Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Savannah Hotels

Gastonian

Pros

  • Cordial and caring staff
  • Hot breakfast
  • Afternoon tea and wine and cheese at night

Cons

  • Accommodations on the third floor are a hike
  • Some of the furnishings are less than regal

Updated 11/29/2012

Fodor's Review

Guest rooms—many of which are exceptionally spacious—in this atmospheric Italianate inn, built in 1868, all have fireplaces and are decorated with a mix of funky finds and antiques from the Georgian and Regency periods and most have whirlpool tubs. In a second building, identical to the main house, the Lafayette room has the most noteworthy fireplace; the Caracalla Suite is named for the oversize whirlpool tub built in front of its fireplace; the Juliette Low room

has a private wrought-iron balcony looking out on the treetops. The handsome and quiet Eli Whitney room is one of the least expensive. Fresh flowers throughout and the outdoor covered arbor are unexpected pleasures. Afternoon tea, complimentary wine with cheese and hors d'oeuvres, and evening desserts and cordials are among the treats. At breakfast you can have such hot entrées as omelets with creamed spinach and goat cheese.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

220 E. Gaston St., Savannah, Georgia, 31401, USA

Map It

Phone:

912-232–2869; 800-322–6603

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • N/A
  • 15 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/29/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Savannah

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2009

Gastonian Review

We loved our stay at the Gastonian! We stayed a night a the Elizatbeth Thompson House (a sister hotel) and the two do not compare at all. The Gastonian was beautiful, the staff very knowledgeable and our room large and sunny! The food was always delicious and we had a great time meeting other guests. We really enjoyed our stay.

By nutecht

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 20, 2009

Gastonian Review

My fiance and I stayed at the Gastonian on our visit to Savannah to plan our wedding. It was a rainy, chilly weekend and coming home to the Gastonian was always the highlight to our days. Being able to turn on the fireplace in our room and warm up was wonderful. The Inn was also decorated beautifully for the holidays. Our room was charming and the bed was ultra comfortable. Breakfast, tea time and desserts were each excellent. All of the staff

from Melanie, the Inn Keeper who greeted us warmly, to the Concierges, Bellman and the Chef are the epitome of southern hospitality. Our stay was relaxing, and just what we needed. We can't wait to go back!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2009

Fantastic vacation

We had a wonderful time at the Gastonian. We stayed in the Sheftall Room and couldn't have asked for better accommodations! The satff was great and very friendly - especially Walter (thanks again!!!). Breakfast and the tea time were a delight each day with many more choices that you would expect from a B&B. The city is absolutely amazing - great dining, shopping and antiqueing - we will definetly go back someday.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2008

Perfect Fit for Savannah

Elegant Bed and Breakfast that embodies the Old Southern Charm that people flock to Savannah to see. Why stay in a stuffy hotel room that you can stay at anywhere, when you can stay at the Gastonian? From the beautiful antique furniture to the delicious gourmet breakfast to the helpful staff it is a dream to stay here. My husband and I just celebrated our anniversary and we couldn't be more pleased. We had a horse drawn carriage pick us up at

the front of the Gastonian and ride us through the historic district and drop us off at the Ol' Pink House where the concierge had recommended and made reservations for us. The food was to die for (especially the She Crab Soup) and the atmosphere was very elegant for a semicasual restaurant. Upon departure from the resteraunt we had a cab waiting to take us back. We had absolutely no problems with the staff. They were always friendly and helpful. We had turn down service every night and our rooms were always thoroughly clean every afternoon when we returned from a day out. Breakfast was delivered to our room on time every morning (no extra charge other than a voluntary tip) and the only complaint was that the grits were a bit salty one morning. The hors dourves were delicious in the afternoon and I loved the peanut butter cookie sandwiches that were among the light desserts at night. Bottled water and Sodas were complimentary however I wish there was an ice machine in the second building. All in all, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting the full "Old South" Savannah experience.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2008

stay somewhere else

The real shame of this place is the staff --- requested dinner reservations were never made after 2 requests, problems with our room were not fixed, The location is fair & the room were fair as well --- a location farther toward the river but still above broughton would be a better location

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2007

There must be better places to stay in Savannah...

We spent three nights at the Gastonian in May and I can't recommend enough that you stay somewhere else. Our bed was bowed in the middle and clearly the mattress and box spring needed replacement. The bathroom was oddly configured. The toilet was packed into a tight space against a wall and the fan didn't work. Plus the bath/shower was rotted and there were bugs living in the rail under the sliding door. Housekeeping forgot to replace some of

our towels one day. On the day before we left they didn't bother with our turn-down service. The breakfast each day was incredibly mediocre and served by a staff that seemingly could have cared less that we were there. I kept wondering why the Gastonian thought this experience was worth charging $300/night. Please take my advice and stay elsewhere. I simply was not impressed.

Read More

By Sigrid

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 22, 2006

Loved Savannah

We stayed in the Penthouse and in the Garden Room and loved both of them. The rooms are so nicely decorated and the staff is just wonderful. We really enjoyed staying at a B&B and will certainly try them a bit more often now. Savannah is a beautiful city - favorite restaurant would have to be the Bistro Savannah and for lunch Sweat Leaf Smokery.

By Donald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2006

Charming Inn

We had a wonderful stay at the Gastonian. It is a very nice place with great service and good food. River Street is only about 10 minutes walking distance. Enjoyed dinner at Elizabeth on 37th Street and the Sapphire Grill. For lunch we can highly recommend SOHO South Cafe on Liberty Street (?)!

By Susanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2006

Will be back!

We loved our stay at the Gastonian. From check in to check out we felt pampered and experienced the well known Southern Hospitality. Breakfast each morning is just a delight! Homecooked food, lots of varieties and a wonderful time to meet people. Unfortunately we missed the tea time each afternoon but I am sure it would have been as great as the rest! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The city of Savannah is a true charm. We loved it!

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2006

Perfection!

Loved it!

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2006

Fantastic

We had a wonderful 10 year anniversary at the Gastonian. The staff arranged everything for us including a private carriage tour with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries & bed of roses for turndown. Our room was beautifully decorated and had an oversized whirlpool tub (and fireplace!)! Hopefully we will be back before our 20 year anniversary.

By Antonia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2006

Beautiful B&B

My fiancee and I found the Gastonian after we stayed a night at the horrible Mansion on Forsyth Park. We thought about leaving the Savannah completly but are very happy now that we did not. The Gastonian is 100% Southern Hospitality. The staff is wonderful and very knowledgable, the food is perfect and the rooms in great condition. I was nosy and looked at some of the other rooms (they leave the doors to the unoccupied rooms open) and was surprised

to see a different decor in each room - just wonderful. Not like in a large hotel were one rooms looks like the next. We will be back next year.

Read More

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2005

Best B&B ever!!!!

My girlfriend and I enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Gastonian. What a special place it is. We had a newly renovated room on the second floor and could not believe all the amenities offered to us - including wireless internet access. I think I had my very best breakfast ever at the Gastonian and the staff is most welcoming and well informed. We can highly recommend it!

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2005

Great romantic weekend

We have had the best time for our 5 year anniversary. This place is truely wonderful, awesome food and super service. They helped us with everything from locating our lost luggage to making a perfect itineray. The breakfast is absolutely first class. We will come back next year for sure.

By Carla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2005

The Motel 6 of B&B's

Totally Cheesy, Looks impressive from the street, but once you get inside it's falling apart. This is a very pretty lady with a very dirty face. It's like they tried to do a remodel job on a beautiful historic home with materials from home depot. Go to the Foley House or Ballastone.

By Darrell

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2004

Only the Best for the Best!!!!!!

Three days, four nights of luxurious hospitality. Never has the saying "Southern Hospitality" been so clearly defined in any other bed and breakfast. The Gastonian has earned its rights to being apart of the elite Relias & Chateaux. From the moment we enter to our departure never have I or my wife receive such grand service. We recieved beautiful and such welcoming smiles from each employee regardless of what time of day it was. And the breakfast.......

oh my, the breakfast was extraordinary. I had the pleasure of having my first taste of a poached egg served on top of a grilled tomatoe and creamed spinach on top of a toasted bread with green onion sauce. Now I have a another preferred way of having my eggs. The smell of that deep down south bacon became my alarm clock every morning. There was no way I could sleep or anyone can sleep late with that devine smell fillling up there room. And the homemade grit, the cooks have proven that they are not just mere chefs when it comes to cooking, more so they are magicians. Finally, if the service didn't make us feel especailly significant already, our room did the rest making us feel more first-rated then we have ever felt. The Gastonian did more then just give us a place to rest our heads and makes us feel as much at home as possible, they also made us feel like we were the most vital people in the world. Indeed the Gastonian is the place to feel and be pampered. Shame on anyone who tries anything else!!!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2004

Lovin' it

I had such a wonderful stay! Coming all the way from Toronto, Ontario to enjoy beautiful Savannah, I couldn't have picked a better place than the Gastonian. The service was excellent, the staff helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere, vibrant. And the scones! - such delicious scones! I will definitely be back for my next visit - so glad that the Ballastone messed up my reservations - couldn't have ended up in a better place.

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2004

The Idealistic Savannah Experiance

WOW is the only word to describe this place. It encaptures Savannah and it's ideals in one hotel. The artistic beauty and historic artifacts throughout the inn make anyone feel at home and right back in Historic Savannah

By May

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2003

what a joke!

I would only recommend this property to someone who wants to pay WAY TOO MUCH for a snotty attitude, and CRAP service. They do not respond to e-mail or online inquiries... ever! I tried for a month and no call or e-mail. Their phone manners are not much better. Save your money and go elsewhere.

By E

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2001

Romantic Getaway

Definitely a wonderful place to go with your significant other. It was very romantic. The staff was very helpful with rest. reservations and sight-seeing suggestions. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement