Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Disney's Polynesian Resort

  • 1600 Seven Seas Dr. Map It
  • Design

Pros

  • On the monorail
  • Great atmosphere
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Pricey
  • Not good for those bothered by lots of loud children

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

You may not think you're in Fiji, but families with kids can have fun pretending in this South Pacific-themed resort directly across the lagoon from the Magic Kingdom, especially after hearing the drumming and chanting that occasionally fill the three-story atrium of the Great Ceremonial House—aka the lobby—or, in the case of the adults in the party, downing a few of the tropical drinks available at the bar. Orchids bloom alongside palms and banana trees, and water

cascades from volcanic-rock fountains. At the evening luau, Polynesian dancers perform. Lagoon-view rooms—which overlook Magic Kingdom fireworks—are peaceful but costly.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1600 Seven Seas Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, United States

Map It

Phone:

407-824–2000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 847 rooms, 5 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2008

Very disappointed

We stayed over the 4th of July weekend and in additon to poorly lit rooms, we had to wait ove an hour for a pre-reserved table at Ohanas.The swiiming pool and beach area was open to the public, who didn't have to pay the hotel prices of staying there, and who took up seats that left my family standing. They brought food from a local walmart and threw garbage on the beach. The parking lot area was full of bottles and garbage. Not worht the proces to

stay there

Read More

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2006

High Price, Low Level Service

The last time I was in Orlando and went to Walt Disney World was way back in 1985.We could not wait to go back, and based on the photos online, the Polynesian looked the nicest and appeared to have the "tropical florida" feel to it. Well, simply put the photos online are misleading. First off, the hotel is crowded, and I don't mean a few long lines, it felt like I was at the airport, people were all over the place, I know it's Disney world, but the

hotel needs better crowd control, not all these people were guests at this hotel, some just came to use the pool. The room was the second problem, our $400 per night room was not at all like you would expect for that steep price, the bedspred had stains, and the room had a faint smell of cigarette smoke, but we just accepted the room and made the best of it. The worst encounter we had was when we decided to go swim in the pool, I was amazed at how dirty it was, beer cans, cigarette buts, dirty cups and plates left around, and there were no pool attendents to serve drinks or anything. After two nights here we decided to check out and move to new Gaylord Palms Resort which is like a different would compared to the Polynesian. The best part was the Gaylord is nicer, and about $100 a night less than the Polynesian. Don't get fooled into booking the Disney hotels by the photos and claim of "magical service" it simply is not true.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2006

Nice hotel, TERRIBLE STAFF-Very Rude and Unfriendly

The concierge(s) are very rude and not helpful what so ever. They smile and put on a show but at the end of the day, terrible! In fact, after a 7 night stay, we found only one employee that actually smiled and said hello without our "hello" first. The employees would rather look down and away than speak to you. Not worth the money. Go elsewhere.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2005

A Holiday Inn at Five Star Prices!

The Polynesian is just a fancy Holiday Inn charging five star rates. "Concierge" rooms are the most expensive at over $500 per night, and we got sucked in to reserving one of these by the reservations agent. What a mistake, outdated decor, VERY NOISY room, dirty room service trays left in the hallway, a television that would not work, and the list goes on and on. This hotel should not charge more than $200 a night, it's a complete and total rip-off!!

Stay at the Hyatt Grand Cypress or Marriott Orlando World Center, much, much nicer and only about $199 a night.

Read More

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2005

This place is awful....

I just got back from a 4-day Disney vacation. We stayed at the Polynesian for the first 2 nights, we ended up switching to the JW Marriott. The Polynesian is a dump, absolutely no redeeming qualities with the exception of location. Disney should be ashamed to have their name associated with this "resort". The staff was pleasant yet, untrained and useless. The rooms were overpriced, dated and dirty. Disney needs to blow this place up and start

over again. There is no reason anyone should ever stay here.

Read More

By tori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2005

old and run down...not worth the price

we stayed at the polynesian for spring break in the concierge room. they did not get our rate correct and still haven't, even though i had my confirmation! The rooms were rundown and dirty. I did not see any ambiance at all in the hotel. Would stay at Grand Floridian or the Contemporary if I had to do it again!

By Mickey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2004

Go for the Location... Not the Property

Just returned from a 4-night stay at this resort. I can pretty much sum it up by saying that if this hotel were in any other location on earth the rooms would be $100 per night. The buildings are about 30 years and despite good upkeep by the Disney folks the place is starting to show it's age. Our AC never really worked, the remote to the TV was busted.... you get the idea. On the positive side it's a short boat ride (which is fun) away from the

Magic Kingdom and the monorail runs right past the resort so you can easily get to Epcot as well. I would suggest only staying at this resort is proximity to the Magic Kingdom is a top priority. We visited other disney properties (like the Animal Kingdom lodge) that are a bit less centrally located, but much new, nicer AND CHEAPER!!! Considering you're going to spend at least $300 a night here I would stay at one of the other Disney properties and use the extra cash to do something extra for the kids.

Read More

By Teresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2003

Summer 2002 Concierge Review

We spent 5 nights last summer at the Polynesian Concierge LV. The resort was very nice, we loved the pool and the view of the castle from our room was magical. However, the room had an odor, the carpeting had stains and was worn, and there was mold in the bathroom. It was very disappointing and not worth the $300 a night we spent.

By Kristi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2003

Hut Quality at Kingdom Rates

We have stayed on the Disney properties 2x. The first at the All-Stars Music which was reasonable for the rates. Therefore, we assumed the Polynesian would be comporable quality=cost. We we shouldn't have assumed. This hotel is "EXTREMELY" outdated. If you can get past the decor don't get trapped in the filth and spider webs in the room. We travel all the time & this has to rank up there with one of our biggest disappoints.

By Maggie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2001

Great Atmosphere

We've stayed at WDW several times over the past 12 years, from the All-Star Sports Resort to the Grand Floridian. We stayed at the Polynesian twice and will be returning this November. The atmosphere is relaxed and kid friendly. My kids love the pool, and now they're renovating it. It should be even better next visit. The concierge staff and lounge are great. We recommend it.

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2001

This resort is just o'kay.

We went over Christmas, and couldn't eat supper on Christmas night because the locals had already booked the resturant. I requested a nonsmoking room and the fumes from the smoking room they gave us bothered my nose all night. They wouldn't let me buy two beers at the bar. I was wanting to bring one to my husband, and so I had to walk all the way back to the pool twice. There were good points though. The Disney Character breakfast was real

nice. Minnie Mouse picked my daughter to lead the follow the leader line. We were able to get in the Magic Kingdom one hour early. The pool was heated to a warm temp. , and my kids enjoyed the waterslide.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2000

Best Location and Atmosphere in the World(Disney that is)

The Polynesian has the most low key atmosphere of all of the Disney's resorts. The windy bush-lined paths between the buildings makes it feel like you've escaped to a tropical island and left the world(and all those screaming kids) behind. If you can request it, try to stay on the west side of the resort and its an easy walk(200 feet?) to the Ticket and Transportation Center. There you can catch a bus to anywhere in the parks or take the monorail

to the Magic Kingdom or Epcot. The advantage over the east-side of the resort(or another monorail resort) is you are so close to the TTC you won't need to catch the monorail from the lobby and then switch monorails to get to Epcot.

Read More

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2000

STILL the place to stay...after all these years!

I first stayed there in 1972 (I was just 9 years old). Stayed there again in 1988 for my honeymoon. Have been to WDW many times since, but the Polynesian is a little out of my price range now that I have 3 kids. If you have the bucks, don't even consider anywhere else!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement