Savannah Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Ballastone Inn

At a Glance

    Pros

  • excellent location
  • romantic atmosphere
  • the inn's suites are magnificently appointed

    Cons

  • limited off-street parking
  • this busy downtown area can be noisy

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Ballastone Inn Review

Guests come for a step back into the Victorian era at this sumptuous inn on the National Register of Historic Places featuring rooms furnished with antiques and fine reproductions; luxurious, scented linens, and French down blankets on canopied beds; and a collection of original framed prints from Harper's scattered throughout. Garden (ground-floor) rooms are smaller but cozy, with exposed brick walls, beamed ceilings, and, in some cases, windows at eye level with the lush courtyard. Most rooms in the inn, which occupies an 1838 mansion that once served as a bordello, have working gas fireplaces, and three have whirlpool tubs. The aroma of fresh flowers permeates the air. Afternoon tea is served from a silver set and on fine china, the evening social hour features hors d'oeuvres, and a full Victorian bar stocks boutique wines. In-room massage treatments can be arranged through two nearby day spas.

    Hotel Details

  • 13 rooms, 3 suites.
  • Rate includes breakfast.
  • Credit cards accepted.
  • N/A.
Updated: 11-29-2012

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Winter Wedding

    We booked the Ballastone Inn to host our wedding guests while they stayed in Savannah. It was the most wonderful experience for all of us! The Ballastone itself was decorated exsquisitely for the holidays with the perfect blend of elegance and comfort. The entire staff was incredible! They were friendly, accomodating and welcoming to each of our guests and assited with booking tours, transportation, and offering great recommendations for shopping and dining. The cozy, intimate atmosphere was warm and relaxing allowing for our families and friends to comfortably visit. Everyone had a fantastic stay and it will be an event that we will all remember for a lifetime!

    by KariTRMorton, 12/31/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ballastone Inn Review

    This was our second time here and we enjoyed it as much as the first. The staff is always helpful and informed. The food was as good as any 4 star hotel we have stayed at, but with the personal touch of the Ballastone. Great location in the historic district and within easy walking distance of everything. Take their advice and have the best meal anywhere at the Alegator Soul rest. 5 blocks away.

    by Edward_Gilmore, 5/15/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ballastone Inn Review

    We recently stayed for a weekend get-away just the two of us. What a wonderful inn! We had no problems with parking despite the St. Patrick'd Day weekend. The staff had anticipated our arrival and arranged for a parking spot for us. The room was roomy for a B & B and overlooked the private garden courtyard. The staff accomodated every request we made and were very friendly. They even saved us front row seats for the parade so we could join it at our leisure! We will definitely return. If you're looking for a beautiful inn get-away, don't hesitate choosing the Ballastone.

    by thetierneys, 3/23/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ballastone Inn Review

    Our third stay, and each better than the last.

    Staying here is similar to what it is like to stay with comfortable friends.
    Each room is very beautifully appointed with some breathtaking antiques; and best of all, you feel that you are so welcome and appreciated that this will be a repeating destination for the rest of your life's travels.

    Our best B&B experience(s) ever!

    by iclaudius, 2/29/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ballastone Inn Review

    to really understand the meaning of pampering, check into the Ballastone Inn. we happened to arrive at 2:45 am and the innkeeper, jennifer, was waiting for us outside. she showed us to our room, helped us settle in, then left. we found out later that morning, she told the staff to let us sleep in , then give us breakfest whenever we showed up. the location is centered in the historical distric so everyplace was a 15-20 minute walk. the tour bus stop was right outside. the architecture was marvelous both in the Inn and all around the city. the local natives were "extremely" friendly. skip Paula Deen's restaurant and go to the Sapphire Grille right next door.

    by po8eer, 7/8/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ballastone Inn Review

    We stayed at the Ballastone Inn from 12-26 to 12-28-10 and got married in their parlor on 12-27-10. It is the most beautiful, amazing place we have ever stayed. I cried when we left because I didn't want to ever leave! The staff is all incredibly friendly and take care of every need...Many times without even being asked. It is extremely clean. Every detail is attended to. We stayed in The Victoria Suite, extremely spacious, fireplace was amazing, and whirlpool tub was a blast! The food is among some of the best we ever had also (I even took pictures of it because it was so great) and the afternoon teas are a true treat. Everyone speaks to you, seems to know who you are. Genuine people! They made our wedding unforgettable! It was perfect! We will spend every wedding anniversary in this place! Can't wait! You won't be dissapointed here. It is worth every cent.

  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ballastone Inn Review

    Even though it was the day before St Patricks Day (we were not aware that Savannah has the 2nd largest St Pat's parade in North America and consequently, it's very busy)-the staff was fabulous and the accomodations were as elegant and wonderful as we expected. Thank you Ballastone

    by rsavlsav, 4/6/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Ballastone Inn Review

    We had a wonderful stay at Ballastone. The accommodations were very comfortable and inviting. The food was great and the people were very friendly.

    by LHohman, 10/30/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Romantic and cozy

    I totally enjoyed my stay at Ballastone Inn. It was extremely cozy and romantic. The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help. There was no request they did not help us with. We will definitely stay there again in the near future.

    by JHT128, 9/4/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Feels like home to me

    Great! Stayed more than once. Outstanding accomodations and the service is unmatched. Look to go back again soon!

    by cmorgan3, 9/2/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Savannah's Best B&B

    The Ballastone Inn has far exceeded my expectations. I stayed at the Victoria Suite and my parents stayed at the Gazebo Suite. The rooms were spacious and meticulously clean. They were designed with taste and attention to detail. The quality of the service was impeccable. The staff was very friendly, pleasant and knowledgeable. My compliments to the chef on breakfast and tea time. The Inn itself is magnificant. Exquisitely decorated 18th century mansion full of antiques and parlors. I will definitely recommend the Ballastone Inn to all considering visiting Savannah.

    by mtpala, 7/9/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Great Destination for a Weekend Away

    From the minute you enter the Inn you are awed by the atmosphere and the decor. We selected the Inn as our destination for a girls’ weekend get a way. Through our stay we were treated like royalty by the wonderful staff. They took care of all our requests and questions with a warm smile and quick response. High tea was one of the high points of my stay, the homemade blueberry scones served with lemon custard curd was simply delicious. When you visit Savannah this Inn should be top of your list for stay.

    by ClaudiaB, 5/2/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The perfect getaway

    The atmosphere was amazing, especially the afternoon tea. This was a great time to relax and chat with friends and family before dinner. The scones and treats were truly enjoyable. The staff was superb.

    by lorag, 5/1/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Pricey but was worth every dollar

    WOW.... This property is awesome everything was perfect. The staff treated us like we were their only guest. I can't wait to go back. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

    by Velma1500, 9/20/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Repeat Visit

    This is my fifth visit to the Ballastone, so that says it all. If you stay here, expect to be pleased.

    by lmandrews, 9/11/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A worthy extravagance

    My recent to visit to Savannah in the heat of August proved charming nonetheless, because of our stay at the Ballastone. I felt completely comfortable, yet pampered. The inn is gracious and luxurious, yet not stuffy.

    by KathyMack1, 8/26/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Special place for a wife's special birthday

    My wife and I are not normally B&B people..but this was simply out of this world. My wife likes to say that she would not stay anywhere that is not as nice as our home...this truly met her standards..Her special birthday was made better by the special attention of staff, beautiful surroundings and perfect breakfast..could not have asked for a better experience. we shall be back every year..PS. They arranged a great tour and made dinner reservations at a great restaurant...We adored Savannah because of the Inn.

    by sjelaw, 1/31/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Graet place

    Without question, the best hotel experience we have ever had. Jocelyn and Melissa were WONDERFUL. The Ballastone Inn is the true representation of Southern charm, hospitality, and elegance.

    by dqeiland, 11/21/06

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Savannah

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories