Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Restaurants

Kilauea Lodge

  • 19-3948 Old Volcano Hwy. Map It
  • European

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef and owner Albert Jeyte combines contemporary trends with traditional cooking styles from France and his native Hamburg, Germany. The menu changes daily and features such entrées as venison, duck à l'orange with an apricot-mustard glaze, and lamb provençal garnished with papaya-apple-mint sauce. The coconut-crusted Brie appetizer is melty and delicious, served with papaya salsa and brandied apples. Savory soups and breads are made from scratch. Built in 1937 as

a YMCA camp, the restaurant still retains the original Fireplace of Friendship, embedded with coins and plaques from around the world. The roaring fire, koa-wood tables, and intimate lighting are in keeping with this cozy lodge in the heart of Volcano Village.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

19-3948 Old Volcano Hwy., Volcano Village, Hawaii, 96785, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-967–7366

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 01/06/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Barb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2005

Local color and good food

We dined here about 10 years ago, and really liked the feel of the lodge, which had an "up North" Wisconsin feel. Very good meal and service, nice authentic fine dining experience.

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2005

Fine food, value, and service

We enjoyed a very pleasant meal. Service was very friendly and unpretentious, and the inclusion of both soup (three choices-- more than I expected) and salad with our entrees offered good value. Giving ourselves over to our volcano setting, we enjoyed a bottle of "Volcano Winery" white wine with our meal. The menu offered variety and some fun-- our two teenagers both enjoyed the ostrich. The dining room is nicely appointed, with a pleasing rustic

quality. Our breakfast the following morning was enjoyable as well. Overall, Kilauea Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way.

Read More

By clare

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2004

you cant go wrong here

everything fabulous from soup to nuts!

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2004

Bold choices

Thsi is a place for gourmands. It is even more special if you like to dine adventurously! For example, antelope, venison, rabbit, and ostrich are regularly offered on the menu. The Hunter's soup which was made with rabbit stock is absolutely delicious - flavorful without been salty. I could not help but order the ostrich with a Souther African fruit liquor-based sauce because it was so unsual. The server did warn me that it was going to be a

sweet sauce which not everyone enjoys with their red meat. She was right. :( Otherwise, the restaurant's atmosphere is great. Try to reserve a table close to the large fireplace.

Read More

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2001

Great end to a busy day

Had a wonderful dinner while sitting by the fireplace. It felt like Vermont. The food was great-try the beef tornados! Lovely accommodations as well.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2001

And Now For Something Completely Different

After walking over lava flows all day or maybe swimming at the black sand beach, how about sitting in front of a roaring fireplace and enjoying a good German beer. The atmosphere is a lodge in Bavaria, the food includes, among numerous items, wild game and rabbit. A very enjoyable experience that should not be missed.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement