Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Savannah Restaurants

The Lady & Sons

Updated 11/12/2012

Fodor's Review

Put some South in your mouth! Expect to take your place in line simply to get reservations for either lunch or dinner because, y'all, this is the place that Paula Deen, high priestess of southern cooking, made famous. Alas, the quality can sometimes suffer because of the volume these days (locals will tell you that in the early days, when Paula was doing her own cooking, it was decidedly better). Nevertheless, everyone patiently waits to attack the buffet, which is stocked

for both lunch and dinner with crispy fried chicken, mashed potatoes, collard greens, lima beans, and other Southern favorites. Peach cobbler and banana pudding round off the offerings. Although most fans jump on the buffet when their name is called, you can order off the menu, too. The fried green tomatoes are a great starter, and long-time fans vouch that the crab-cake burger at lunch or chicken potpie or barbecue grouper at dinner are sometimes better than the buffet fixings.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

102 W. Congress St., Savannah, Georgia, 31401, USA

Map It

Phone:

912-233–2600

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No dinner Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 11/12/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Savannah

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2010

The Lady & Sons Review

For any trip to Savannah, The Lady and Sons definitely must be on your list. You aren't just going to lunch or dinner, but you are participating in a collective obsession with Paula Deen and anything she touches. If you decide to go, make sure you read their website for instructions on how to get a seating time. Don't just walk up and think you'll get into the restaurant at that moment. Like I said, prepare for the event that is Paula. My husband

and I both got the lunch buffet. I adore anyone who serves me black-eyed peas and creamed corn. There truly isn't anything better. Paula's fried chicken was moist and not as greasy as others I've tried. The macaroni and cheese had to contain every cheese available at the Piggly Wiggly, and I doubt any butter was left on the shelves. The sweet tea was the perfect level of sweetness. For dessert, I had the chocolate gooey butter cake. I am ruined for desserts as we know them. Our server Brandon, from Lancaster, PA, had been trained to say "ya'll." He said it at least five thousand times, but he didn't say it in a way that hurt my ears. He had been trained well. He was energetic and excited to be there. Good job in hiring Brandon! Overall, I think that the visit to The Lady and Sons was everything I expected. I want to visit again to try some of the other items on the menu.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2010

The Lady & Sons Review

We waited over 30 minutes in the 90 degree Savannah heat for our 5pm "reservation" which had gotten earlier in the day. Food was on par with Golden Corral or Cracker Barrel but 3 times the price, and 20 times the aggravation to get it. Not worth it, would never go back, would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2009

The Lady & Sons Review

Not awful, not great. Try the bread pudding.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2009

Mass Produced

Save yourself the money. This is a mass produced, fast food quality restaurant at higher end prices. Very disappointed. I would never go back. I had the "surf and turf" special - shrimp was terrible, carrots were not even good enough to call ordinary, beef was good. Overall, a waste of time and money.

By cd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2009

Love those hocakes!

I gave her a 5 on the atmosphere because I have never waited across a busy street before to be called to dinner by a cowboy triangle! Just really differant! And the hocakes are great.

By 53emp

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2009

I can stop looking for the best steak

I have my menu choices picked out before I sat down. Then the waiter offered up the specials. I jumped at their version of surf & turf, a 6 oz fillet and shrimp. A lettuce wedge with blue cheese dressing started things out. A really hearty flavor. Really Tasty. The shrimp were a bit ordinary, but it had a lot of competition from the fillet. I cut most of the fillet up with my fork. It just disappeared in my mouth, with an unbelievable savory

flavor. Undoubtedly the best steak I will ever find. The steamed vegetable medley was fresh and cooked just beyond crisp. Perfect. There was rice as well. Again I don't know if anything they did with the rice would have competed with the steak. I had an apple cobbler for dessert, that was a treat. I was amazed at all the diners jumping on the buffet. Although I've had their fried chicken before at Bubba's and it's pretty darn good.

Read More

By Manxer

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2008

Explore more

I've lived in Savannah for about 3 years now and every time I pass Lady and Sons I feel terrible for the people waiting outside for a buffet style food. It's hot and usually has people who shouldn't be waiting in 90+ weather waiting for hours just to be seated. There are so many more restaurants you can easily sit down and enjoy in this town and the food is going to be more dynamic and truly southern the further you get away from River street (even

though there are a few gems on River st). Just remember, just because it's on TV doesn't make it amazing. Try talking to a local, they'll know where you'll have a good time.

Read More

By shevy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2008

Perfect

I took my mother and teenage son on a road trip from Texas and we ate there. We signed up for a time, then went sight seeing and got back just in time for our reservation. The food was so incredible. My son was smiling so much. I told him that I wished he smiled like that for my cooking. He said, "I wish you cooked like this!" I couldn't be angry - he was right.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2008

Just Hit the Spot!

While vacationing with my family including my daughter and two grandchildren in Hilton Head, we decided to take the children to The Lady and the Sons Restaurant in Savannah. The children love hearing Paula talk about "Lady Bird" and wanted to see if we could find any of the folks made famous by Paula's food on location at the restaurant. Lo and behold, Jamie and Bobby were both there and you could not find two more down to earth, natural, warm,

loving sons anywhere. They tolerated our questions about Lady Bird and the pictures with us and the children. After we were done eating Jamie inquired about our granddaughters's swimmers ear and asked if we were able to get medicine. What a fine job Paula has done with her sons and no wonder she is so proud of them, she should be! Now for the food. I understand they serve over 2,000 meals a day and given that, I could not believe how good the food was. Our grandson had never had a hocake and after tasting those gems smothered in syrup, we had to buy some of the mix so they could be made at home. The fried chicken was hot and wonderful, the creamed corn was unlike any I have ever had, the mashed potatoes and gravy were extremely tasty unlike what you typically get on a buffet and the salad bar was excellent. The grandkids thought the mac n cheese was to die for and we thought it was good also. The staff was as friendly as anyone you would ever want to meet. The price for a buffet was really reasonable in light of the fact you also get a dessert. And yes, there is a line for reservations for food but with so many visitors, it seemed to move really quickly. I would imagine in the heat of July and August, tempers could flare so you have to just make up your mind to be patient, visit a while land browse. It is not something you want to do if you were on a tight schedule. We really admire Paula and her Sons for making a bad family situation into the business they have today. They didn't get there by being stupid and it took a lot of work and I admire the stride and efforts that have made them what they are today. No one gave them anything and they have worked for what they have and good for them. So overall, our experience was very positive. We had great food, entertainment with Paula's sons who did not mind signing autographs and picture taking, some sightseeing and I forgot to mention a parking ticket which we took in stride as just part of another day. Paula has definitely put Savannah on the Map with her restaurant, store, visitors and tourists spending money. It was a lot of fun and the kids thought it was great! They just wished they could have visited with "Lady Bird" and of course, Paula.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2008

A Southern Treat!

Arrive at the restaurant at 9;30 to make your reservation. The line might look long but it goes quickly. We were in line less than 5 mintues. Get your meal time and then head off to enjoy the Savannah historic district or City Market which is in walking distance. We were told to come back at 11:45. We had a 12:00 reservation. BE SURE TO CHECK IN WHEN YOU COME BACK. They send you into the store or waiting area to wait. It gives you time to look

around the store or sit in the waiting area with a flat screen TV with the cooking channel on. We were sent to the third floor dining room. I understand they have a banquet room on one floor, dining room and store on one, kitchen on another and bar and dining room on the top floor. (They do have an elevator) As soon as we came off the elevator we were greeted and seated immediately. Beverages were served and the best cheese biscuits and ho cakes you have ever had. Warm, right out of the oven. I had the buffet which was limited in selection but more than enough food. I suggest you for go the salad bar. You won't have room. There were four kinds of chicken to choose from, mash potatos, mac and cheese, rice, lima beans, green beans, creamed corn, collard greens and on and on. Let me stop here and say you may have seen these same items on other buffets but I assure you the cook at Lady and Sons knows her seasonings and each and everything I had made me say, wow, this is so good including the lima beans!! With the buffet you also get a choice of three desserts. Be sure to save room. I had the bananna pudding, yummy! My friend ordered the chicken pot pie. Everyone around us was asking what it was when it was served. It had the fluffiest puff pastry on top, looked amazing and tasted the same. My friend said it was the best she had ever had. She choice the pecan pie for dessert. I snuck a taste and it was delicious. During our whole meal the servers were attentive, answered our questions and were willing to take pictures when asked. I was amazed to learn that they serve 2200 meals a day. We stopped back in the store on our way out and bought a few things. All the cookbooks in the store have been signed which was nice. Don't be scared off by the crowds you hear about or see. If you go at 9:30 and make your reservation and follow the directions it is very, very simple and well worth it. Do not just show up and expect to get in. It just will not happen. This is southern hospitality at it's best!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2008

Excellent

Made a special trip from Florida to Savannah on Thursday 5/8/08 just to eat at The Lady and Sons. The food was oh so good. It was better than expected - None of our party was disappointed. The staff was friendly and funny. We had a great time. Now if I could just get the recipe for those baked sweet potatoes.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2008

The Worst

If you want fake southern food prepared and served by people with fake southern accents (like the owners) this is the place. The food is bad the service is awful and the prices are high. Three out of three for a rating of zero. Eund don't walk away.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2007

It Was Great!!!!!

When we sat down (immediately at 11:30 for lunch), I felt like I was in my Granny's kitchen in NC. The fried chicken and grits tasted the same as Granny's, which brought back wonderful memories of 45 years ago. Anything I had on the buffet was good, except for the mac & cheese, skip that. There must be a hit and miss situation going on for other people to have such a horrible experience, and I hope that can change. I expected "down home" and that's

exactly what I got, plain surroundings, but great food, and our third floor view from the window was a plus too.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2007

Such a Sad Change

We travel to Savannah 2 -3 times a year and have gone to the Lady and Sons for years. It seems to have become a shop window for the owners Fame. To refuse to take reservations, they cause huge lines in the street most of the day. This family has become great at marketing, but the classy, yet 'homey' ambiance that defined the restaurant originally are long gone. The food is wonderful, but the locals will tell you, "Don't bother". It has become a huge

disappointment.

Read More

By neudawn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2007

nice evening in Savannah

We had heard about The Lady & Sons and thought to stop by. We had seen the line the day previously, but we were lucky. We were seated immediately by the window for a great view. The waitress was quick and friendly. A variety of dinners: steak, pot pie, chicken, and fish were ordered. I didn't hear any complaints from anyone. One of our party even bought a cook book. I would recommend The Lady and Sons to anyone...and save room for dessert.

By turley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2007

Easy for a single

Even though there is always a crowd, I was able to get a seat at the 3rd floor bar immediately on two separate occassions. First I tried the famous buffet, and the food was excellent. I'm not a big fried chicken fan, but I liked theirs. The sweet potatoes, the greens,the butter beans...it was all good. And the cornbread (ho') cakes were wickedly good. On my second visit I tried the blackened tilapia sandwich for lunch and, once again, I was impressed

with the quality of the food. Though the sandwich was a big mess, it was delicious. Sure, the atmosphere could be better, and the hiding host on the sidewalk is weird, but I thought it was very good. I just wish they'd find a better way to run that little shop inside there...standing in line and waiting for one poor lady to collect your selections is really sloooooow. But I loved the food! All I hoped for! And I been hoping to have some good Paula Deen food for a while! Big T says Check'er out!

Read More

By mindy21

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2007

Best meal your Grandma ever made

Look, those of you looking for roasted duck, or a filet are not at the right place. Go over to The Old Pink House. However, those of us that grew up on good ole southern cooking can appreciate the simple goodness of Paula's. It is the type of meal that you can remember your Grandma cooking on a Sunday afternoon. All your traditional favorites, cooked right.... buttered and greased. I have been twice to The Lady and Sons and both times I have

been impressed. The only negative I can say is that we sat in the back by the bar at a booth and the padding on the booth has seen many better days. Other than that the food was great. My Ecuadorian (not raised on southern food) husband came the second time with me to visit the restaurant. He absolutely loved the baked chicken and pot roast. I think the people leaving negative reviews either just had a bad day, or don't appreciate the simple goodness of southern food. It does not have to be fancy to be delicious. Paula... we'll be back many times. You and the boys keep up the good work, and know that you are LOVED. BTW- Unlce Bubba's ain't too shabby either. My husband loved the simple goodness of the frying batter.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2007

Southern Hospitality?

When you arrive at a restaurant and there are no customers waiting in line, is it good business to send the customer back outside to get a number? This is not Southern Hospitality. It set a tone for our meal that great food would have had a hard time overcoming. Needless to say, the food did not impress us either. We had a chicken pot pie that tasted more like a cream of butter and salt soup, with very little chicken, and the chicken that was there

had pieces of gristle in it. The atmosphere reminded us of TGIF, with an ivy theme to seem more homey. For a woman who just screams hospitality and warmth on TV, her restaurant made us feel like she only wanted our money. Save your time and your money and just go to a Golden Corral.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2007

A Fun Experience!

I received my weekend trip to Savannah to go to Lady and Sons from my husband for Christmas. A day or so before flying down, I read several of the reviews and was a wary about going and hoping I wouldn't be disappointed. My husband DID have to wait..........quite a while actually. But the dinner bell being rung, the waiting in line and the whole atmosphere was part of the whole experience. Although several people were disappointed in the food,

I thought the food was EXACTLY as advertised. It is Great Low Country Food! This is not a gourmet restaurant. But this food is terrific. Even on her TV show, Paula Deen NEVER sells her food as anything but good country cooking. Once seated for dinner, the staff was very welcoming and attentive. Overall, I would do it again, and again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2006

AWESOME!!!!

I have never had such good fried chicken in my life. I was a little disappointed in the atmosphere. I was really amazed at the elevator action. I was very excited by the peach cobbler. I think it would have been better warm and a la mode. Our server was great. I ask her about Paula Deen and she was on a fundraising trip. Good for her. I think this woman has made a great name for herself and would recommend the buffet. It was simply one of the best

dining experiences in a very long time. I just watched her Christmas Show on the food network last night and was very happy to see her giving back to the local charities. I wish her and her family all the best and a Happy New Year.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2006

Quality Has Declined; Price Has Increased

I have occassionally frequented the Lady & Sons since the 1990's back when the restaurant was located in a smaller building than it is presently. Over the past eight years or so, the quality of the buffet, especially the fried chicken, has dropped off dramatically. It used to be that *all* the food there was excellent, and offered at reasonable prices. Now, the buffet is $16.95, and the buffet is very limited in its selections. Give the owner her

due, Paula is a marketing genius in building up her reputation. However, as so often happens when locals go from hardworking providers of value - to celebrity, quality declines, and prices go up. I was there a few weeks back, and was very dissapointed in her fried chicken. As has happened on more than a few occassions, the chicken wasn't even heated up properly, leaving it to tasted like mediocre left-overs. I used to love Lady & Sons, however, now I feel like her recipes fair better when customers purchase her cookbooks and cook at home.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2006

The slop at Lady & Sons barely outdoes the hospitality

My wife and our friends traveled over 300 miles to visit historic Savannah and have a meal at Paula Dean's Restaurant, Lady & Son's. Historic Savannah was everything it should have been while this restaurant's cuisine is far from the personality that brought us there. To say we were extremely disappointed in the very average fried chicken served with canned vegetables presented in one of the most unattractive buffet settings may tell you what you

are in for. Lady & Son's should be ashamed of the way they treat their guests, lining them up on the sidewalk next to the dumpsters until their name is called is not called southern hospitality. Paula's adorable personality has made a name of an otherwise disastrous restaurant experience. Oh by the way you won't get to meet Paula just some 16 year old under paid under trained hostess and wait staff. My recommendation "SAVE YOUR MONEY" on this slop and wait until you can visit a real dining experience! We all could not have been more disappointed! Paula shame on you.

Read More

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2006

Lady and Sons is good but the South is full of better cooks!

I am from Missouri and make the journey to Savannah once a year for a week of good eating and Southern hospitality. The first trip down 5 years ago was when Paula's restaurant was still small and homey. She was there signing cookbooks and running the place. Her celebrity has taken off and so has the restaurant. She is just a neat person. Wish I could say the same about the new restaurant. With huge crowds coming, they had to find a new location

but having to get in a waiting line or list 3 hours before the meal is too much in the summer heat. They should do reservations or call ahead seating to help their patrons. The food is basic Southern fare that while ususally good can be found at restaurants all over Savannah, Hilton Head and Tybee Island. I am not stopping by the Lady and Son's on my next trip down. I will be lining up for Mrs Wilkes to enjoy wonderful food and friendly dining experience. PS don't bother with the new seafood restaurant Paula started with her brother- our worst meal of any trip to the South! Always ask the local residents where they eat! They will know the best out of the way places.

Read More

By lynn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2006

taste great,very filling

had lunch there today,it was great! what were some of these people thinking,that paula,would come out from frying chicken and put it hot on their plates/ i was so full the 4 hour trip back to greenville,all i thought about was a good long nap. keep it up paula,and sons. love u guys. and this comes from a women who was raised by a ga. mom

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2006

FABULOUS! Everything I expected and MORE!

I am NOT a Southerner by birth, unless you consider Miami, FL southern...but I had the pleasure of satisfying my curiousity for Paula Deen's cooking. My daughter and I watch her and wonder just how good it tastes...well for my 40th birthday my husband surprised me with a weekend trip from our home in Jacksonville FL to Savannah with the #1 on my wish list, to eat at Paula's. The line is long for lunch and unbelievable for dinner. We had the lunch

buffet and it was the BEST buffet I have ever had. The fried chicken was moist and crispy, the mac and cheese melts in your mouth and the cheese biscuits and Ho Cakes (not kidding) are amazing. If you love comfort food, go to The Lady and Sons

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2006

Don't waste your time

My wife and I had the buffet for dinner. We could not believe that it was soo bad. The chicken was OK, but all that was served were backs and legs. The service was terrible. We were overcharged for our iced tea ($3.99) each, but just wanted to get out. I have never eaten such bad food. We were really looking forward to sampling Paula's great cooking, but it seems she is not involved anymore.

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2006

AWFUL!!!

Unfortunetely I don't have anything nice to say about this restaurant other than it's located in Savannah. The service was terrible, the food was overcooked, the wait time was ridiculous, the ambiance boring, and the price was outrageous. Those Deen brothers may be cute but not cute enough to bring me back!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2006

Worth the wait--We were not disappointed.

My husband and I ate at The Lady and Sons while in Savannah on April 25, 2006. I had almost been afraid because of all the negative comments on this site. Many of these comments sound like sour grapes from some of the other caterers I heard talking in Savannah. Face it, Paula Deen is famous. People like her and her Food Network Show. She was not at the restaurant the day we were there, nor were her sons. The food was hot, fresh, and good. For

crying out loud people, it is a Southern Buffet. There are many other such eating places around that may be as good. They just don't have a famous owner. Don't expect gold rimmed plates, etc. The cheese biscuits were excellent as were the hoecakes. Hint-- if you don't like butter, don't eat them. The fried and baked chicken were both delicious. If you do not like buffet food, order from the menu. We got off the trolley at City Market and put our names in for the lunch seating. We had three hours to kill, so we continued our tour of beautiful Savannah and were seated in about 30 minutes after out return. Coreena was our server and was timely, friendly, and sweet as could be. Also, the buffet was set up away from the seating area. Don't know what other floors were like, but we were on the first floor. No one interfered with "our space". If you don't want to wait in line, put your name in and find something else to do. If you don't like delicious, hot buffet food, order from the menu. If you want reservations, go to Uncle Bubba's Oyster House. We did twice and enjoyed it very much---the seafood gumbo was especially delicious.

Read More

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2006

Not Handicap Friendly

My sisters and I drove up from Orlando to take our mother to lunch for her 84th birthday. Waiter Matt was ho hum, definitely not your friendly southerner. We could not get the wheelchair around the hot bar for folks in the gift shop "booth" line. Fried chicken was dry as was the baked chicken. Veggies and pot roast not anything special. Hoecake was greasy. The only good thing I have to say is the tea was great! Paula you look and sound

good on TV but at 84 our mother still has you beat on the cooking! Ladies room was definitely NOT handicap friendly. Would not go back again.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2006

Yikes! What a Zoo

Being a southern person by birth I naturally love southern cooking and because of seeing Paula on TV and her praise for The Lady and Sons I made a special stop on a recent trip from my home in South Florida to my birth home in NC. Needless to say the food at Lady and sons leaves a lot to be desired. The chicken which I have frequently read is the best any where simply was too dry, over cooked and tasted like it had been sitting for a while before

being brought out of the kitchen. The buffet memu is very limited and the highly praised Mac and Cheese simple was just ordinary. Not being a fan of collards I cannot comment on their taste but I will add one very disturbing thing. The lady in front of me accidently dropped the tongs into the tray with the collards. There was a gentleman replacing fried chicken and I pointed out the problem. He removed the tongs from the collard pan with the tongs on his side of the buffet, wiped them with his apron, and placed the offending tongs back on the collard tray. Now, I don't know about you but that to me is a serious problem. I don't know how many people handled those tongs before they fell in the collards and how many of those people washed their hands after a recent trip to the toilet. The appropriate and safe thing to do was to remove the collards, discard them and replace the dish and offending tongs. I think that is how Hepititis B is passed around. The young man who brought my tea and dessert was wonderful, polite and helpful and I tipped accordingly (considering this is a buffet). One other thing that should not happen did. I was a single diner and although I was first in line 4 tables for two people were given out before I was seated. I was only seated at this point because I raised the issue. The hostess responded "sir, we prefer to fill the tables". So, I asked her how many single seat tables did she have? Suddenly I was seated at a table for two people. So, first and last time.

Read More

By JS

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2006

Southern Buffet

Extremely long unorganized line trying to get in, but once in the Staff was excellant and the Southern Buffet was great. Best fried chicken I ever had.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2006

Lady and Son's... ho-hum...

Don't bother. It is one of the biggest tourist TRAPS in Savannah. All the hype is over Paula Dean. Well I live in Savannah and she's not all that. If you do go, plan on a long wait, un-professional staff, and mediocre food at best. Oh, and did I mention the price? Not worth it, unless you like paying for overpriced canned/frozen food. You pay for the name here folks. There are much, much better places to dine her in Savannah. One of my favorites

is the Firefly Café. A wonderful place, kinda small but intimate and terrific food at a good price. Skip the Lady and head for the Firefly or some other restaurant. (No, I have no connection with the Firefly in case you were wondering, just sharing a bit of local info).

Read More

By stephen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2006

Awsome staff

My girlfriend and I just walked by and made reservations for lunch. The atmoshere was fun and the crowd was excellent. The cook who rang the dinner bell made the show. The food is great and the staff was awsome! Get there early...we waited 30 mins.

By Jimmie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2005

Paula Does Herself Proud

Have been twice to this wonderful restaurant. Once for the Sunday buffet and stopped for lunch while on the way to Florida. Had to wait an hour for the Sunday buffet but the shops around the restaurant are great for killing time. The food was typically Southern and it was delicious. Only my Grandmother made better fried green tomatoes and the buffet food was plentiful, hot, and tasted just like having Sunday dinner at home. I especially enjoyed

the greens, creamed corn, and the sweet potatoes. My second visit for lunch involved no wait on a Thursday and while my intentions were to order from the menu I could not resist the lunch buffet. It was just as good as the buffet offered on Sunday. This restaurant is friendly and has a down home feel to it just like the owner and her sons. For those of you looking for nose up in the air gourmet food then go somewhere else and pay outlandish prices. The Lady and Sons offers terrific food at affordable prices as well as very friendly service. If I had anything to complain about it is that you may have a long wait. For those of us traveling long distances to enjoy her food Paula should offer some sort of reservation system.

Read More

By Konnie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2005

GOOD things come to those who WAIT!

Simply glorious. The nay sayers must be crabby, rude, self-inflated, arrogant, and just plain nasty. How can you NOT like authentic southern food? If you don't like fried and salted foods then don't go---you're attitude and criticism is getting in the way of those of us who ENJOY this place! GET OUTTA THE WAY! Go back to New York and eat your HOT DOGS! Thank you Paula, Jaime, Bobby, and even Michael! Don't let those crazies get to you! YOU'RE

THE BEST!

Read More

By dawn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2005

Lady knows how to cook

We visit the Lady&Sons every year when we visit Savannah. Her new restaurant is much larger than the older one, but yes, you will still wait in line. I find if I get in line right at 5:00, I only wait about 15 minutes to get in everytime, but maybe I have just had good luck getting in. The food is wonderful, just like grandma's. I don't know where the people get canned from, it is fresh vegetables, and the fried chicken is wonderful, and I was raised

in the south, so I know good southern food when I have it. You don't won't to miss the place, one of the best in Savannah.....

Read More

By Sonya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2005

Loved the Singing Bartender

Morgan the bartender made our delicious buffet meals unforgettable with her acappella jazz renditions of My Funny Valentine, Summertime, and Mac the Knife. The buffet was as good as family reunion cooking without the in/out-laws! There is quite a wait to get in, so be prepared-it could be hours. It is very much worth it.

By nancy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2005

Lady needs to take a step backwards in time!

I've eaten several times at the Lady in past trips to Savannah. The food was the stuff worthy of dreams southern living. Their fried chicken alone was worth an airplane trip. But success and notoriety have not been kind to those seeking a dejavu experience. The lines have moved from long to ridiculous. On the day we were there, staff told us they had to call an ambulance twice. I assume it was for people worn from the oppresive heat and the long

lines. First we waited 90 minutes in a "stand by" line only to be told their were no more places for lunch. Then we waited another 30 minutes till the dinner reservations line opened up. Then we were given a reservation for 90 minutes later. And in the end, the ingredients and recipes seemed fine but the execution was off. Our hoe cakes were drenched in oil as if the oil was not properly heated, our chicken was dry and just ordinary. The ingredients on the salad bar were warm and most everything, including dishes that would have otherwise been delicious were oversalted. Paula, we need you to get back to some basic quality control and hands on taste testing!

Read More

By shana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2005

Come on back y'all... We will !!!

The all you can eat buffet was scrumptious. I usually don't eat large amounts of rich or fried food - but I made an exception for Lady & Sons.... The fried chicken & baked chicken were really good, the mac-n-cheese was pretty good, the other sides were fabulous - green beans mashed potatoes pinto beans sweet potato casserole, various breads (cheesy biscuits, cornbread. etc) brought to your table by servers, and the real star - the dessert of your

choice, either hot peach or apple cobbler ....YUM. We had to wait approximately 30 minutes to be seated for lunch on a Thursday at noon. It was well worth it. No one does it better.

Read More

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2005

Rip Off

I thought the lady and sons was a big rip off. When she is making a recipe on her TV show she says this is how we make it at the restaurant. Not true. The menu is so limited. The Buffet has 5 items on it, greasy fried chicken, canned vegetables and a pathetic salad bar, not worth the wait in line. Definite tourist trap.

By Heath

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2005

Highly overrated, much better in Savannah

Horribly long lines, extremely rude staff, and mediocre food make this a restaurant to avoid. There are much better choices in Savannah.

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2004

We Wanted It To Be Better Than This

Well....we had great hopes for this restaurant..hearing it was the best fried chicken in the city. I do have to say the fried green tomatoes off the menu were great. The buffet was salty and unmemorable. Fried chicken was nothing to write home about. Cute restaurant and good prices though. If I did go back I would not choose the buffet...menu items other diners were ordering looked pretty good.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2004

Excellent Southern Food

When you leave a restaurant so full you can hardly breath - you know it is a good place! :) Great southern veggies and fried chicken. Paula Deen lived up to her reputation. We went for dinner and had to wait for 1 1/2 hours, but we went to a bar down the street and had some cocktails while waiting, so it flew bye. Our waiter was a tad odd and disappeared a few times, but other waiters were very willing to help us. The buffet is the best value,

the item the one veggetarian in our group ordered was excellent, but somewhat overpriced.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2004

One word ---- YUUUMMMM!!

This was some of the best food I've ever eaten. My husband and I both had the buffet (and we usually are NOT buffet people).Unbelievable fried chicken, great chicken gumbo, the best mashed potatoes I've ever had, luscious cheese biscuits, etc. My husband went back for more three times! I'm pregnant, so unfortunately baby doesn't leave all that much room to stuff myself otherwise I would have had more. Great job, Paula Deen!!!

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2004

Ultimate Souther Cuisine!

This restaurant should not be missed when anywhere near Savannah. I recommend lunch over dinner, since you won't be hungry again until a late night snack. I am not a fan of buffets, but this place is different. The food is always hot and very fresh. Enjoy!

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2004

Lotsa hype and opera singers (!?!)

I think Kevin (below) pretty much summed up our experience here. We live in Savannah and tried The Lady 2 years ago with out-of-town guests. Yes, we also had a 2 hour wait and yes, the food was nothing to write home about and YES - the staff was abysmal. Same thing a week ago, even after Lady has moved into a huge new space. And what is the deal with the strolling singers?!? Ugh. You'd be in the middle of a conversation and someone would come

up beside you and start droning out opera at screeching volume and then - subtly - expect a tip. Never again.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2003

Poor Value! Don't Believe the Hype!

Extremely over-rated! A great example of how hype and promotion can sway the average tourist! The wait is as abysmal as always, and staff is harried and short and not too responsive to customer's needs. Food is basic southern fare, O.K. but nothing fancy. There are far better restarants throughout Savannah where one can get an exceptional meal for about the same price! Loud, noisy, frantic atmosphere does little to enhance the dining experience!.

Resist the persuasive blitz of this "$200 million dollar a year empire's" marketing machine and spend your money elsewhere in Savannah! 99% hype-1% value for your money!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2003

Delicious!

What a great place to totally stuff yourself silly! The food is delicious and there is SO much of it. Be sure to call ahead for reservations or you will certainly have a long wait. The staff is friendly and efficient. Don't miss this place if you go to Savannah.

By mmb1776

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2003

Ain't Fancy but the Food is Fabulous!!!

The Lady and Sons is a must for lunch or dinner for anyone visiting the city! Reservations are also a must! We were greeted by a very friendly server who brought us a wonderful hoppin' john cake or something like that along with other rolls & butter and syrup. I chose the buffet and I'm glad I did. I enjoyed everything I had on the buffet and it is extensive. But the very best thing they had, I feel, is the fried chicken. It was wonderful!

It is certainly a great deal relative to what you pay. I would always visit again next time I'm in Savannah. They are moving to a new location about a block or so away and it looks bigger. That's a good thing.....more people can enjoy The Lady & Sons!

Read More

By michele

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2003

Can't wait to go again

We thought this restaurant was excellent. We loved all the food and even got the cookbook. Very good southern food. good price for what you get. There is a wait so reservations are needed. Also a fun place with VERY friendly staff

By Lana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2003

Just like Grandma's if Grandma was a five star chef

This is the real deal. True southern cooking at its best - just like grandma used to make before she got a job and started picking up her chicken from the colonel. The iced tea with mint was perfect. Cheese biscuits and hoe cakes were to die for as were the creamed potatoes and collard greens. Admittedly, the green beans were over salted but hey, this it the deep south. We had reservations for dinner and only a five minute wait.

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

TO DIE FOR!!!

This place is definitely worth the wait. The food was outstanding. There wasn't one item on the buffet that wasn't wonderful. The staff was very attentive. Definitely call ahead for reservations.

By Marsha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2002

Just the thought makes me drool...

My husband and I made dinner reservations here on a recent trip to Savannah, and loved it so much we made reservations for lunch before we left. Reservations are highly advised, or else you will join the line of people waiting outside! I rate the service a "3" only because on both visits, we ordered the buffet and therefore had little interaction with our waitstaff (except for their refills of sweet tea and their circulations with the breadbasket

and dessert tray). As for the buffet, oh, how delicious is this food! My Southern-reared husband says it was the best fried chicken he's ever eaten. Chicken, ribs, green beans, creamed corn, rice, potatoes, peach cobbler - everything was delicious! and rich! Now, if you ate like this every day, you'd soon weigh 300 pounds, but as a treat when you come to Savannah, don't miss this place!

Read More

By Stacy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2002

Fried Chicken to make you slap your grandma

The minute you sit down they bring you garlic cheese biscuits which are to die for, as well as hoe-cakes which you yankees may not appreciate. The best sweet tea anywhere, served with mint spring. The fried chicken will make you slap your grandma! Squash casserole is the best I have ever had!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2002

Best Southern Cooking all of Savannah!!

Make your reservation now - A meal at this restaurant is a MUST during your trip to Savannah! My mother and I had dinner here during Mother's Day weekend. The buffet was AMAZING and the crab cakes definitely lived up to the New York Times hype - they even surpased most that I've eaten in Maryland. Only bits of advice - you MUST make a reservation, the line quickly forms outside the door! Make sure you are hungry - you won't need to eat for the

rest of the day!!

Read More

By Phillip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2002

No food could be worth this wait

Tried on two consecutive days to eat lunch here and was told the wait was 2 to 3 hours both times. We tried one day early (right as they opened) and one day late (around 2PM) and we never did get in. I just can't comprehend that. We got into Mrs. Wilkes with little problem and not a long wait (20-30 minutes) and the food was excellent. The Lady and Sons could do more to accomodate people. Their write ups in most places say they don't take reservations,

but some people were apparently allowed to make them as we found on our last try. Maybe the food is good, but the service is so poor I never found out.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2001

TRUE SOUTHERN COOKIN'

We ate here for lunch on Monday, November 19th.The food was excellent, true southern seasonings and the best fried chicken this Southerner has had in a long time: tender, marinated, cooked to perfection. Service was good. We were a little disappointed at the limited number of food selections for a buffet in a well-rated restaurant, about 3 or 4 meats and about 7 vegetables + tossed salad. Reviews we'd read before the trip mentioned other dishes.

Price was good.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2001

Mix Up?

Your description doesn't sound like the "Lady and Sons" that I was at. It wasn't soul food - just Southern. There was no buffet - orders were taken by waitresses at tables. The waitresses also sang - beautifully. One of the best restaurants I've ever been to. I had crab cakes, crispy fried greens and cheese biscuits - tremendous!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement