Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

  • Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, Magic Kingdom

    Gene Duncan, photographer

  • Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, Magic Kingdom

    David Roark, photographer

  • Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, Magic Kingdom

    David Roark, photographer

  • Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, Magic Kingdom

    David Roark, photographer

  • Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, Magic Kingdom

    Disney

  • Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, Magic Kingdom

    David Roark, photographer

Pros

  • Old-Florida ambience
  • On the monorail route
  • Victoria &
  • Albert's offers an evening-long experience in dining
  • If you're a couple with no kids, this is definitely the most romantic on-property hotel
  • Right next to Disney's Wedding Pavillion

Cons

  • Pricey
  • Convention clientele and vacationing singles may be more comfortable than families with young children

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

On the shores of the Seven Seas Lagoon, so close to the Magic Kingdom that you can see the colors change on the Cinderella Castle, this red-roofed Victorian emulates the style of the great railroad resorts of the past with beautifully appointed rooms, rambling verandas, delicate, white-painted woodwork, and brick chimneys. Afternoon high tea and a pianist at the grand piano nightly in the lobby are among the more genteel touches. Amenities include a serene spa, gourmet

restaurants, and a dock from which you can rent a yacht for a romantic cruise; you can also take the free water taxi across the lake to the Magic Kingdom. Rooms with Magic Kingdom views are more expensive.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2012

Hotel Information

Address:

4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-824–3000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 867 rooms, 90 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

the great Grand

it is a beautiful resort. The architecture is just wonderful. It give you an idea what the Victorian era was like. You can hop the monorail or take the buses to get anywhere you want to go. The pools are great or you can sit by the lake.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2009

Top of the World, Ma !

Splendid Hotel.The nicely decorated rooms were comfortable and spacious, the staff friendly and accommodating. The winning ticket at the Grand Floridian, though, is it's marvellous Victorian ambience and convenient location. From the moment you arrive you are transported to an opulent and elegant world that simply makes you feel good.The restaurants are excellent,we particularly like Citricos, and Mizner's Lounge provides a relaxing respite from

an otherwise hectic day at the Parks. However none of this comes cheap.The GF is expensive but, all in all, a treat you should afford yourself at least once if your budget allows. If I had one nit to pick it would be that the self parking is 100 yds away over the road from the Hotel whilst the valet parking is nearby. It would be more customer friendly to reverse that arrangement.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2008

The Best, hands down!

My current count of days spent at Disney World in Orlando is 220. So having spent three quarters of a year of my life visiting the house of Mouse in Orlando, you could imagine the excitement at the chance I got to visit the Grand Floridian one trip. I mean this is the best hotel in Orlando, the best hotel at my favorite place in the entire world. I have to say that the rooms were decorated very well and had ample space and a really great balcony.

But the rooms really did not have that wow factor I was looking for. It was good, maybe great but not WOW! Look outside of the rooms and you will find the true reason that this is the flagship hotel in the Reedy Creek Improvement District. From the pools to the restaurants to the amazing lobby to the very help full staff. You really feel like you have stepped back in time to turn of the century Florida. Plus being on the monorail line is something everyone has to do one time in their lives when visiting Disney World. Being 10 minutes from the gates to the Magic Kingdom is magical. Miss Wishes, the night time fireworks? Just go down by the lake where you can sit on a chair and watch from the hotel, complete with all of the music you would hear while in the park. Some advice, from a True Disney Fanatic. Spend the extra money and go to the Grand Floridian, you will not be disappointed.

Read More

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2006

A Good but not Grand Hotel

This hotel serves it's purpose, close to the parks, neat lobby and pools, nice spa. However, it is marketed as a five star luxury resort which it is not. Lots of kids running around (what do you expect, you're at Disney?), average rooms, yawn worthy dining which is really overpriced...This is just a tourist trap, nothing more, save you're money to spend elsewhere.

By Barb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2005

Not Very Grand!

We just returned last night from a 8 day stay at the Grand Floridian. Where should we begin? Well, first off, the "concierge main building" room was not in the best shape. The bathroom shower had a problem draining, and whenever a neighbor flushed the toilet or turned on the shower, it seemed as if it was in our room, it was not a very soundproof room. We ordered room service our first night, and it took FOREVER for it to arrive. They also add on

a "service" charge to the bill which made me so mad. We booked this room was part of a package, so I think we got a slightly discounted room rate, but the room still was almost $600 each night and really not worth it, even the Concierge lounge didn't really have that much food to choose from. Next time, we will try the Peabody Hotel by International Drive.

Read More

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2005

Wish I did'nt stay here for my honeymoon

I won't be returning to this hotel.The restaurants were terrible with the service.Concierge in main building was a total waste of money.They put children in the room next to our "honeymoon room",whose shoes somehow landed on our balcony during our dinner.We were ignored whenever we had a problem. This hotel made the worst memories for us.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2005

Only place to stay at WDW!

THis is a great resort. Everything and everyone here is first class. We stayed on the concierge level in the main building and it was everything we had hoped for and more. However, the whole resort is very nice and I think any room would be great. Highly recomend htis oasis in the middle of WDW!

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2004

Service is lousy!

The Grand Floridian was a disappointment. The rooms were nice but the level of service at the resort was quite poor. Our daughters long-beloved stuffed animal that she sleeps with every night disappeared when the room was cleaned. Apparently, the cleaning crew bundled it up in the sheets and sent it out (they outsource the laundry). They were very unconcerned about it. However, it ruined our trip completely. Our daughter is devastated. Her stuffed

animal was on the pillow so the cleaning crew was very careless to have taken it. It also took forever to check in! We had a confirmed king bed but there were none available. The employees are amazingly unconcerned about the quality of your stay (similar to a Comfort Inn or other budget hotel).

Read More

By TJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2004

Not worth the money

Stayed here expecting a lot and were not happy. The service was sub-par based on what we payed per night. We waited 30 minutes for our bags after waiting 1 1/2 hour to check in. We also waited 45 minutes for a bellman when checking out. Our room was small but clean. however our view was of a maintnance area. The restaurants were good but service was not the greatest. The only exception was Victoria and Alberts. Which was well worth the money.

The pros The spa, the decor and atmosphere and the monorail. We would not stay here again unless we got an exceptional deal. and I doubt that would happen.

Read More

By Ethan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2004

The door was broken!

I stayed there for 5 days in october 2003. The cot sheets said Orlando general hospital! The door was open one night and we waited 3 hours for somebody to come fix it!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2003

Locked-In/Lifetime Memories

Stayed there the first time we visited. Now there's no other place my wife or kids will let us stay. We've been four times and we're going back in February. We've stayed in two-bedroom suites, one-bedroom suites and regular rooms in the out-buildings. There's nothing better than watching your kids enjoy the nightly fireworks show on their balcony. That's a memory that will last a lifetime.

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2003

Grand Floridian is truly as "grand" as they claim

I have stayed at many deluxe hotels and I must say that the Grand Floridian is among the most beautiful! The lobby and grounds are simply gorgeous! The main restaurant had very good food and was reasonably priced (We ate breakfast there almost every day and also had a delicious lunch the fist day we arrived.) The service was a bit slow however. There are only two criticism I have and they are as follows: 1)The room, although beautiful, was a bit

on the small side. 2)The resort is huge, so it would have been very convenient to have more of those golf mobiles around to speed up the process of getting around. When it rains, it can be a drag trying to run to your building! Other than those two criticisms, I can't think of anything else negative to write. The Grand Floridian is truly a wonderful place to stay and I hope to be able to do so again in the future!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2003

Grand Appearance; Average Experience

The Grand Floridian is certainly the most beautiful looking hotel Disney has to offer, however beyond the looks the experience fell flat. My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, and it cost a small fortune, which we expected. We visited during October in the middle of the off-season, and we asked for an up-grade if possible, which was denied. Apparently, the Grand Floridian does not offer free upgrades even if they are available. Unless

you are staying in the main building, which is exquisite (and exquisitely over-priced), you will find yourself in one of a number of out-buildings that are nice, but certainly aren't worth the hefty price. Our room was charming with a very nice bathroom; however, it wasn't what I expected after years of dreaming about staying at the Grand Floridian. The pluses: you are right next door to the Magic Kingdom easily accessible via the Monorail; all other Disney Parks are accessible via shuttle bus service. Also, there aren't as many children, which is great when you want to retreat from the parks. The downside: the hotel is terribly expensive and it gives you absolutely nothing at a discount. The "inexpensive" option for meals and snacks was way overpriced -- you would do better eating at one of the parks. Also the shops and restaurants are so terribly up-scale that if you are searching for something a bit less expensive, you won't find it. For example, at all other Disney hotels that we visited, including the Polynesian, the Animal Kingdom Lodge, and the Contemporary, the gift shops sold snacks and mini-bottles of liquors at reasonable prices. Not so at the Grand Floridian. Gourmet food items, such as candies are available for purchase, but nothing more mainstream. Overall, The Grand Floridian is a beautiful place to hop off the mono-rail and visit, but don't bother staying there unless you have deep pockets and strictly gourmet taste.

Read More

By lis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 17, 2002

Grand Floridian is showing its age

Having just returned from a stay at the Grand Floridian we were very disappointed with the hotel and sub par service. Be warned -the concierge floor only means help in getting into certain events at the park (if you are lucky) and complimentary food. We requested flowers delivered daily at our own expense and received nothing until the 4th day of a five day stay. The suite we stayed in was in poor condition and had wear and tear. The furniture

was old and scratched, the walls were stained, and the housekeeping was not up to par-- lack of towels, not wiping the bathroom sink area from the previous day. It never felt clean from the previous day. The heating system wasn't working properly either. It seemed as if the resort was just trying to do the minimum and not the complete all out service it had before. Room service also had long waits. If you are thinking of staying at this resort for the beauty of the resort and its outdoor amenties, great. But don't bother paying the pricey amount for a suite-- you'll be disappointed.

Read More

By Cyndy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2002

Beautiful hotel!

We stayed in a honeymoom "suite", concierge level for our 10th wedding anniversay and I was NOT impressed w/ the room for the hefty price we paid per night. It's just a room w/ a sitting area. Definitely not a suite. Don't get me wrong, the room was nice and the concierge level service was great, but not worth the $530 night we paid. I expected much more for that price. Our room did have a lovely balcony were we could see Cinderella's castle and watch

the nightly fireworks. The hotel is magnificent and having the monorail right outside your door was a tremendous plus. We did enjoy our stay and would definitely return.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2002

Our Favorite Disney Resort

This is our favorite Disney resort to stay at. We even love just going there for dinner or to walk around. We've always stayed on a concierge level and love the service. It's nice having the monorail right there.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2002

Service with a "smile" at all times :)

We just came back from a stay at the Grand Floridian and it's nicer than any write-up you read in a book. We always stay at top hotels, and this is one of the best I've seen anywhere. The lobby with a live band/rotating piano music playing daily from 4:30pm to 10:30pm is a classy touch. It's such a warm welcome after coming back to the hotel after a long day in one of the theme parks to have live entertainment greeting you. Filet mignon in Narcoossee's

was outstanding....melted in your mouth. Very large pool, actually 2 pools, but they could use more chairs around the pools...and cushions on those chairs would be a plus. Also, did not see any poolside wait service -- had to get your own drinks. Very minimal negative comments. This exquisite resort is a must see if you are in the area. Disney should open a resort like this on the shoreline.

Read More

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2001

The "Grande Dame" of Disney World

This is a wonderful hotel with attentive, kind and very friendly staff. The location was unbeatable, offering wonderful views of the Magic Kingdom, and the front-door monerail service made for easy access to anything and everything. The lobby was impressive and relaxing. The noise from the children was minimal, especially in comparison to other hotels, and the parks. It provided a quite respite in the middle of busy Disney days. The resteraunts were

both very well done, especially Victoria and Alberts. The rooms were nice, but not huge. The staff effecient and attentive from check-in to check-out. I have stayed at many hoetels at Disney World, for luxury, convenience, and the best service in town this is the place to stay.

Read More

By Joseph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2001

All is Grand at the Floridian

Its the best.You don't have to go to the parks.Its a theme park in itself. Hang out at the pool,cocktails,lunch. You feel being there.I've been there every year since it opened, sometimes 3 times in 1 year. My wife and I just did our 29th aniversery there,and it just don'nt get no better.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2001

Not worth the high price

I would strongly suggest any other resort at Disney before staying at the very over-rated GF. Have stayed at most and this one is my least favorite.

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2001

As great as the photos

The place was so beautiful--the view of Cinderellas Castle was exactly as we had seen it in the brochure. The kids loved falling asleep in view of Space Mountian and Disney World. Room was nice and the restuarant knew how to handle kids. WOuld have liked a bigger bar area---both nites we tried to go all the tables were full.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2001

Not all that

When a night in a standard room costs as much as it does here, the price should be justified by luxurious amenities. Using the treadmill or any athletic equipment will set you back another $15 per day, which is UNACCEPTABLE for a place of this caliber. Also, unless you like screaming kids---and lots of em---stay as far away from the pool as possible (not like you could get a chair anyway). Beware also the 50% "surcharge" on any long distance calls,

and the 75-cent charge for both 800 numbers and use of a personal calling card.

Read More

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2001

The Best Ever

The Grand Floridian was the best place I've ever stayed in Disney. The staff was wonderful. The grounds and rooms were very clean. Everyone was very helpful, and even gave us a tour of the grounds when we arrived. My kids, who were 9 and 11 at the time, absolutely loved it. I would never stay anywhere else.

By Maggie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2001

GF Noisy but Nice

We stayed at the GF for a week in March 2000. The concierge staff was friendly and bent over backwards for us. If you stay in the Main Building concierge, it gets a bit noisy in the evening with the grand piano blasting. In fact, the first night we were there, a wedding reception was taking place right below our balcony. We felt bad because we didn't bring a gift! Otherwise, it was beautiful.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2000

Room By Pool is a NIGHTMARE!

We were at the Grand Flordian 11/8 to 11/12/00. The room was beautiful, a bit small for myself, husband, and teen age daughter. The people treated us GREAT> BUT, our room was by the pool and EVERY NIGHT we had to complain that there were VERY LOUD people in the pool after midnight. The never offered to change our rooms and they didnt seem to care that I had to put the pillow over my head to sleep. When I complained to the manager on our last day,

then she said she was ver sorry and that we should of been changed to a different room on the second day. During the day this is a very nice hotel! Not sure if we would stay there again.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2000

Holiday Inn with a great location

On our last vacation in Disneyworld, we split time between a Marriott timeshare, which was excellent, and the Grand Floridian. The Grand Floridian was a major disappointment. We had to dodge the service carts on the outside paths, our room was small, with dirty looking carpets and slip covers and peeling wallpaper, and the service was nothing special. The pool was large, but plain, and we had to climb over lounges to get there. The only hot tub was

broken. Great location though! Every time we went past the Wilderness Lodge, where we stayed in our previous visit, we sighed and said "wish we stayed there again".

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement