Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Hotels

Hilton Waikoloa Village

  • 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Dr. Map It
  • $$
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Family-friendly
  • Lots of restaurant and activity options

Cons

  • Gigantic, crowded
  • Lots of kids
  • Restaurants are pricey

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

Dolphins swim in the lagoon; pint-size guests zoom down the 175-foot waterslide; a bride poses on the grand staircase; a fire-bearing runner lights the torches along the seaside path at sunset—these are some of the typical scenes at this 62-acre megaresort. Shaded pathways lined with a multimillion-dollar Pacific Island art collection connect the three tall buildings, while Swiss-made trams and canal boats shuttle those who want to bypass the long hallways and meandering

paths. Though there's no ocean beach, there is a seaside trail to Anaehoomalu Bay, aka A-Bay, one of the island's larger beaches. An ocean-side saltwater lagoon is great for families. Modern rooms in neutral tones have private lanai and are large enough to accommodate the families that flock here. The stars of Dolphin Quest (800/248–3316 www.dolphinquest.org) are the resort's pride and joy; reserve in advance for an interactive learning session. Two friendly black-tip reef sharks can also be seen. Brides-to-be, take note: this is one-stop shopping, as the resort has a wedding planner, cakes, flowers, photography, and a "Just Married" boat ride.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

69-425 Waikoloa Beach Dr., Waikoloa, Hawaii, 96738, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-886–1234; 800-445–8667

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,241 rooms, 58 suites
  • No meals

Updated 01/06/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all hotels in Big Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Dixiemc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

The Hilton Waikoloa Village is actually a beautiful facility. We were very pleased with our stay here. The grounds are absolutely amazing. As you step past the front lobby you are instantly impressed with the views from every angle. We were with our two teenagers and were somewhat concerned about being all in one room, but the rooms are actually very spacious. The beds are only doubles and would have preferred queens but they were comfortable for

their size. As most reviews for this hotel state, the one negative is the hotels massive size. If you were just staying on property and never going anywhere, then it would be wonderful. We wanted to see the entire island though and had plans each day and dinner reservations each evening. We were in the Palace building which was very nice but we had to tack on at least 20 minutes from leaving our room to get to our car each time we left. There is a tram and a boat which are fun, but you can walk it much faster. The Lagoon building would be closer to the lobby but it was closed during our stay for renovations. I had requested the lagoon building originally (verbally and in writing,) and was disappointed that we were not informed of this until I called 2 days before to request it again. The restaurants that we ate at in the hotel were all good. Prices for a quick bite by the pool were steep. The hotel does charge you for every little thing which is another negative. No ocean beach, but the entire property overlooks the ocean with beautiful pools and plenty of lounges with ocean views. There is a beach at the lagoon where you can snorkel and swim. The bellmen will give you towels but the front door if you are leaving for a day at the beach off property which is nice. Bell staff was very accommodating. Overall, we were very pleased with the quality, beautiful grounds, rooms and service.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2012

Hilton Waikoloa Village Review

This is a beautiful resort. We were in the middle Palace Tower on the golf course side. Although our view wasn't of the ocean it was still a pretty view and we were so tired from exploring that we didn't really miss the ocean view. The first morning we headed down to the dolphin pools and watched the morning feeding from a few feet away. Not having a reservation for the dolphin swim we thought we were out of luck, but they had openings that morning

for our son. I am not sure how easy it would have been with a family but for one person it was quite easy to jump in at the last minute. For July I was surprised. The pools were awesome and the snorkeling lagoon was wonderful for a first timer. We got there early every morning and had the lagoon almost to ourselves. The monorail that traveled around each of the hotels was a fun novelty at first but quickly realized walking was almost faster and so mostly walked the long walk unless we had a lot to carry. Staff was very helpful. We did not eat at the hotel due to the high prices and the marketplace at the resort was also expensive. We mostly drove into town to eat. If you are a Costco member you can get gas and a hot dog lunch just down the highway from the resort.. I would definitely stay in this resort again. Like the other review, I would not want to stay at the Ocean tower as it is a long walk to the main entrance. They do have their own pool and coffee shop though which we took advantage of.

Read More

By items90

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2011

Hilton Waikoloa Village Review

We stayed at the Hilton for 7 days on vacation. The one thing that sticks out is the customer service. Everyone was helpful & kind: from the bellman, to the vallet, to housekeeping, to the concierge. The property is gorgeous! If you go to Hawaii, you want to feel like you're in paradise, & this resort accomplishes that. Tip: request either the lagoon tower or the palace tower. The ocean tower is very far away & people complained of 15 min walks to

the lobby and 10 min tram rides. People also complained of noisy birds & lack of restaurants & pool activity. We stayed in the palace tower, which was great. Lagoon tower is the closest to everything. As far as the food: Go out to the nearby towns & get local cuisine. The hotel food is average & WAY overpriced. There is plenty to do & see on Ali'i Dr in Kailua-Kona. We ate on Ali'i Dr once per day. Hawaiian Style Cafe is also popular in Waimea. We enjoyed it. We NEVER ate breakfast at the hotel. Also, we never shopped at the Queens Market; etc. Waste of money. Well worth the 20 min drive to town. There are beaches nearby: one is 10-15 mins down the rd towards Waimea. One is 5 miles down the road towards Kona. It's a gorgeous hidden gem across from the memorial cemetary exit (there are no marked signs). There is also a small beach in Kailua-Kona that is pretty cool. We recommend that you take a volcano helicopter tour. We used Safari helicopters (drove to Hilo). There are plenty of things to sightsee on your way to Hilo. Ask the concierge to point them out.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2008

Just not Hawaii !!

There are so many other "natural" places to stay. It's like a Disneyland. Really sorry we stayed here after seeing so many other wonderful hotels.

By rmtan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2007

Good during the off season

This is an excellent resort for families to visit... during the off season. We stayed from 4/17 thru 4/25 and it was at 50% capacity. While it is massive resort (really 3 resorts in one), I can imagine that when running 70% plus capacity, it could be tough to get around and access amenities. Great service and friendly people working there. KPC restaurant onsite was awesome when you dine there during sunset! Perfect for families with children as

there is so much for the kids to do. Dolphin Quest was a once in a lifetime experience for the kids.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2007

Do Not Outsource Service to Red Sail Sports!

This is a magnificent property--also, it has a gorgeous sandy beach A-Bay--but you have to take the on-demand hotel shuttle to it (they do not really tell the guests about this which prompts erroneous complaints that they only have a rocky beach.) Wild bird habitats are all over the resort--the only rooms that are noisy from the birds are in the lagoon tower, and the ocean tower is under construction. We loved the Palace Tower where we stayed. The

restaurants are ALL wonderful (Kirin has the best dim sum and hot and sour soup I've ever had--and I lived in the Orient for 8 years). Dolphin Quest was AMAZING--you need to book it a couple of months before--so don't miss out! The salt water ocean fed lagoon was wonderful and the quantity of fish and other marine life in it was astounding (we saw 8 sea turtles!). The Kona pool and Kohala pool are huge and lovely as well. Now, the bad points: they have outsourced the service at the lagoon and pools i.e,. towel service, to Red Sail Sports (the company that does their water sports and tours)--big mistake! The Red Sail Sports employees are SO RUDE and abrupt. Also, the towel service stops at 5 p.m.--so even though the sun was out til 7, we could not make full use of the facilities. The only reason I did not give it lower than a 2 for service is the wonderful service we received at the restaurants and the housekeeping staff (actual Hilton employees). Also, for a resort this size (over 2000 rooms) the room service was surprisingly always on time with hot and delicious food.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2006

HAPPY TIME HAD AT THE HILTON

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights during the first week of December. The hotel was empty - which was great. The best tower is the Lagoon Tower - it is near all of the action - however be warned that the property has some very noisy (read LOUD) birds that wake up in the morning screeching and do a repeat performance at sundown! The rooms are fine, clean and with very comfortable beds with down duvets. Housekeeping is unobtrusive, and the

staff was overall accomodating. Only issue - Hawaii just passed a law that prevents any smoking in public areas - which is lovely for a non-smoker like myself - but the hotel staff was not at their best when it came to upholding the new law. I am sure that they will improve with time. I would recommend this hotel highly for families (tons of activities for kids, and most are free, including the tram around the property and the boat around the river that flows through the property too), but my husband and I enjoyed ourselves greatly and we have no kids! Only warning - other than noisy birds - I heard that during the busy season the hotel can be very VERY crowded...so go in the low season like we did! By the way, we stayed at the Four Seasons Hualalai last year - and we actually had more fun at the Hilton! Four Seasons was too expensive, the grounds are dark and somber, and the hotel guests are snotty! Stick with the Hilton - better prices and better atmosphere!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2006

Good but could be much better.

This place is big but I new that going in. My biggest beef is why you would block the ocean view from the lagoon pool with a row of thick hedges. I go to Hawaii to enjoy the ocean view not a row of bushes! Pretty crowded scene and definately not low key. Good for families with kids old enough to explore the place. Food was ok but not a good value for the $$.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2006

Big and Beautiful, but keep your wallet handy

Overall a fabulous resort. We were very impressed with the layout, 6 pools, lagoona, the tram and boats are impressive, all in all gorgeous. But they nickle and dime you to death! When you pay $300/night you expect *some* things to be included. OK, $10 drinks, $60/person at Donatoni's (for average Italian food) I was expecting that. But $6 an hour to use a pool float? The last straw was when we got on a shuttle to go to the shops 1/2 mile up the street

and they charged us $1 per person. Come on. Is the ice machine coin operated? They do everything they can to keep you on the property (why do you need to go to a beach? We have a man-made lagoon.) But after 4 days we were going stir crazy and had to get out. Overall, I'd recommend it, but just don't stay too long. Oh, and keep plenty of cash on hand. You'll never know when you'll need it.

Read More

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2006

Very cool but outrageously expensive

Very neat place. If you have the opportunity to stay,do, but be prepared to pay. From $8 hot dogs to $15 a day valet parking, it seems they way over price where they don't need to. Many pools and restaurants. The dolphin experience is one I'll never forget. Sea turtles in the lagoon you can swim up and touch is not matched anywhere else. Rooms are only average but the grounds outweigh the average rooms. The only real drawback is the size. It is bigger

than the big Vegas hotels. It can be a test of patience waiting on boats and trams to take you from one part to another. Still I would recommend spending at least part of your vacation here.

Read More

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2004

Through the looking glass for a price

I spent 2 weeks on the big island and enjoyed it better that all the others. The Hilton is a monument to creativity and as some have said is both a work of art and a Hawaiian disneyland. There are tons of things to do and the best water park I have see. There are a lots to do that is free but there are fees for everything and food isn't cheap...$15,00 burgers gives you an idea. Kids will love it. I found not a lot of adult areas however.

The grounds are huge and without equal. Rooms avarage. We shifted to condo called the Shores across the street and found adult tranquility. We also found we could go over to the water parks at the Hilton, on days we choose to, for a flat $75 for up to 4 persons. Meanwhile we were saving $115 per night in room and were able to pour our own mai tais and cook or sample other fare.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2004

Breathtakingly Beautiful Resort

The perfect resort if you're travelling with kids. The little ones loved the tram and boat and the adults appreciate how gorgeous and unique the whole resort is. The pools and lagoon were beautiful and creatively designed and the view from the resort is just awesome. The room was large and clean. Our only complaint is that the restaurants are overpriced and Hilton tends to "nickel and dime you" with little charges.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2004

Big bugga resort without the attitude

The Hilton is a very expansive resort that offered amenities and activities that kept us entertained and relaxed throughout our stay. The rooms are large by Hilton standards and well maintained. The grounds are very well done and the art collection is impressive. We were very impressed by both the variety and quality of the food from the restaurants. We found the service to be outstanding. If you want a resort with an intimate setting, this is

not the place. However, if you want a resort that offers many different (golf, tennis, spa, swimming with dolpins, snorkeling, kayaking, etc.)activities, this is a good place worth considering.

Read More

By Fifi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2003

Disneyland on the Big Island

If we wanted to go to a Disneyland, we should not have come to the Big Island. The tram and the boat rides were awful. We felt so stuffy riding either one of them. Unfortunately if you don't want to walk a mile long (that is if your room is in the ocean tower), you have to take either the tram or the boat. Room service stops at 10 p.m. No restaurants are open past 10 p.m. I cannot describe how awful this hotel is. Way too big. Very noisy because there

are so many activities for children. Just like in the Disneyland. This is not a quite and peaceful resort. The room was spacious but the bathroom was a big disappointment. Small and very old. If the hotel wants their customers to pay for their own coffee, please remove the coffee maker from the room. Don't put it there and charges $4 for a small bag of lousy coffee. The food is lousy. Nothing is good about this hotel. We moved to the Mauna Lani hotel. That is a nice hotel with an excellent service.

Read More

By mark

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2003

almost heaven

We stayed at the HWV for 2 weeks- pools, waterslides, tram rides, boat rides, snorkel beach lagoon, buffet breakfast, golf, luau: after all that we we're ready for more. The rooms were ok, but we were upgraded after 3 days( they called us) which was impressive! We are Hilton Honors members so they also gave us free b-fast buffet each morning and the buffet and the service was great! The service overall was good, especially at the front desk! Food

and drinks were good, but expensive, but it's vacation and your at a resort, what do ya want? Overall a great place and look forward to returning.

Read More

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 7, 2003

Fun, but Spend your money elsewhere

My husband and I spent two nights here. When we first checked in, we were awed by the size. It seemed so spectacular, and we thought it was neat to take a tram or boat to our room. However, after being there for a while, we realized how first impressions are not always correct. First, don't take the trams, they are hot and overcrowded. Of course, after waiting for a boat or a tram for 15 minutes, and the 15 minutes it takes to get anywhere, you'll

end up walking. Second, the coffee in your room is available for $5. Five dollars and it is horrible! Just go downstairs to the coffee shop and buy a cappucino. Third, A "garden" room here means, two shrubs and a jogging path, and a view of part of the golf course. Golfers and joggers are up at the crack of dawn. Fourth, the pools shut down too early, especially the adult pool. The fun hot tubs are at the waterslide pool???? What's up with that??? Good things are that is great for kids. It should be renames the Hilton Kids Place. WHich is great if you are there with kids. But, if you do not have kids, save yourself the time spent complaining by going somewhere else. I will take my kids here, because they would love it. Second, the staff was friendly. Not unbelievably, but pretty nice. Third, Donatoni's is awesome. You can have fun here, but I reccommend it only for families.

Read More

By cheryl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2003

hyped up Hilton

Just came back from a weeklong vacation on the Big Island. After all the praise you hear about the Waikoloa Village, we checked it out for ourselves. First of all, the lobby is very impressive. The staff very friendly and professional. The monorail and the boat were a bit too much for me, but my daughter enjoyed it. The room was okay, nothing spectacular. And there was that stuffed dolphin on the bed just begging to be taken home(price tag $14.95).

I said no. I flipped through the guest information book, and noted that they offered complimentary shuttle to the Kings' Shops. So when we decided to go have dinner at Roy's, we lined up to take the shuttle only to be told that it was $1.00 a person, one-way! I thought that was highway robbery. The pools were fun for my daughter. But I think you could have done better at a water park if that was the attraction. The dolphins were really cute and how can you resist? We tried to get on the list, but no luck (plan way, way ahead!). The lagoon beach was a joke. And they have a nerve to advertise that you can snorkel in there. Just wait for those guys in kayaks, pontoons, and whatever else that they can think of, to hit your head and run you over. Mind you, it wasn't even crowded, but I surely was scared. I can't speak for the restaurants or the spa, but I did like the lobby, and the service. Oh, and the artwork. It was almost like a museum. All in all, it was a nice one-night stay. Any more than that, I would have said no, thank you.

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2003

World Class Resort

One of the BEST in the Big Island.

By Kerry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2003

Wear good walking shoes

This is a beautiful hotel, but a little ridiculous all the effort to get to your car, the pools or restaurants either by the little boats, or the trams which one was out of service for the last 2 days of our stay, either way you usually have a wait, unless you're fortunate enough to catch the one you want and it's going the direction you want. As for the previous comment about not getting a King size bed, they don't offer twin beds, either a King

size, King size and a sofa bed, or 2 double beds. Rooms were average, nothing really special, but clean they were. There were a couple of very windy days, but I'll take wind over rain, weather is always unpredictable. Loved watching the whales and dolphins from the hotel property, the grounds around the hotel near the ocean are very serene. Grab a hammock, and relax.

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2003

A fine getaway

Beautiful, well layed out resort. Spa,restaurants a bit pricey. Easy, fun trans. around resort. A place to relax and enjoy as well as being active if you wish.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2003

Walk or Wait for the Monorail

This Disneyland type resort gets mixed reviews. The artwork along the outdoor hall made the long walk from the room to the lobby more enjoyable than waiting ten minutes for the monorail to arrive. This place is very big. There is no real beach but ocean views are everywhere. The restaurants were good but not outstanding and very expensive. The pool was fun but not as elaborate as the Grand Wailea in Maui. The atmosphere is very nice but the rooms

were average. This is a nice place but does not give the extra effort you would expect from a resort of this type.

Read More

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2002

Hey, if U want Motel 6, Dont stay here

Second time to the Hilton. We enjoyed the great service and hospitality offered to us by the staff. We knew what we were getting into and didnt mind paying extra for the Valet, etc. In response to other comments, how does $8.00 a day really matter when you are spending more than $200.00 for a room. If you are looking for the El Cheepo special vacation, dont come here. Stay at the more economical properties in the area and find out for yourself.

We spent the money and enjoyed every dollar of it. Thumbs Up: - Atmosphere, impecably manicured grounds, nice pools, Donotoni's restuarant, staff was very friendly. Thumbs Down: - Tram runs every 10 minutes. This is not as frequent as we would have liked (5 minutes would be more appropriate - we love to exercise, but sometimes its nice to have the option or being driven)

Read More

By Patty

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

I want to go back now!

My husband and I visited in Feb 2002 and had a simply marvelous time. Our room in the Ocean Tower was gorgeous, maybe it had been recently refurbished based on some of the reviews. We could see the whales from our bed! Food was good but expensive, Donatoni's was exceptional. The moderate priced restaurants were average. The resort could use a lounge or a little night life but it is a minor complaint. It was beautiful, relaxing and I can't wait to

go back. We rented a car and toured the island, I would recommend this as the resort is fairly isolated. All in all it was fabulous!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2002

Hard to describe

i just came home from my honeymoon on Maui and the Big island. After a week at Four seasons on Maui this place was a BIG adjustment. It is HUGE but not unmanagable. You can walk to the ocean tower from the lobby but not in heels and not if you are in a hurry. The boats are cute but much slower than the tram. For the price we had a beautiful ocen view room, but the room itself was a little blah. The whole place is dead quiet by 10pm. Two restarants

are very good Donotonis and Provision company were very good. The rest of the food is only ok and just as expensive as Maui was. The property is pretty cool but it is LOADED with kids. This made it not romantic at all. There is one adult only pool but it does not have a hot tub, in fact there is no hot tub located on the Ocean tower side of the resort at all,this was a bummer on your honeymoon. I did notice that there is not much else around the resorts without going into Kona so having this gigantic place was cool. Also a draw back there is no beach!! If you have visions of a beautiful Hawaiian beach go somewhere else.If you have kids this is the place but I am not sure that this is the place for a honeymoon, i think that the Four seasons is a better choice. Also the make you pay for the safe in your room and valet parking is $8 a day. All in all we had a good time but I am not sure that I would go back. One last thimg we were promised a room for 1 hour in the afternoon to shower and change for our late flight, when the time came to shower they had no room available for us!! They then told us that we could PAY and go to the spa! After a little complaining we were comped fpr the spa shower but there were pleanty of others in the spa that day who were forced to pay so be ready for this. The dolphins were cute! There is a lees expensive food court in the Kings plaza down the road if you want a burger or sandwich. Just be sure what you are getting into here.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2002

We want to go back already!

We visited for 6 nights in March and can't wait to go back again. We love to travel and have stayed at many resorts over the years, this ranks up at the top. Yes, it is very large, but the tram and boat rides are part of the adventure. There are three different large pool areas, each with several smaller pools on different levels connected by waterfalls and waterways, so you can go to a different location every day and never get bored or see the

same people over and over again. There is also a great lagoon area with a sandy beach. There are lounge chairs, hammocks, cabannas etc. everywhere you turn. The landscaping is outstanding and well maintained. No matter where your eyes go, there is something beautiful to take in. The whales were splashing around off the shore, we could see them from our room as well as from different parts of the resort, what a treat. At night, the tiki tourches are lit all around the resort's pathways creating a wonderful atmosphere for an evening stroll. We enjoyed roaming around and could have stayed even longer. The room itself was rather plain but slightly oversized, the staff was great, very attentive and friendly. The Spa was also very nice, I had a great body wrap and massage combo! With so much to do and so much to see, we look forward to returning.

Read More

By Raquel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2002

Disneyland in Hawaii

Wow, what a huge disappointment this resort was for both my husband and I. We stayed in the Ocean Tower (sounds great, but think again) which was the furthest from the lobby, a 10 minute walk! We were on our honeymoon and unless you have children, do yourself a favor and don't even consider this resort! The room was very dirty and worn. Our bathtub had hair and a build-up of scum! The king size bed would have been okay if it wasn't for the layer

of dust on the built-in headboard! The dolphin lagoon looked rather cruel in that it was very small for these mammals to live in. We will never go back to this resort, with or without children! The only good thing was the lomi-lomi massage I received for $200.00!

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2002

Like Disney World

We enjoyed our stay at this resort...but it felt a bit overprocessed, like a Disney World. They even have a monorail and boats on a canal to transport you through the huge complex! The grounds and architecture are amazing, however! It didn't seem overcrowded while we were there but it did seem to play to the convention market. Food was quite good but expensive and all the restaurants push you through quickly so they can reseat the table. Nice thing

about the complex is that if you have a rainy day, you can get around, see the art display and not get cabin fever. PS: I had one of the best massages ever at the spa with Holly.

Read More

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2001

Watch out for your money!

At first we were awestruck by the grandiosity of this huge hotel. Then reality...two hours after arriving our bags were not yet delivered to our room (they have an airport like system - no bus boys) so we couldn't go in the water. There was a stuffed dolphin on our bed which our child fell in love with and HAD to have at whatever cost (and it did cost). That money was practically blackmailed out of us by Hilton (hand over the dolphin money or you'll

ruin your day). Bathroom contained free samples from the spa, and the entertainment center had larger samples (read the fine print, they aren't free if they aren't the tiny ones in the bathroom - they're after your wallet again). Then the dolphin lottery - if your child wins the swim with the dolphins lottery YOU, lucky parents, can shell out more loot so as to not disappoint your children forever. If it's a lottery, why must we pay for the prize?

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2001

Honeymoon Haven

Honeymooned here in 2000. Loved it! Large beautiful grounds, great lagoon and pools. Though room was not spectacular, but very very comfortable. Food was excellent at every different restaurant we went to. Service was wonderful. We missed too much on the whole island by just staying at the resort. Would do it all over again, with or without kids!

By Linda

  • Expired

May 3, 2001

Everything you could want in a resort!

Beautiful 5 star resort. Check in was a breeze, even though my wallet had been stolen in Honolulu. Front desk staff were excellent, gave us a free upgrade and breakfast. The Village is so relaxing, not at all stuffy. All service staff were fantastic - friendly and professional. Beach is rocky, but who needs a beach with big waves when you have a beautiful lagoon with turtles to swim with! Landscaping was outstanding, and the pools, waterfalls,

hot tubs, and birds were spectacular. We enjoyed the mile long art walk, the boats and the monorail. Can't wait to go back!

Read More

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2001

Disneyland (new 600 million dollar resort with monorail and boats on underwater tracks)

Absolutely beautiful grounds and a boat load of activities but seems more for family vacations. Kids are everywhere so it might not be the best place for a romantic trip.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement