Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Savannah Restaurants

Sapphire Grill

Updated 11/28/2012

Fodor's Review

Savannah's foodies pack this trendy haunt with its surprisingly chic interior and artistic culinary creations. Downstairs, the decor is hip—think converted industrial loft—with gray brick walls alongside those painted a deep sapphire and a stone bar; upstairs is quieter and a little more romantic. Chef Chris Nason focuses his seasonal menus on local ingredients, such as Georgia white shrimp, crab, and fish prepared with care and creative flare. The Grill features succulent

choices of steak, poultry, and fish, with myriad interesting à la carte accompaniments such as jalapeño tartar sauce, sweet soy-wasabi sauce, and lemongrass butter. The six-course chef's tasting menu, with fresh seafood and top-quality meats, is $100 and worth every penny. Chocoholics Alert: you will find your bliss in the miniature cocoa gâteau with lavender almond ice cream. From the bar, the hand-muddled mojito is a thing of beauty and delicious fortitude. Don't forget that if you and, say, nine of your favorite people want to celebrate, reserve the private wine room on the third floor.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

10 W. Congress St., Savannah, Georgia, 31401, USA

Map It

Phone:

912-443–9962

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 11/28/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Savannah

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By KristyM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2013

Very bad experience on a very special night

I've left a full detail review on yelp, but I will try do a short summary here as I realize long reviews are boring. 1.) Even with Anniversary reservations, we were seated late at a bad table, while several other tables were available. 2.) The restaurant was out of several dishes at 9pm on a Thursday. 3.) A friend of the staff was drunk, loud, and occasionally offensive during the entire course of our meal. 4.) My husband's food came out terrible

and my side was forgotten. 5.) They rushed my side (and in the course burnt it) and rushed my husband's second dish leaving it under-cooked. Since his second dish was the same as my main dish, we had something to compare it to. 6.) Even though the server noticed that the second dish and side dish was barely touched and my husband mentioned it was not good, apparently no one besides her and us seemed to care. 7.) Management did not feel all of these bad experiences on our anniversary warranted talking to us anymore after the second dish/side were deemed bad, and instead ate at the bar with the drunk aforementioned customer. Although I am sure this restaurant is fine or even great some of the time, the fact they could mess up so many things means you could have a very disappointed evening. Hopefully it won't be an anniversary like ours.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2007

Southern Sophistication

This marvelous modern restaurant is one of the best in Savannah. The chef is wonderfully creative, the atmosphere is dark, romantic and slick. Unlike some of the other reviews here, we felt that Sapphire was a good value.

By Theresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2006

Enjoyable Dining

I've been to the Sapphire Grill twice, and both times received excellent & attentive service. My food, as well as the other guests' at the table, was flavorful & delicious. The wine was very good, and the desserts to die for. It's a little pricey, but I enjoyed every morsel & moment of the 2 hours we lingered there each time. I look forward to dining there again on my next visit.

By Debi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2006

Price not in line with sitting on folding chairs!

We are from St. Paul, MN and went to Savannah for our anniversary. The Sapphire Grill was supposed to be our elegant night out. The hostess was rude, the waitress was worse. I'm not used to being treated as though I'm not even present. Usually ladies are served first, even though I don't count myself as as old fashioned, but I found it rude and disrespectful that my husband had to also repeat almost everything I said before the waitress would acknowledge

the request. We sat at tiny, tiny table, and on wooden folding chairs that looked like something from Ikea. We were checked on once, during appetizers, and once more during dinner. That's it. The food was not anything worth the 100$ we paid for the meal. We can get better seafood here in midwest. Very disappointed, and told the staff at the B&B about our experience so that others could be warned.

Read More

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2003

Disappoint,ent with a capital D

I have never been so disappointed in a restaurant. First, the wine list. I had read that it was excellent. I thought it was boring. It took a long time to find something interesting to order; I finally gave up and ordered a glass of one of their mediocre selections. The duck was tough and fatty. It was also geasy as was the fois gras. My wife's meal was also terrible. The vegetables were roasted beyond recognition and rubbery. She had the

tuna, which was okay, but everything on the plate was white. What is the fuss over this place? Yuk!

Read More

By AR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2003

This local won't return to Sapphire Grill

I dined at Sapphire Grill this week for a family birthday celebration. Pretentious doesn't begin to describe it. Mosaics and blue water glasses do not a restaurant make. Amateurish waiter, devoid of personality, mixed up entrees and removed plates while we were still eating. My teenaged daughter, who is quite accustomed to fine dining and knows that a good kitchen is flexible, asked for only fried green tomatoes from a busy appetizer on the menu

that had included shrimp and other items; I can't wait to tell you that I was charged $10 for 4 slices of tasteless rubbery deepfried tomato slices that any cook in Savannah could top any day. Small portions of everything, filets cooked improperly, overcooked seafood in the bouillabase, better salads can be found almost anywhere and the prices for food and wine were outrageous. Four of us spent $284 which included no cocktails and only 2 glasses of wine. It's obvious after reading other posts on this board that someone is trying for damage control with gushing reviews from people in "New York" and "LA." Well I can tell you that the locals are quickly wising up to The Sapphire Grill. Hopefully this will help visitors to our wonderful city to choose one of our many resaurants with better food and value.

Read More

By Betsy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2002

Chocolate Heaven

Dinner was wonderful, but the chocolate caramel was divine.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2002

Sapphire Is Hip, Intimate, And Proves It's Worth

After reading all the comments below, I'm surprised so many individuals disliked the Sapphire Grill so fixedly. Any sharp person, however, could have guessed what the ambiance and final price of the bill could have been from the second you walked in. So harping on that aspect is not necessarily fair. Everything from the appetizer, our two scrumptious entrees and the shared dessert were amazing. After killing about 4/5 of our champagne, they were

kind enought to give us To Go containers for the walk home. Talk about true Southern Hospitality!! One of the craziest parts of the restaurant is that you must take an elevator down to the restrooms. It's an interesting twist to the evening, and fits in well with the colorful and impressionistic hanging art and modern decor that lends itself well to the energetic and prominent art schools that fill the city of Savannah. I would go back again if we had another special occasion to celebrate. And I would certainly give the recommendation to a traveling friend.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2002

Talent in the South

Living out here we have quite a selection of fine foods. Not only was I presently surprised by the the absolute creativity of Chef Nason's menu, but surprised that the Southeast has such talent which is usually drawn to larger cities. Thank you for a memorable meal. One we will never forget!!!!

By anna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2002

New Southern Cusine is Terrific!

Trendy atomosphere - lovely Sapphire glassware reflects light beautifully. Food is very interesting - great calamari, lamb terrific. Friendly staff.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement