Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Savannah Hotels

Gastonian

  • 220 E. Gaston St. Map It
  • Historic District
  • Local Flavor
  • Fodor's Choice
Check Rates

Pros

  • Cordial and caring staff
  • Hot breakfast is hard to beat
  • Afternoon tea and wine and cheese at night

Cons

  • Accommodations on the third floor are a climb
  • Some of the furnishings are less than regal

Updated 10/02/2014

Fodor's Review

Guest rooms—many of which are exceptionally spacious—in this atmospheric Italianate inn dating from 1868 all have fireplaces and are decorated with a mix of funky finds and antiques from the Georgian and Regency periods. In a second building, identical to the main house, the Lafayette Room has the most noteworthy fireplace; the Caracalla Suite is named for the oversize whirlpool tub built in front of its fireplace; the Juliette Low room has a private wrought-iron balcony

looking out on the treetops. The handsome and quiet Eli Whitney room is one of the least expensive. Fresh flowers throughout and the outdoor covered arbor are unexpected pleasures. Afternoon tea, complimentary wine with cheese and hors d'oeuvres, and evening desserts and cordials are among the treats. At breakfast you can order such hot entrées as omelets with creamed spinach and goat cheese.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

220 E. Gaston St., Savannah, Georgia, 31401, United States

Map It

Phone:

912-232–2869; 800-322–6603

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 15 rooms, 2 suites
  • Rate includes Breakfast

Updated 10/02/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Savannah

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2009

Gastonian Review

We loved our stay at the Gastonian! We stayed a night a the Elizatbeth Thompson House (a sister hotel) and the two do not compare at all. The Gastonian was beautiful, the staff very knowledgeable and our room large and sunny! The food was always delicious and we had a great time meeting other guests. We really enjoyed our stay.

By nutecht

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 20, 2009

Gastonian Review

My fiance and I stayed at the Gastonian on our visit to Savannah to plan our wedding. It was a rainy, chilly weekend and coming home to the Gastonian was always the highlight to our days. Being able to turn on the fireplace in our room and warm up was wonderful. The Inn was also decorated beautifully for the holidays. Our room was charming and the bed was ultra comfortable. Breakfast, tea time and desserts were each excellent. All of the staff

from Melanie, the Inn Keeper who greeted us warmly, to the Concierges, Bellman and the Chef are the epitome of southern hospitality. Our stay was relaxing, and just what we needed. We can't wait to go back!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2009

Fantastic vacation

We had a wonderful time at the Gastonian. We stayed in the Sheftall Room and couldn't have asked for better accommodations! The satff was great and very friendly - especially Walter (thanks again!!!). Breakfast and the tea time were a delight each day with many more choices that you would expect from a B&B. The city is absolutely amazing - great dining, shopping and antiqueing - we will definetly go back someday.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2008

Perfect Fit for Savannah

Elegant Bed and Breakfast that embodies the Old Southern Charm that people flock to Savannah to see. Why stay in a stuffy hotel room that you can stay at anywhere, when you can stay at the Gastonian? From the beautiful antique furniture to the delicious gourmet breakfast to the helpful staff it is a dream to stay here. My husband and I just celebrated our anniversary and we couldn't be more pleased. We had a horse drawn carriage pick us up at

the front of the Gastonian and ride us through the historic district and drop us off at the Ol' Pink House where the concierge had recommended and made reservations for us. The food was to die for (especially the She Crab Soup) and the atmosphere was very elegant for a semicasual restaurant. Upon departure from the resteraunt we had a cab waiting to take us back. We had absolutely no problems with the staff. They were always friendly and helpful. We had turn down service every night and our rooms were always thoroughly clean every afternoon when we returned from a day out. Breakfast was delivered to our room on time every morning (no extra charge other than a voluntary tip) and the only complaint was that the grits were a bit salty one morning. The hors dourves were delicious in the afternoon and I loved the peanut butter cookie sandwiches that were among the light desserts at night. Bottled water and Sodas were complimentary however I wish there was an ice machine in the second building. All in all, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting the full "Old South" Savannah experience.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2008

stay somewhere else

The real shame of this place is the staff --- requested dinner reservations were never made after 2 requests, problems with our room were not fixed, The location is fair & the room were fair as well --- a location farther toward the river but still above broughton would be a better location

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2007

There must be better places to stay in Savannah...

We spent three nights at the Gastonian in May and I can't recommend enough that you stay somewhere else. Our bed was bowed in the middle and clearly the mattress and box spring needed replacement. The bathroom was oddly configured. The toilet was packed into a tight space against a wall and the fan didn't work. Plus the bath/shower was rotted and there were bugs living in the rail under the sliding door. Housekeeping forgot to replace some of

our towels one day. On the day before we left they didn't bother with our turn-down service. The breakfast each day was incredibly mediocre and served by a staff that seemingly could have cared less that we were there. I kept wondering why the Gastonian thought this experience was worth charging $300/night. Please take my advice and stay elsewhere. I simply was not impressed.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement