Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Hotels

Chalet Kilauea Collection

  • 19-4178 Wright Rd. Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Free Wi-Fi at all facilities
  • Free afternoon tea at main office
  • Friendly front desk
  • Large variety of lodging types to choose from
  • Hot tub
  • Fireplace

Cons

  • Office closes at 5 pm—late arrivals allowed with formal check-in the following morning

Updated 02/25/2014

Fodor's Review

Comprising three inns and lodges in and around Volcano Village, the collection has rooms and suites ranging from a historic lodge with no-frills, basic bedrooms to a deluxe inn with themed rooms and its own six-person hot tub. The showpiece property, the Chalet Kilauea (double-occupancy rooms start at $130) features bamboo or tile floors, mounted flat-screen TVs, imported linens, and custom-made wooden bed frames. The Lokahi Lodge ($110) provides cozy rooms

with plenty of exposed beams and wood, comfy beds, and amenity centers with fridge, as well as an on-site, three-person hot tub. The most reasonably priced lodge is the Volcano Hale ($55), which has a communal kitchen and fireplace. Each room at Volcano Hale has cable TV; bathrooms are shared.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

19-4178 Wright Rd., Volcano, Hawaii, 96785, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-967–7786; 800-937–7786

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 14 rooms, 3 suites, 5 houses
  • No meals

Updated 02/25/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2005

Paid $85.80 and never even got to see it!

I reserved a place here for 4 for one night through HotelLocators.com. It was confirmed, I paid and was ready to go. Chalet Kilauea left a message on my answering machine stating that there was a 2 night minimum. I could not stay 2 nights, so I cancelled. I was then charged $85.80 for a cancellation fee. I am trying to get this back from the State of Hawaii Office of Consumer Protection. Check with the hotel, not a website of any minimum stay requirement.

Learn from my mistake!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2004

Filth at Inflated Prices!!!

Unfortunately, we made reservations for September 2004 for one night (Thank goodness it was only one!!!)at the "supposed" boutique resort hotel, the Inn at Volcano. This property is touted as the "flagship" of the Chalet Kilauea collection of properties in Volcano Village. (I would hate to see what the rooms are like at their lower end properties.) We were assigned the Owner's Suite, which as a previous poster mentioned, was entered through your

"bathroom". The furniture was early attic and the rug was filthy from what appeared to be numerous stains from cat urine and defication. There are no screens on the windows, so getting ventilation was a problem----and the room (I certainly wouldn't classify it as any "suite" I have ever seen) had an awful odor. The room had a patio door which led to a ground level porch;however, the lock on the screen door did not work and there were rips and tears marks in the screen. (Gave us no feeling of safety.) As mentioned by an earlier poster, the "premises" cat was left out all night---it constantly meowed at our doorway trying to get in----I guess our suite was his "litter box of choice". The common living room area was very pretty----we wish we could have slept there for the night!!! The "candlelight breakfast" was nothing special---they simply put a lite candle on your table and accompanied it with ordinary food. I wrote a letter of complaint to the manager about the room's filthy conditions and the poor maintenance, and was not ever given the "courtesy of a reply". Take you money, and for 1/2 the price, you will get a beautiful, spacious and well-maintained room at the Volcano Inn ( Only 4 blocks away from the Inn at Volcano.) I believe we would have had a cleaner room in a place were you "rent by the hour".

Read More

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

Inn at Volcano - overrated

In March 2002, we were booked for two nights in the Owner's Suite at the Inn at Volcano. We were very disappointed with the room - the entrance door opens into the bathroom, the room decor was just OK (an mix of Art Deco and kitsch), there was no hanging closet, and the room is right off the kitchen, so we got kitchen noise from the staff. The three-course gourmet breakfast is average home cooking - nothing to write home about. For $179 per night,

we expected much better accommodations and food. To their credit, the manager at the Inn did move us to another property (the Castle) for our second night when my husband had a severe allergy attack related to something at the Inn - maybe the cat, maybe the wall-to-wall pile carpet. However, the management was not responsive to our complaint at first. When we told the front-desk person about the problem and asked to be moved, she preferred to tell us about HER probems that day with full rooms and a broken water pump, and we left for our day's activities thinking that we would have to make phone calls and find other accommodations. Not the most professional way to handle a guest complaint. It was not until late that afternoon, after we'd gone ahead and made reservations at a place in Hilo, that the manager told us that we could move that evening to another Collection property.

Read More

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2002

What a sad Disappointment...

Several years ago, we used to stay here quite a bit. We were sadly disappointed to find that the overall management and experience this time was horrible! Our first accommodation was dirty, smelled of mildew and the heater didn't work ("fthe part hasn't come in yet from the mainland") . Volcano can be quite cold, especially at night as it was when we were there, so they moved us to another house, which was absolutely filthy--without going into details,

I will just say that the bathroom was a disaster...when we complained, they did not want to refund our money (they make you pay for your entire stay on check-in and we had reserved 3 nights). We are still in dispute with them...we tried to be reasonable and explain that they really need to check into their maintenance and housekeeping staff...but this seemed to fall on deaf ears. It seems that now that Brian and Lisha (the owners) are no longer hands-on and staff with an apathetic attitude are managing the operation, things have really slid downhill. Also, no one seemed to have "authorization" to do anything about the problems...We used to think of this place as our secret hideaway on the Big Island...never again. If staying in Volcano, try the Kilauea Lodge--good food and accommodations.

Read More

By Kathi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2000

Treehouse Suite not all it's cracked up to be

We spent 5 nights at the Chalet Kileaua Treehouse Suite which was marketed as a five star botique room with wrap around windows, wet bar and marble bathroom. The grounds were supposed to be beautiful and lush. Well, as for the grounds, they were completely dug up for the installation of a "stream and waterfall". I'm sure that will be great for someone who visits in 2 months. But it was ugly and the workmen were there all day long for our entire

stay. I really didn't feel like using the outdoor hot tub with a bunch of guys digging holes and laying pipe. The room was a BIG dissappointment. It really wasn't very clean, and there was mildew on the walls. The bathroom was very large and nice, but smelled of mildew. The "wet bar" is just a sink, a microwave and a few plates in a small room with a glass topped table. Because the bedroom is up a VERY narrow spiral staircase, the only option is to put your luggage in the room with the sink. We tripped over our luggage for 5 days!! The gourmet breakfasts were hit or miss. Being a vegetarian, whenever they served meat, I got burned scrambled eggs instead. All in all, I would try somewhere else.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement