Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Restaurants

50's Prime Time Café

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Who says you can't go home again? If you grew up in middle America in the 1950s, just step inside. While I Love Lucy and The Donna Reed Show clips play on a television screen, you can feast on meat loaf, pot roast, or fried chicken, all served on a Formica tabletop. At $16, the meat loaf is one of the best inexpensive, filling dinners in any local theme park. Enjoy it with a malted-milk shake or root-beer float (or a bottle of wine). The place offers some

fancier dishes, like the olive oil–poached salmon, which is a good choice for lighter eaters. If you're not feeling totally wholesome, go for Dad's Electric Lemonade (rum, vodka, blue curaçao, sweet-and-sour mix, and Sprite), which is worth every bit of the $10.75 price tag. Just like Mother, the menu admonishes, "Keep your elbows off the table."

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Echo Lake, Walt Disney World, Florida, 32830, USA

Phone:

407-939–3463

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 04/30/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2008

Enter Leave it to Beaver

The first sit down restaraunt we ate at after our arrival at WDW. Attempted to reserve at the Drive-In but was booked solid when we started looking for eating options at MGM. Reserved at the'50s Prime Time Café but still had a 45 minute wait. Was seated and instantly we were transported back to the white bread 1950's complete with tables, decor and appliances right out of that time. The service was very friendly and made up for the long wait.

Menu is very similar to Black-eyed Pea. If not on the meal plan this is a good deal for a family.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2005

Felt just like home

simply put had to be about the coolest restaurant ive ever been in..another great job by disney

By Donald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2004

Not Like Mom Used to Make

This is typical Disney -- thoroughly average food, served in a rushed environment, at aggressive prices. The only thing it really has going for it is the experience. You really will feel like you're back in Ward Cleaver's kitchen, and all of the servers I saw were uniformally attentive and friendly. The food was nothing to rave about but, hey, you're probably not there for the food anyway. On balance, I'm happy I experienced it once, but I probably

wouldn't go back again.

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2003

like a (crazy) family

Fun vibe and chatty servers.

By Theresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2003

Best ice-cream shakes

This is a great place to go for a fun dining experiance. Although we just had burgers, fries and ice-cream shakes. It was one of the best ice-cream shakes and is on my to eat at list each time we go to Disney. I know it sounds strange, but try the PeanutButter and Jelly ice-cream shake. It's incredible!!

By rebecca

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2003

props on the 50's theme

The theme was great and everything was played out perfectly. I have to state it was really pricey considering the food. The entrees were kind of dry and mine was cold. I can at least say the milk shakes were good ,but again pricey! It's a good place if you don't mind the price the atmosphere is great. Otherwise this place "got's sum splainin' to do!"

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2003

If You Don't Want To Have A Good Time-- Don't Go

My husband and I really enjoyed this restaurant. A fun place to eat and watch television...just don't put your elbows on the table. That's a real no-no at Mom's. We were chatting away while waiting for our food and out of nowhere comes, "Hey, Alaska, get your elbows off the table." Okay. :) We're going back in February 2004...can't wait to have some more fun.

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2003

Elbows Off the Table!

Great fun place to eat and one of the better Disney restaurants! The food is very good and priced right! However, keep those elbows off the table or you are in for some dinner-time fun!

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2003

Fantastic 50's

This place is great. Made such a nice change from the usual burger and fries. Great food, great staff - a completely unique experience.

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2002

The place to go at MGM

MGM only has a few places to pick from for a sit-down lunch, and this is the most fun. The staff has a great time with the "family dinner" theme, and you will, too. The food is better than the grab-n-go stuff you get elsewhere in the park, but it's average as far as restaurants go. Go for the fun, and make sure to keep your elbows off the table! (Don't say I didn't warn you!) The prices are high, but when was the last time anything at Disney didn't

cost a few extra dollars?

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2002

An absolute hoot!! Highly recommend it

We stumbled into it not having any prior knowledge of it. (we were just hungry) Oh, my, gosh! It was so fun they could have served us worms and we would have eaten it. Actually the food was great but the cast members were fabulous. The set designers must have been in my childhood home.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2001

What a blast!

So much fun for a family meal! Waitress acts like your mother- "eat your vegetables or you can't have dessert!" Food was decent home style cooking, but you go for the atmosphere. Very fun!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement