Savannah Restaurants

Advertisement

Elizabeth on 37th

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Elizabeth on 37th Review

Set within the Victorian District, this elegant turn-of-the-20th-century mansion has been feeding Savannah's upper crust for decades. Regional specialties are the hallmark at this acclaimed restaurant that goes so far as to credit local produce suppliers on its menu. Although original chef and owner Elizabeth Terry retired in 1996, Kelly Yambor has helmed the kitchen ever since, and she replicates the blue-crab cakes that sit comfortably beside Southern-fried grits and honey-roasted pork tenderloin with roasted shiitake and oyster mushrooms over dried tomatoes, black-eyed peas, and carrot ragout. Splurge for the chef's seven-course tasting menu; you won't regret it. Don't be afraid to ask for wine recommendations, because their wine cellar is massive, and the staff is knowledgeable. As might be imagined, service is impeccable.

    Restaurant Details

  • Reservations essential
  • Credit cards accepted.
  • No lunch.
Updated: 11-12-2012

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Value  
    Décor  
    Service  

    Quite possibly the best dining experience I've ever had!

    We made reservations at Elizabeth's for my daughter's college graduation celebration. The maitre d' greeted our party of seven by congratulating my daughter on her graduation - a nice personal touch. We were promptly seated and welcomed by the service captain, who explained the menu and the specials for the evening. We chose a very good German Reisling, and the wine steward kept our glasses full. Let's start with appetizers: Lobster & Crab Puff Pastry - easily everyone's favorite - it was exceptional with large chunks of lobster and crab; Oysters Three Ways - raw, baked, and in a creme sauce. The raw oysters were OK - what can you do to a raw oyster? - The baked oysters were topped with garlic and were delicious - but my favorite was the oysters in creme sauce, which were served over a small piece of dense bread with a flavorful light creme. For entrees we had Beef Tenderloin, Pork Tenderloin, and all three varieties of fish offered that evening: Peanut Crusted Grouper, Ginger Red Snapper and Black Bass with Quail and black bean mash. All were exquisitely prepared and presented. Each entree was served with a delicious sauce and vegetable that complemented the entree. The service captain also ordered three vegetable side dishes - he picked them out based on our entree orders - and all were delicious. The most notable was the Asiago Grits, which everyone loved. For dessert, my favorite was the Pecan Tort with shaved almonds - delicious. Two other desserts I sampled - Triple Chocolate Cake and the Signature white cake - were good but not exceptional. Overall we had an excellent dining experience. The service was impeccable - attentive but not hurried, the atmosphere was lively but not overly loud, and the food was absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend this restaurant for any special occasion. I think it's best suited for parties of 4 or larger; a couple wanting a quiet, romantic dinner may find the atmosphere a bit hectic.

    by eshelmanj, 12/12/06
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    elizabeth

    The owner is rude and the food is overrated. The restaurant 1792 is far superior. I would not eat there ever again because how rude the owner was.

    by savannahgirl131, 12/29/06
  • Value  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Food  

    Elizabeth's Suffers from Change of Ownership

    I very much looked forward to eating at this landmark restaurant. I noticed that all of Elizabeth's culinary awards stopped about five years ago when two new partners were added to the ownership. The biscuits in the bread basket was a sign of the horrible food to come later. They were dry and crumbly and lacked taste. The waiter was proud because she made them herself. What kind of executive chef at a fine restaurant has NO control over every aspect of the restaurant? Well, Elizabeth's is such a malfunctioning operation. When I ordered my meal, I ordered the Carolina red rice, which was full of seafood including grouper. The waiter told me that it was a spicy dish, but they could adjust the spice level downwards. The dish also had grouper fish in it. I told the waiter that I could not have any grouper because I am pregnant, and grouper has an extremely high mercury content. Waiter said that they could substitute snapper. Well, you can guess what happened. The main course was EXTREMELY spicy. And, it had grouper in it. The waiter was nowhere to be found. So, DH graciously exchanged plates with me. I should have sent the dish back. I watched in agony as DH drank at least 8 glasses of water while sweating and turning red. He was also very sick overnight from this awful meal. Before leaving, I asked to speak to the manager about the horrid meal and terrible service. But, guess what. There was no manager available to speak to on the Friday night that we were there. The only person that we spoke to was the OBNOXIOUS waiter who kept insisting that the dish had no grouper and was not hot. Just avoid this place.

    by FlyingMaltese, 4/1/07
  • Décor  
    Value  
    Food  
    Service  

    A Magical Night

    We were celebrating both our anniversary & my birthday. More than 24 hours prior our concierge attempted to get us a table at The Pink House. They offered a table at 9:45pm. Needless to say we declined. Some things happen for a reason.I had also heard and read a great deal about Elizabeth's on 37th, we decided to give them a try. I believe they call it serendipity! The evening could not have turned out more perfectly. The moment we arrived at the beautiful and stately mansion which is home to Elizabeth's on 37th we were treated with gracious hospitality. The wonderful wait staff and the glorious food were both a absolute pleasure. From the first course to our after dinner drinks and dessert we were treated as though our impressions mattered. In addition our marvelous waiter was kind enough to offer to bring a book to our table that discussed the history of both the restaurant and the home that currently houses it. A fascinating morsel we enjoyed along with an evening of sheer epicurinan genius!

    by cpygrl, 10/4/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    JUST WONDERFUL

    Celbrated our wedding anniversary here in March. What a great place. The house in which the restaurant is located and the area it's in are beautiful.Our waiter was a little slow getting to us after we were seated, but once we got started everything was great. The food, from appetizer to dessert, was wonderful. the wine list was quite adequate. It can be a bit noisy depending on the makeup of diners in the particular room you're seated in, but that's true anywhere. This is not a cheap place to eat, but worth every penny.

    by HARRY_LOVES_TRAVEL, 3/27/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Just go for the food

    Luckily, the meal that we received at Elizabeth on 37th was absolutely wonderful. The service, however, was rather strange - apparently, in the summer, they have several high school-aged boys working there. And these kids don't seem thrilled to be working - it is as if the chef is their dad and he is making them work in his restaurant. The interior of the restaurant could use a lot of sprucing up as well. We had actually wanted to do the chef's 7-course tasting menu, but we were disappointed to get there and find out that the price was much more than what is listed on their web site. Also, when asked what the tasting menu entailed, our server responded that we could just order whatever we wanted off the menu for the 7 courses. This could have turned out okay, but that is not the way one usually experiences a tasting menu. So, we stuck with ordering appetizers, entrees and dessert. Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious and very sophisticated - completely the opposite of the image the atmosphere and service of the restaurant project. It was also our most expensive meal in Savannah though, so be prepared!

    by OCDiner, 6/29/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Elizabeth on 37th Review

    We are 24 years military, so we've lived around the world and experianced alot of cultures and cuisines. This is by far one of the most excellent resturaunts my husband and I have had the pleasure of experiancing. When we had dinner there 3 times I might add during our stay, both of the brothers were there, it was fabulous and every evening they had wonderful new exciting dishes to try. The desserts are fabulous, we will definatly be back and soon, your in for a real treat and secret of Savannah if you love food and like to be pampered this is a must visit ;)

    by Sherry1960, 5/25/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Elizabeth on 37th Review

    I was there in 1994 for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. 16 years is a long time, but this was the best food I have ever eaten. I had the Savannah Red Rice, and have spent the last 16 years trying to duplicate it!

    by JeffPhillips, 8/19/10

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Elizabeth on 37th

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums