Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Restaurants

Hollywood Brown Derby

  • $$$$
  • American

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

At this reproduction of the famous 1940s Hollywood restaurant, the walls are lined with movie-star caricatures, just as in Tinseltown. The specialty is the Cobb salad, which by legend was invented by Brown Derby founder Robert Cobb; the salad consists of finely chopped lettuce enlivened by loads of tomato, bacon, turkey, blue cheese, chopped egg, and avocado, all tossed table-side. Other menu choices include grilled salmon with black beluga lentil stew and and lemon-thyme

sabayon, and filet of beef with white truffle oil forest mushroom mashed potatoes. Dining with an Imagineer is a special option; you will have lunch or dinner with one of Disney's creative engineers while enjoying a set-price four-course meal including soup, salad, entrée, and dessert. If you request the Fantasmic! dinner package, make a reservation for no later than two hours before the start of the show.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Hollywood Blvd., Walt Disney World, Florida, 32830, USA

Phone:

407-939–3463

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 04/30/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By dtolman

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2006

Probably best place to eat at MGM park

This is probably the best of the eating options at the MGM park. Food is pretty good, service is OK, and the ambiance is nice. Outside of the theme park this would die a slow death, with the lack of specials and general over pricing - but for where it is, its decent.

By Neil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2006

Underwhelming!

Slow service, irrelevant reservations, food underwhelming and rudely overpriced! Skip it! Thank me later.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2005

Avoid if possible - surprised this act not yet cancelled

I hate to do this to Mickey and the Gang (because I am a HUGE Disney fan), but I feel compelled to say that Brown Derby simply does not live up to the generally high (or at least consistent) Disney experience. Despite having reservations and observing a nearly empty restaurant, we (and everyone else there) had to wait quite some time for seating, and then the wait staff was inexcusably slow throughout the meal. On top of that, the food is average,

at best, and my wife could literally not even swallow certain of her dishes due to poor cooking. Unfortunately, our experience at this locale was echoed by my parents, who had visited previously but did not want to cloud my judgement based on what they assumed was an aberration of poor service and poor food. And one small additional thing - the A/C was too high.

Read More

By Judith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2004

Watch Out!

Be careful, this place is so highly rated that it causes a lot of disappointment. There are better restaurants in MGM that don't require the price or the time commitment. My family waited a long time for a table, a hour, with virtually no wait at any other MGM restaurant other than the Sci-Fi Dine in Theatre. They really push the Cobb Salad on you whether you want it or not. Even my fruit salad had that dressing, yuck!

By Theresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2003

Cobb Salad

You haven't had a Cobb Salad until you try theirs. Definitely add this one to your list of places to eat while in Disney.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2003

Classy!

This was an unplanned lunch stop before we had to leave for the airport to fly home. So glad we stopped in. And it was only a 5 minute wait! Very classy place and great food. Pretty expensive though, but a nice treat to an end of a wonderful vacation!

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2002

Eat with the stars

Modelled on the Hollywood original, this is great fun. More important it's great food. Try and get a table in an alcove. Leave space for some sensational puddings. If you want to go and watch Fatasmic, you can jump the queues by buying a Brown Derby/Fantasmic deal. But you can only book it 7 days before you want to go to Fantasmic. Then enjoy your meal, walk to Fanstamic with a special ticket and enjoy the show. Just tell them I sent you!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement