Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Disney's Contemporary Resort

  • 4600 N. World Dr. Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Monorail access
  • Chef Mickey's, the epicenter of character-meal world
  • Health and wellness suites

Cons

  • A mix of conventioneers and vacationers means it can be too frenzied for the former and too staid for the latter

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

You're paying for location at this sleek, modern, luxury resort next to the Magic Kingdom, as the monorail runs right through the lobby, making park hopping a breeze, and offering quick respite for families seeking relief from the midday heat. Rooms in the main tower (pricier) offer great views, including nightly fireworks and lighted boat parade. Bay Lake Tower offers one- and two-bedroom villas. For the fireworks, or a spectacular sunset view, at least one dinner at

the California Grill (on the 15th floor of the main tower) is worth the tab. Perfect for families with youngsters eager to rub elbows with Mickey, the Contemporary also welcomes those on romantic getaways, and corporate travelers.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

4600 N. World Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, United States

Map It

Phone:

407-824–1000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,013 rooms, 25 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2012

What I Didn't Like About This Hotel

Foul tasting drinking water. No vending machines. You'll have to go down to the lobby or call Room Service. VERY slow elevator service Pricey ordinary food. Downtown Disney needs more shade. Most miserable hotel experience of my entire life.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2007

Less than magical: Disney's Contemporary

I have stayed at the Contemporary in the past, and returned for 5 nights in April. I was placed in the "south tower", which is not located in the main building. I asked to be on a waiting list for a room in the main building, but was never offered the option to move rooms, even after 10 of my colleagues checked out. The room and bathroom were filthy. The floors were never cleaned, even after I requested. Many days the trash wasn't removed and towels

weren't changed. Despite the recent room updates, the hotel is simply not kept up and has very poor service. Also, employees often congregated to smoke on the walkway from the south tower to the main building. Due to my stay at the Contemporary, my visit to Disney was less than magical.

Read More

By Shari

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2006

Out of this world

We absolutely love this property. We booked a year in advance and were able to have a room with a view of the Magic Kingdom. Nothing like sitting on your private balcony with a drink and watching the fireworks. Spectacular. The rooms were really nice. The pullout bed is a great feature for kids who don't want to share a bed. We were disappointed in the character breakfast at Chef Mickey's. The only time I've ever been disappointed at one.

Characters didn't come around much. The feeling here is great. Felt like George Jetson. We weren't able to get a resort pin, but just ordered one from Pinfinder.com. Dinner at the California Grill is superb. Convenience of the monorail can't be beat.

Read More

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2006

you can walk home from disney

this place was great. room recenlty remodeled, great service from staff. upgraded our room without asking. it was worth the extra money for the convenience.

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2005

Location, Location, Location

Have stayed at many WDW resorts, but when traveling with children, can't beat the convience of this one! Can actually walk back to the hotel pushing the sleeping baby in the stroller from the Magic Kingdom. I found a special for the concierge level and called our friends who we were meeting there, turns out I was getting a better rate than her on a normal level, so she called her travel agent right away and got the special too. Even though we booked

through different agents, we ended up with ajoining rooms. My husband made a pest of himself calling back to the concierge every afternoon to say we wouldn't make it back to the room before the afternoon 'tea' was over and loved coming back to a plate of cookies in the room! I will say that the rooms are very standard and outdated. In fact the building is quite outdated. MY BIGGEST SHOCK: My 11 month old who was crawling everywhere, crawled out to the balcony while we were enjoying the fantastic view and stuck his head right through the railing! So we then had to watch him like a hawk to keep him off the balcony. I found that very strange that Disney would subject themselves to such a liability and not update the railings to the now current code!

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2004

Stay on the 14th Floor!

The 14th floor of the Contemporary is one of the best kept secrets in WDW. It's an all-suite private keyed off floor, that offers FULL concierge level amenities, wonderful selections of food from breakfast through late evening. They also offer cocktails for adults. Suites on the 14th floor range from $800 to over $2,000 a night so all this luxury will cost some cash, but it's truly the best Concierge Level in all of Walt Disney World.

By pam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2004

Way past its prime

Yes, the location is great- having the monorail, boats and buses right there to get you around Disney. However, the negatives outweigh the location factor. Room decor is horrible and tacky. Too many different patterns going on. Tower room was very noisy- you could hear everything from out by the pool and from the atrium. Concierge level was very disappointing - concierge leaves at 4pm and not many snacks or drinks to choose from throughout the day.

Refrigerators not included in room- you have to ask for them. Fitness center cost $15. At these rates, that should be free! This place used to be a Disney institution, but it is showing its age in many ways. If you can afford the Grand Floridian, go there. Also I feel the Wilderness Lodge would be a better choice.

Read More

By AC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2003

disappointed

There is nothing deluxe about this resort. It is dingy and outdated. The 2 "garden" wings are especially unappealling. Room was worn, poor lighting, tiny TV. Thin walls, very noisy. It is a long walk to anything. Front desk staff was rude. There is little Disney feeling to be found in this place.

By jayne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2003

"Monorail" ride to nowhere

I grew up in Florida with Disney and love them but I just don't get the appeal of The Contemporary Resort (never did!) I'm glad for Disney that it has it's fans but I find it cold and sterile. It does have nice landscaping like all of WWD. I prefer the Wilderness Lodge and what used to be known as Dixie Landings - the themed hotels. As a kid I thought The Contemporary's lobby was huge - now it seems so small. I can't rate the service, room or value

as I was much younger when I stayed there.

Read More

By Ian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2003

Big Ears. Big Fun

Anyone who hasn't stayed at the Contemporary is just simply missing out on one of the biggest thrills at DisneyWorld. Positive remarks for the stage like atmosphere. The service is fantastic. Food is great. Rooms are designed for the family. Great plus being able to ride to the Magic Kingdom. For extra value buy the late night pass to stay in the park later than the other guests (you must stay at one of the three in the Magic Kingdom). Especially

recommend the character meals. My wife, two children (9,4) and I plan on going back soon. This is our favorite place to stay.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2000

A Unique Disney Resort

A very different experience than the palm trees and charm of the Polynesian or Port Orleans. Look out your window and see the Magic Kingdom. Look out your door and see the monorail pulling into the hotel. The heart of Walt Disney World.

By Carole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2000

GREAT Disney Experience

I've dreamed about staying here since I was a little girl - and The Contemporaray exceeded my lofty expectations. The room we had overlooked the Magic Kingdom (with wonderful fireworks nightly) and the Grand Floridian/Polynesian; a nice, large size room with sort of retro-modern decor that I initally thought might be tacky, but was actually vibrant and wonderful. We stayed in the tower, which opens to the Grand Concourse - to see the monorail come

in and out - and have Chef Mickey's right downstairs was a real pleasure and pure Disney. I highly recommend it.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2000

Oldie, but a goodie!

The rooms are very spacious and the atmoshpere is fantastic! The pool could be a litle larger and cooler, but it was still very nice. The atmoshpere in the lobby is lofty and large, and there is little echo. The views from the rooms are awesome, and the patios outside are a real plus. The California Grill on the 15th floor offers great food with a great view, along with an outdoor deck. The monorail is a very good way to get around to the parks. There

is no sign of aging anywhere in the hotel. Even the elevators have a nice touch, a little speaker that uses the voice of Mickey Mouse to announce the floor you're on. The only bad thing about this hotel was that the elevators were located at the center of the lobby area, while rooms could be very far from them on the very ends of the building.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement