Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Coastal Isles and the Okefenokee Restaurants

Mudcat Charlie's

  • 250 Ricefield Way Map It
  • $$
  • Seafood

Updated 10/24/2012

Fodor's Review

This tabby-and-wood restaurant on the Altamaha River sits right in the middle of the Two Way Fish Camp and is a favorite haunt of locals from nearby Darien. The restaurant overlooks the boats moored in the marina, and the seafood is local. Crab stew, fried oysters, and shrimp are the specialties, and the desserts are made in-house. It's just over 1 mi south of Darien on U.S. 17, just after the fourth bridge. Look for the Two Way Fish Camp sign.

Restaurant Information

Address:

250 Ricefield Way, Brunswick, Georgia, 31525, USA

Map It

Phone:

912-261–0055

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 10/24/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2008

Not a bad place to eat after you're done fishing

As stated earlier, this Marina/Restaurant is on Hwy 17, a chip shot south of the Glynn/McIntosh county line. You can get to Sapelo Island if you drop in there. We normally hit Mudcats at lunch time and I get my usual, fried grouper basket which is not bad. Have tried other dishes off of the menu, but that's what I order if and when we get there.

By Roger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2006

Overcooked and casual

Mudcat's is not bad, but is not one of the best restaraunts in the area. (There's a far better one just up the road in Eulonia). Atmosphere is good, casual, lots of families and locals, but food preparation is less than stellar. Most seafood is overcooked and seasoning, presentation, etc is nothing special. COnsidering the quality, prices are a little high. Usually busy, especially on weekends. Also, Mudcats is really nowhere near Sapelo.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2006

Super atmosphere!

This is a fun place but very busy! Lots of atmosphere and a great location. It took quite a while for us to get our food and mine (shimp and scallops gilled) was a little overcooked and not hot enough; however, the slaw is great and so were the fries. Will try the grouper next time. I hope to visit them again.

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2006

Sapelo Island!!! It ain't near there!

This article is obviously written by someone who isn't local. I can't think of why anyone would list the address as Sapelo Island. Mudcat Charlie's is a nice place to eat, but if you are going to Sapelo, you would have to take the ferry off of Sapelo and travel about 30 minutes south, through Darien to the Glynn County / McIntosh County line at the Altamaha river to enjoy the dining experience.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2005

Where the Altamaha river meets the Atlantic !

Been eating here for many years. Located in the Two-Way Fish camp. Over-sized portions with very reasonable prices. Spotlessly clean with a killer view & a rear deck to stretch your legs after dinner. Drive uo boating for dinner too ! The grouper is the very best. In fact the entire menu is mouth-watering. Rick & Terri are great hosts. Ask to see the color photo of their daughter sitting on the back of a just caught (& hog-tied)giant gator.

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2003

Grouper Groupie

Absolutely the best fish I've ever tasted. You must have the grouper basket - nothing finer!

By Bobby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2002

Cat's out of the bag, seafood is great and the service does not sag

The customer is in for mouth watering seafood treat making this a great place to eat. With super service in getting the food to you, in addition to enjoying a river view as well.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement