there are affordable options at Huli Sue's. The resort is known for its two golf courses (check out the iconic 15th hole over the water) and an award-winning spa with watsu pool located between two lava tubes. Families can take part in the free Camp Mauna Lani for lessons in coconut husking, hula dancing, throw-net fishing, and fish feeding.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

68-1400 Mauna Lani Dr., Kohala Coast, Hawaii, 96743, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-885–6622; 800-367–2323

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 318 rooms, 18 suites, 5 bungalows
  • No meals

Updated 01/06/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all hotels in Big Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2004

Food was Amazing!

We went to Mauna Lani as one of the stops on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Very relaxing. The food is incredible,worth the money. Not much to do at night especially since the restaurants close at 9PM. The Canoe House is was also great!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2004

Paradise

After spending a week at the resort, I can't even describe how wonderful the experience was. Everything about the resort is simply wonderful, especially the friendly and polite service. The hotel grounds and lobby are so beautiful, the rooms are spacious (especially the bathroom), and it's not a crowded hotel so you feel like you have privacy. There really aren't enough good things to say about every aspect; I highly recommend it to anyone wanting

a week in paradise.

Read More

By Elena

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2004

Vacation of a lifetime

My husband and stayed at the Mauna Lani Resort for a week in October and it was the most amazing vacation we have ever taken. The resort, though larger than a boutique hotel, felt like a small, cozy bed and breakfast. Service was impeccable - any question or amenity was no problem. The hotel was surrounded (inside and out) with lush vegetation, flowing marine streams and pools filled with saltwater fish and young turtles being raised for release

as part of their turtle protection plan. Each room views the ocean, looking over perfectly manicured grounds. Their own white sand beach has canvas covered chairs where your drink is brought to you as you watch the stunning sunsets each evening. Hawaiian musicians play beautiful native music with interpretive dancers each evening in the lobby and the food is supurb. Note that this is more of an adult resort - quieter and more laid-back than the mega-all-inclusives. We can't think of a more perfect vacation.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2003

When in Waikola this is the place to stay.

This hotel is very simple and elegant. The rooms have marble floors, granite dresser tops, fresh orchids, and double vanities in the bathrooms. The property's proximity to a wonderful swimmable beach makes it worth the price to stay here. The Mauna Lani does not have the Disneyland atmosphere as does the Hilton Waikola and the service here is at least a million times better than at the Marriott (Outrigger) which was HORRIBLE. The breakfast buffet

at the Bay Terrace restaurant is extensive and includes waffle and omelet bars. Room service food was excellent (I recommend the NY steak) and the service was as well. We traveled with two small children and when we arrived, two cribs were already set up in our room. The beach side cabana service was also excellent. We were set up with extra towels and lots of beach toys for our two year old. Service at the pool side restaurant was not as congenial but you can order from the same menu from your cabana on the beach and the service seemed better. All in all, if you are staying in this area, this is the place to stay.

Read More

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2003

Outstanding!

We spent 3 nights in an oceanfront room and thought the resort was magnificent without being pretentious. The room was lovely, bathroom nicely configured with 2 sinks and a separate toilet room. We didn't leave the resort (this was the lazy, splurge part of our trip). The dinner at the Canoe House was excellent, dinner on our lanai from room service very nice and the dinner in the Bay Terrace good. Saw green sea turtles up close at the beach--the

beach was perfect for someone like me who doesn't like waves. Cannot imagine a nicer place--staff and service were outstanding. Grounds great for strolling.

Read More

By j

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2002

Only one good place for food...

is the Canoe House. Everything else is boring, bland, and undeserving of the high standards set by the rest of the resort.

By Carl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2002

The Emperor's Palace

Went back in September, 2001, after 16 years. What can I say, except WOW! A peasant treated like an Emperor. Great service, weather, and beaches. Not to mention the property, which is just as beautiful as ever. My favorite place on earth. Going back in May 2003. Can't wait. The perfect resort to forget the foul realities of everyday life.

By Vinny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2002

Relax in paradise

If you want a quiet pretty place to relax, this is the place. Not busy but VERY pricey compared to other places. And although staff way nice for the prices they were tought to find at times compared to other lower priced places we have stayed on the islands. Get the breakfast package, we did not and food is very pricey and breakfast was fair. Also was asked to pay $100 more per night to upgrade to ocean view. Hotel was only 50% full and when thats

case at other places upgrade is a free nice suprise! Rooms are lage and well decorated

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2002

The Total Package

We just got back from our third visit and thankfully, the place hasn't changed. Nothing can compare with the total package offered here. The public spaces are breath-taking, the rooms beautiful, the staff extremely attentive, the restaurants excellent, and the beaches amazing (one offers amazing snorkling). The place is so intimate that you feel like you're the only one there. We'll be back year after year.

By Trent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2002

First-Class Bargain

Just got back from 5 days at Mauna Lani, and couldn't have been happier. The ocean-front room with large lanai was terrific (stayed on 5th floor and had clear view of the ocean and whales). Treated well from arrival to departure, and complimentary breakfasts were terrific, as was uncrowded pool area. Got a lot more for a lot less money than on Maui.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2002

Low Key Luxury

We stayed here in February and were quite happy. The initial reaction was a bit of disappointment. The open air lobby area is not luxurious and the rooms, while attractive, are not huge or opulent. But we learned to really appreciate the hotel during our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the beach was attractive, running around a point, with a variety of great views and lots of beach chairs. Friendly sea turtles in the shallow water off

the beach and excellent snorkeling just a short walk to another beach. But the best part was the beautiful grounds with the ancient hawaiian fish ponds. A very quiet clientele, excellent golf, and reasonable (for this class of hotel in Hawaii) rates, including an excellent full breakfast that allowed us to skip lunch. Would definitely return.

Read More

By Pamela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2001

A perfect vacation!!!

My boyfriend and I stayed here in February 2001 and had the most WONDERFUL time; Our room was comfortable and cozy and the service was impeccable...we had breakfast on our lanai every morning and the food (especially the granola) was wonderful. We also had seaside massages which is an experience not to be missed. We will definitely be back...

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2000

First Class

We had a great time hear At Mauna Lani Bay the staff was First Class, and the Follow up after we left, a Phone call from them, was our stay OK and many Letters about discounts etc in the comming year, One First Class Resort

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement