Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Shades of Green

Pros

  • Large standard rooms
  • On Disney's shuttle bus line
  • Army–Air Force Exchange store discounts deeply for people with military IDs

Cons

  • Prices vary based on rank

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Operated by the U.S. Armed Forces Recreation Center, this resort in the heart of Disney is open only to active-duty and retired personnel from the armed forces, reserves, and National Guard; active civilian employees of the Department of Defense; widows or widowers of service members; disabled veterans; and Medal of Honor recipients. The resort has just completed extensive renovations to the pool, lobby, and rooms, and offers standard rooms, family suites for up to eight adults, 23 ADA rooms, and a Wounded Warrior Suite. Two pools are surrounded by expansive decks, lush, tropical foliage, and three golf courses. There's also a full-service spa and enough space for weddings and family reunions. The resort is a short distance from the Polynesian, where you can hop on the monorail.

Hotel Information

Address:

1905 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-824–3600; 888-593–2242

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 585 rooms, 12 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Nonnie6

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2008

Great Place

I have stayed at Shades of Green 3 times now and I am staying again in a week. The value is unbeatable. All of my stays have been good. The rooms are large and clean, great for families. And if you golf, this is for you also! It is placed between 2 of the Disney courses. The food was great, the pools are nice, the busses take you to all of the Disney parks and Downtown Disney, you can rent a car for other trips or just snag a taxi! You have

to be Military, active or retired, or other gov't agencies. The room charge is by your rank. I have never taken kids with us, we are older. But the kids I see there are all having fun! I recommend this resort highly. Just a nice place, great help, and we love it.

Read More

By duke158

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2007

It's the Best You Can Get For the Money

You can't beat the price for the room size and location. The rooms are very large, clean, in good condition, and with large bathrooms. The lighting isn't the best in the bathroom so bring a lighted make up mirror. However, there is very little sound proofing, even in the new section. I could hear the women sneezing in the next room and strange noises from their bathroom. I could also hear the people on the floor above me. If a quiet room is what you

want/need then don't stay at the Shades of Green. The food in each resturant on the property is horrible and the service is not good. Save your money and stock up at the little BX or eat some place else. The transportation is ok. It's not as nice as the Disney busses. The Shades of Green busses are pretty beat up and some of the drivers are pretty odd/scary. It takes a few go arounds to get used to the bus schedule. The bus to the Transportation Center, where you take other transportation to the Magic Kingdom or Epcot, leaves every 15 minutes. The busses that leave to go to MGM and the other parks only leave one time each hour and pick up once an hour. If you are looking for transporation that works on your schedule and not their's I would suggest another resort. I did like the fact Shades of Green has a Hertz Rental Car on site. It was easy to grab a car and go off Dinsey property for the day. I stayed at Shades of Green in December 2006 and I am planning another trip for later this year. I will be staying at a different Magic Kingdom resort. It may cost more but between the noisy rooms, lack of clean busses, and horrible food, it's worth it to me.

Read More

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2005

One of the Best

Hotel is superb, service is outstanding, however, the morning buffet still needs a little work. You won't find a better value anywhere.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2005

GGGrrreeeaaat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My wife and I have stayed here many times. it is EXCELLANT!!!!

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2005

This is owned by the Army??

Hotel is outstanding, service is superb. Almost the best kept secret in the USA. All Department of Defense personnel and retirees should take advantage of this hotel.

By Erika

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2000

A Great Military Perk...

My husband & I went to the Shades of Green for 12 days on our honeymoon in 1995 and we have been back 3 times since! For the location, hotel, service, room, and especially the prices, we will stay no where else in Orlando except the Shades of Green. My husband being in the military and being able to enjoy the great price of the room, food, souveneirs, and park passes is certainly a superb reason to keep going back. The staff is so friendly and will

do anything for you. The costs are extremely reasonable and we did not even need a car when we were there since the Shades of Green has their own shuttle bus that takes you back/forth to the Ticket & Transportation Center. A few times we did walk to the TTC ourselves (the S.O.G. is right across the street from Disney's Polynesian Resort). The rooms at the S.O.G. are quite large and the pools and restaurants are good also. If you are in the Military, this is the hotel to be at in Disney. A word to the wise though, at such a great deal, the rooms book up quickly. We have always booked our reservations 9-12 months in advance to make sure we were guaranteed a room.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement