Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Atlanta Hotels

Atlanta Marriott Marquis

Pros

  • Great views
  • Convenient to public transportation

Cons

  • Lobby noise can carry to the lower floors
  • Parking is over $30 a day

Updated 10/15/2012

Fodor's Review

Immense and coolly contemporary, the building seems to go up forever as you stand under the lobby's huge fabric sculpture, which hangs from the skylighted roof 47 stories above. Guest rooms open onto this atrium. Fresh flowers fill the major suites: one has a baby grand piano and another comes with a pool table. You don't even have to walk outside to reach the Peachtree Center MARTA station; it's connected via an indoor walkway.

Hotel Information

Address:

265 Peachtree Center Ave., Atlanta, Georgia, 30303, USA

Map It

Phone:

404-521–0000; 888-855–5701

Website: www.marriott.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,569 rooms, 94 suites
  • No meals; Breakfast

Updated 10/15/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Atlanta

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2012

Fun for a conference hotel

This is not a hotel that I would choose for an anniversary celebration, but it works well as a conference hotel. The elevators are plenty and quick. Meeting rooms are laid out logically. There is an inexpensive food court across the street. There is a covered overhead walkway to get to the food court and Marta. My pet peeves: Internet is not free- even for Marriott rewards members. The tap water tastes like metal. (Bring bottled.)

By C3pon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2012

Wonderful in every way!

I stay at this property annually for a convention. The rooms are well kept, clean and wonderfully decorated. The only downside is they are a bit small. The hotel is a work of art. I really appreciated this fact during my last visit when I stayed in a suite on the 46th floor. Looking down is one of the most impressive sights! The VIP Lounge for the suites is outstanding! I would highly recommend this hotel for a business trip.

By Lance

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2006

Busy convention hotel

This hotel is like checking into a major airport. Long lines, aweful staff, small smelly rooms, the only good thing was the lobby, that's it. For $200 a night, you can find much nicer options in Atlanta.

By cedric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2006

marriott marquis----WONDERFULLLLLL

we spent a weekend there and it was superb.excellent room service,excellent staff,kids had a wonderful time,family friendly.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2006

Not a good hotel

On new years eve we stayed here (my wife and I) and were amazed at how crowded the hotel was, not enough staff to handle the crowds at the front desk (check in took forever), the room service was very expensive ($100 for lunch for two people), and was not delivered quickly, we waited and waited and finally called to inquire about our order (they didn't discount the bill). Rates very quite a bit new years was $299, the night after $199 so the hotel

charges top dollar when there is an event in town. Rooms are very standard, i've stayed in Hampton and Holiday Inn's that had nicer rooms. For the cost, there are much better options in the city.

Read More

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2006

A lovely experience

After reading previous comments on this site and others, I contacted the hotel prior to arrival to express my concerns. The manager, Erika, promptly returned my call, and told me that she'd personally guarantee that we would have a great stay. I didn't see or hear from Erika at all during our stay, but didn't need to. Our room (35th floor) was very clean and looked as though the furnishings were quite new. We had no problems with noise, our view

was lovely, and the hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. We would probably stay in Buckhead next trip, but if we needed to be downtown, we'd happily return to the Marriott.

Read More

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2005

BAD BAD BAD!

I had to stay here for six painful nights this past October for a business trip. The hotel is just terrible. It took 30 mins to check in, had to carry my own luggage to my room, the elevators take forever as does the valet parking service. (which is $20 a day).....My room was SMALL, dingy, and at night all I could hear was the echo of the lobby...However, the hotel is not cheap at $199.00 a night, weekends are $129. Next time im staying at the Ritz

for $50 more a night.

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2005

BEWARE - Construction Noise - Awful !

We spent one night on the 24th floor. They are currently doing construction on the 25th ~ 30th floors. If you are unlucky enough to get placed any higher that the 15th floor, I would suggest finding another hotel, if you want to sleep. We awoke to loud shovelling, hammering and banging, directly overhead. By the time we checked out ( as quickly as we could shower & dress ) there was jack-hammering ! I still cannot believe that a hotel (especially

one that has the appearance of a high quality hotel ) would book rooms directly under construction, and did not inform us, when we checked in. If that wasn't bad enough, the the shower was awful, too. It was a choice between water pressure or water temperature - correct pressure equalled cold water, correct temperature gave not enough pressure to rinse off, properly. We also encountered a large wet spot on the carpet next to the bed, and an empty vending machine on our floor. As we checked out, I stopped at the front desk and complained, but was met with a blank stare and no apology or sense of concern. I filled out a room survey, as well, and have yet to hear from the hotel ( 2 weeks later ). Overall, it was an awful stay, and I will never stay there, again.

Read More

By Kristin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2003

Nice Place, Great location!

Stayed here and loved it! Loved the fact that it was close to many of the attracations. I plan on going here again soon and highly recommend it!

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2002

Best Sleep Ive Had In A Decade

Their beds were so comfortable. It was better than my own home. Also the in room data ports were faster than my T-1 connection at home. It was great.

By JR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2002

Ain't nothing like the real thing, baby.

Downtown Atlanta and no Coke in the bar, only Pepsi. At least they had peanuts.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement