Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

The Coastal Isles and the Okefenokee Restaurants

Skipper's Fish Camp

  • 85 Screven St. Map It
  • Darien
  • Seafood

Updated 10/13/2014

Fodor's Review

This upscale take on the fish camp theme lies at the foot of a public dock on the Darien River, where working shrimp boats moor. It has a beautiful courtyard pond and an open-air oyster bar. Popular menu items include Georgia white shrimp, ribs, and fried flounder. There's usually a wait on weekends, so get there early. At the southern end of Darien, turn right at Broad just before the river bridge, then take the first left down to the waterfront.

Restaurant Information

Address:

85 Screven St., Darien, Georgia, 31305, United States

Map It

Phone:

912-437–3474

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 10/13/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By irenekb

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

Feb 10, 2014

Down By The River

Skipper's Fish Camp is much more than a "fish camp"....try oyster bar, try outside dining, try the freshest and best shrimp you've ever tasted, try made on-site bar-b-que, try a place that I return to again and again. Skipper's is the place I talk all guests when visiting south Georgia. (when you live near the beach you have lots of guests, friends and family.) I love the casual décor and ambiance. The historic downtown of Darien, GA, provides

a perfect setting. Skipper's deck provides the perfect place to view unbelievable sunsets. And, Skipper's keeps the beer cold and the side items interesting.

Read More
  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2014

Colorful Ambiance

On my way from Florida up to Atlanta for business, I came across this amazing little seafood grill in quaint Darien, Ga. I know close to nothing about the town except that it is a very historical place known as the "Hidden Gem of the Golden Isles." I came across Skippers Fish Camp when I got into town and decided to give it a try. It was an unusually warm February day so I decided to dine outside. The restaurant is right on the river so I had a gorgeous

view! To add to my incredible atmosphere, I received excellent service, food and friendly banter. I am so excited I gave this place a try! I have already spread the word to family and friends in hopes of passing on this magnificent experience. I highly recommend Skippers Fish Camp to all!!

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jun 8, 2008

TravellingCritic

Skippers Fish Camp is located in Darien, Ga., just off of Ocean Highway (US 17), about 50 miles from the Florida border. An I-95 exit is located just a couple of miles up Hwy 251. To get to the fish camp, one must travel through an “historic” district where the majority of businesses have long been closed. It is guarded by a local police department that seems to survive by running a speed trap. One gets the distinct feeling that thugs have

co-opted the local justice system and have given visitors such a distaste for the town that they have vowed never to return. Thus, investment in local commerce is virtually nonexistent. The restaurant itself is newly built in about 2002 using some of the materials that were once part of the fish camp originally located on the site. Clearly, more investment has been made in the décor than in the menu. In a nutshell, the food could just as likely been served at a shopping center restaurant as at a stand-alone dining establishment. Most of the entrees seem to have started their long journey to your plate in a Sara Lee warehouse. The fried shrimp were tasteless, almost like cardboard. The “butter” for the baked potato was the Country Crock stuff designed more for long shelf life without refrigeration than for taste. The sour cream was delivered in sealed disposable paper envelopes. The cheese grits were made long ago enough to have formed a skin on the top. The tartar sauce was served in a disposable plastic cup. You get the idea. You felt like you were in a roadside fast food restaurant with upscale décor. At twenty bucks a pop for the typical entrée, I was expecting better. The highlight of my meal was the blackened scallops (10 large ones), which did taste fresh. The service was friendly. The scenery was rustic. Overall, I’d rate the food 3-stars (average), and the value 2-stars (only fair).

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 11, 2007

Home Away From Home

I recently bought a condo next door to Skipper's. Since I don't cook, Skipper's has become my home away from home. Great prices, excellent food,and I feel like family, except I don't have to do the dishes.

By rshortr

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 7, 2007

Terrible food.

Looking forward to a good seafood meal, we started with the famous appetizer. It was terrible. Looked to be a day old. We stopped, paid for the starter and left. Shouldn't have paid for it but did. My wife and I won't eat there again.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 7, 2007

Coastal Hot Spot!

We just moved to Darien in September and we love Skipper's. Great place to have a wonderful dinner, meet friends and have a cocktail in the Oyster Bar or let the kids be kids on the deck...all on the waterfront with a feel of being on vacation any day of the week. Check out this Coastal Hot Spot!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.