Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Savannah Restaurants

Elizabeth on 37th

Updated 11/12/2012

Fodor's Review

Set within the Victorian District, this elegant turn-of-the-20th-century mansion has been feeding Savannah's upper crust for decades. Regional specialties are the hallmark at this acclaimed restaurant that goes so far as to credit local produce suppliers on its menu. Although original chef and owner Elizabeth Terry retired in 1996, Kelly Yambor has helmed the kitchen ever since, and she replicates the blue-crab cakes that sit comfortably beside Southern-fried grits and honey-roasted pork tenderloin with roasted shiitake and oyster mushrooms over dried tomatoes, black-eyed peas, and carrot ragout. Splurge for the chef's seven-course tasting menu; you won't regret it. Don't be afraid to ask for wine recommendations, because their wine cellar is massive, and the staff is knowledgeable. As might be imagined, service is impeccable.

Restaurant Information

Address:

105 E. 37th St., Savannah, Georgia, 31401, USA

Map It

Phone:

912-236–5547

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 11/12/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Savannah

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2010

Elizabeth on 37th Review

I was there in 1994 for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. 16 years is a long time, but this was the best food I have ever eaten. I had the Savannah Red Rice, and have spent the last 16 years trying to duplicate it!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2010

Elizabeth on 37th Review

We are 24 years military, so we've lived around the world and experianced alot of cultures and cuisines. This is by far one of the most excellent resturaunts my husband and I have had the pleasure of experiancing. When we had dinner there 3 times I might add during our stay, both of the brothers were there, it was fabulous and every evening they had wonderful new exciting dishes to try. The desserts are fabulous, we will definatly be back and soon,

your in for a real treat and secret of Savannah if you love food and like to be pampered this is a must visit ;)

Read More

By OCDiner

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2009

Just go for the food

Luckily, the meal that we received at Elizabeth on 37th was absolutely wonderful. The service, however, was rather strange - apparently, in the summer, they have several high school-aged boys working there. And these kids don't seem thrilled to be working - it is as if the chef is their dad and he is making them work in his restaurant. The interior of the restaurant could use a lot of sprucing up as well. We had actually wanted to do the chef's 7-course

tasting menu, but we were disappointed to get there and find out that the price was much more than what is listed on their web site. Also, when asked what the tasting menu entailed, our server responded that we could just order whatever we wanted off the menu for the 7 courses. This could have turned out okay, but that is not the way one usually experiences a tasting menu. So, we stuck with ordering appetizers, entrees and dessert. Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious and very sophisticated - completely the opposite of the image the atmosphere and service of the restaurant project. It was also our most expensive meal in Savannah though, so be prepared!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2008

JUST WONDERFUL

Celbrated our wedding anniversary here in March. What a great place. The house in which the restaurant is located and the area it's in are beautiful.Our waiter was a little slow getting to us after we were seated, but once we got started everything was great. The food, from appetizer to dessert, was wonderful. the wine list was quite adequate. It can be a bit noisy depending on the makeup of diners in the particular room you're seated in, but that's

true anywhere. This is not a cheap place to eat, but worth every penny.

Read More

By cpygrl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2007

A Magical Night

We were celebrating both our anniversary & my birthday. More than 24 hours prior our concierge attempted to get us a table at The Pink House. They offered a table at 9:45pm. Needless to say we declined. Some things happen for a reason.I had also heard and read a great deal about Elizabeth's on 37th, we decided to give them a try. I believe they call it serendipity! The evening could not have turned out more perfectly. The moment we arrived at the

beautiful and stately mansion which is home to Elizabeth's on 37th we were treated with gracious hospitality. The wonderful wait staff and the glorious food were both a absolute pleasure. From the first course to our after dinner drinks and dessert we were treated as though our impressions mattered. In addition our marvelous waiter was kind enough to offer to bring a book to our table that discussed the history of both the restaurant and the home that currently houses it. A fascinating morsel we enjoyed along with an evening of sheer epicurinan genius!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2007

Elizabeth's Suffers from Change of Ownership

I very much looked forward to eating at this landmark restaurant. I noticed that all of Elizabeth's culinary awards stopped about five years ago when two new partners were added to the ownership. The biscuits in the bread basket was a sign of the horrible food to come later. They were dry and crumbly and lacked taste. The waiter was proud because she made them herself. What kind of executive chef at a fine restaurant has NO control over every

aspect of the restaurant? Well, Elizabeth's is such a malfunctioning operation. When I ordered my meal, I ordered the Carolina red rice, which was full of seafood including grouper. The waiter told me that it was a spicy dish, but they could adjust the spice level downwards. The dish also had grouper fish in it. I told the waiter that I could not have any grouper because I am pregnant, and grouper has an extremely high mercury content. Waiter said that they could substitute snapper. Well, you can guess what happened. The main course was EXTREMELY spicy. And, it had grouper in it. The waiter was nowhere to be found. So, DH graciously exchanged plates with me. I should have sent the dish back. I watched in agony as DH drank at least 8 glasses of water while sweating and turning red. He was also very sick overnight from this awful meal. Before leaving, I asked to speak to the manager about the horrid meal and terrible service. But, guess what. There was no manager available to speak to on the Friday night that we were there. The only person that we spoke to was the OBNOXIOUS waiter who kept insisting that the dish had no grouper and was not hot. Just avoid this place.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2006

elizabeth

The owner is rude and the food is overrated. The restaurant 1792 is far superior. I would not eat there ever again because how rude the owner was.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2006

Quite possibly the best dining experience I've ever had!

We made reservations at Elizabeth's for my daughter's college graduation celebration. The maitre d' greeted our party of seven by congratulating my daughter on her graduation - a nice personal touch. We were promptly seated and welcomed by the service captain, who explained the menu and the specials for the evening. We chose a very good German Reisling, and the wine steward kept our glasses full. Let's start with appetizers: Lobster & Crab Puff Pastry

- easily everyone's favorite - it was exceptional with large chunks of lobster and crab; Oysters Three Ways - raw, baked, and in a creme sauce. The raw oysters were OK - what can you do to a raw oyster? - The baked oysters were topped with garlic and were delicious - but my favorite was the oysters in creme sauce, which were served over a small piece of dense bread with a flavorful light creme. For entrees we had Beef Tenderloin, Pork Tenderloin, and all three varieties of fish offered that evening: Peanut Crusted Grouper, Ginger Red Snapper and Black Bass with Quail and black bean mash. All were exquisitely prepared and presented. Each entree was served with a delicious sauce and vegetable that complemented the entree. The service captain also ordered three vegetable side dishes - he picked them out based on our entree orders - and all were delicious. The most notable was the Asiago Grits, which everyone loved. For dessert, my favorite was the Pecan Tort with shaved almonds - delicious. Two other desserts I sampled - Triple Chocolate Cake and the Signature white cake - were good but not exceptional. Overall we had an excellent dining experience. The service was impeccable - attentive but not hurried, the atmosphere was lively but not overly loud, and the food was absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend this restaurant for any special occasion. I think it's best suited for parties of 4 or larger; a couple wanting a quiet, romantic dinner may find the atmosphere a bit hectic.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2006

A Southern Gourmet Treat

Having resided in the South our entire lives with the last 13 years in Savannah, my wife and I decided to celebrate our anniversary on Friday at Elizabeth on 37th. It was our first time to dine there, though for years we have heard nothing but wonderul reviews. When my wife and I were seated we immediately agreed the milieu resembled Commander's Palace in New Orleans. If you enjoy Commander's, you will be delighted with Elizabeth on 37th. Located

in a Victorian mansion, Elizabeth sits squarely in the heart of the Starland District of Savannah and can be easily accessed from hotels downtown and throughout the southern part of the city. The neighborhood is marginal after dark, though the restaurant employs police officers to provide some measure of safety as you come and go (it's not as bad as Ruth's Chris was in New Orleans, but be mindful) The chef addresses the lowcountry fare with a gourmet flare. You will find the menu (which changes daily) and wine selection extensive. I chose a gumbo of local seafood including shrimp, Sapelo Island clams, Bluffton oysters, fresh Red Snapper, and local blue crab served with okra, corn, etc. Outstanding! My wife and I also split an order of crab cakes as an appetizer and they were out of this world. Not too much spice and a whole lot of fresh crab. Like Commander's, Elizabeth can get noisy at times. It's a social atmosphere. We spent some time chatting with a visiting professor and his wife at the next table. They were delightful and seemed to enjoy the evening as much as we did. Dress varies, though men will be comfortable in khakis and a polo shirt or button-down ("southern formal wear"). The wait staff were personable and attentive. All in all I would have to say, don't miss Elizabeth on 37th while in Savannah.

Read More

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2006

Beautiful home...ok food

I recently went to Elizabeth's on 37th a few weeks ago. I'm a local to Savannah. The house is beautiful from the outside, on the inside it's just your standard historic home turned commercial. The food was ok, and the waiter...hard to understand. Or at least one of the waiters we had. It was a bit noisy.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2006

Go to Savannah and catch the crabs

I just had one of the most delicious, tastiest meals of my 60+ years. I had two softshelled crabs with a devine seaseme and peanut sauces. But, the salad of mixed greens plus strips of cataloupe in a wine vinegar dressing was the best. Worth the trip.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2006

Very disappointing, much better meal at the Chart House

We have dined at many fine restaurants over the years and, although Elizabeth's came highly recommended, we found it highly disappointing. So much depends on the room you are in, the table you have, the server assigned to your table, etc. so one's experience is very individual. Offered three choices of noisy rooms, we took the least noisy, which was still plenty noisy. Our table was positioned such that my chair was brushed by one of the bustling

waiters about eight times. We repositioned the table three times to eliminate the problem. It did feel, however, that I was still stuck out in the traffic pattern. It took 45 minutes before our APPETIZER came and then only because we inquired about it! After an apology, the rest of the meal came rapidly, almost so rapidly that we felt rushed. The walls were covered with awards and articles to impress us all. However, the poor service (and thats being charitable), lack of ambiance (could easily eavesdrop on several conversations in the room), and unfriendly attitudes all detracted from the decent (not overly outstanding nor worth the awards in our opinion) food. Parking lot holds about 2-3 cars so plan on street parking. We would definitely not recommend Elizabeths. There are so many more wonderful restaurants in Savannah, especially the crabcakes at the Chart House. Worth the wait for a table on their open porch! Youll find very friendly staff at the Chart House, great food, great wine, and great ambiance!

Read More

By august

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2005

Sensational setting, mediocre evening

Endless recitation of specials by waiters at surrounding tables made conversation impossible. Attitude a bit smug. The duck 2-ways was uninspired; the house salad lifeless; the signature dessert more of an over-refrigerated pound cake than a promised angel food cake. With so many really good restaurants in Savannah, I would not return to Elizabeth's.

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2005

Underwhelming

Every review raved about this restaurant, but outside of the service it was completely mediocre. The lighting and atmosphere is similar to any chain restaurant. The complimentary "first bite" looked cute but was so spicy we couldn't taste the appetizer we ordered. The entrees were just "food on a plate" without attractive presentation. The desserts all reviews described as "best in the city" were bland and unexciting. Savannah Bistro is a much

better choice for dinner. By the way there is no valet parking here and we spent 5 minutes finding a place to put the car (you can't walk here from the Historic District).

Read More

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2005

My visitors were impressed

While I am not local to Savannah (I live an hour away)when house guests were visiting last week, Elizabeth's for dinner seemed a fitting close for their visit. Everything was as good as remembered from previous visits. Service was attentive and even on a crowded Saturday night we never had to wait for anything. Several of the signature dishes were among our selections and all were excellent. Deserts were outstanding. Except for the lack of parking,

everthing was wonderful.

Read More

By A

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2004

Poor service almost makes food NOT worth wait

While the food here is very good (not excellent, but very good), the slow and inattentive service nearly ruined the meal for us. The decor needs updating, as well. When the hostess seated us, she told us our "captain" (Server) would be along shortly. We spent most of our meal, searching for our "captain". In need of water...decided what we would order 10 minutes ago...out of water again...need more bread...where are our meals?...you get the picture.

We began to make jokes about out AWAL "captain". Maybe he was shoved overboard? Lost at sea? We weren't sure. ALl we know is that our needs were not being met. ALthough a mostly pleasant dining experience, if you are looking for a FINE dining experience, you may need to go someplace else. Like Atlanta.

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2004

Bad Choice for a Good Experience

We ordered the specials since the menu was uninspired. I had a strange mishmash of fish, quail and beans. Presentation was good but taste was confused and bland. My wife's fish was well-past-done but the brussel sprouts and Summer squash side was wonderful. Signature dessert was a Sara Lee like white on white cake. Two of us didn't finish it. Surprisingly, the other diners were a mix of golfers (large group, drunk, wearing Hawaiian and golf

shirts), little kids playing tag and older locals. We were over dressed in a sportcoat and nice dress. I'd skip this one.

Read More

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2003

French - Soulfood Fusion

Confit of Duck and a Duck breast breaded in pistachios with wild rice, black eyed peas and grits. Absolutely the best Confit I have ever had. The chocolate torte is decadent.

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2002

Good Food and Good Ole Southern Charm

Elizabeth's is a fabulous restaurant. However, I always get the snobbery snub every month when I go in. Besides that the service is impeccable and the food is wonderful. A good way to open up your palate.

By Phillip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2002

Way Overrated

While the food at Elizabeth's was pretty good, my wife and I had an overall better experience at other restaurants in Savannah, namely the Olde Pink House and 17 hundred 90. The wait staff can't be faulted; I found them excellent, but the atmosphere was stuffy compared to other places and it wasn't the quiet, romantic evening we had hoped for. Also, it is one of the few places I went in Savannah that I wasn't comfortable with my surroundings. By that,

I mean it wasn't in the best part of town. There were two off-duty cops in the parking lot, and the place isn't that big. There was just nothing about the place that made me go Wow! with the possible exception of our waiter. You can do better in Savannah.

Read More

By anna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2002

Good Gracious!

This is one of the nicest restaurants anywhere in the world. Great food and service. Charming mansion. Not stuffy just elegant.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement