Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Pros

  • Great pool with a play-area arcade for kids and a bar for adults
  • Lots of outdoor activities, free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Some accommodations are a long trek from the restaurants
  • Standard rooms are on the small side
  • As in many Disney lakefront properties, the lake is for looking at and boating on, not for swimming in

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Popular with convention-goers who love the huge meeting spaces, and with families who appreciate its casual Southwestern architecture; lively, Mexican-style food court; and elaborate swimming pool, colorful Coronado Springs Resort also offers a moderate price. A 95,000-square-foot convention center and the adjacent 60,000-square-foot ballroom make this Disney's go-to convention hotel. The meeting space is in its own wing, making the resort perfect for families of convention-goers,

as the kids can have fun while the parents attend to business. The pool is a real masterpiece of Disney imagineering, with its Mayan pyramid slide and creeping vine-covered waterfall.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1000 W. Buena Vista Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-939–1000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,917 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By adamb91

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2011

Disney's Coronado Springs Resort Review

There's something about Disney's Coronado Springs that makes me have ambivalent feelings towards it. The service is fantastic, the food is delicious, yet overpriced, the property is expansive and beautiful, and the rooms are pretty small. The best thing about this resort is the service and benefits such as the Magical Express to and from the airport, and the magical hours. The Pepper Market is also a nice touch because it's a very open, market, feeling

atmosphere that's quite unique in my opinion. Another nice thing about this resort is the property. It's very well kept and beautiful, plus it surrounds a huge lake/lagoon. With great things also comes some bad ones too. The worst thing about this resort is its room size, especially if you try to fit 3 people in it. These rooms just aren't meant for three or more people, so be sure to get multiple rooms. But other than that, this resort is very nice and has a very calm and relaxing vibe. Overall, if you're looking for a moderately priced Disney Resort, with a very cool and authentically themed atmosphere, the Coronado Springs is a fantastic choice.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2011

Disney's Coronado Springs Resort Review

I've just returned from my first WDW Disney vacation...staying at the Coronado Springs Resort. The layout and landscaping is beautiful. It feels open and very reminiscent of old world Spain (I've been there) only much nicer. Everything is Disney quality - clean and well kept - staff (cast) and service excellent. Unfortunately I didnt get a chance to dine at the Maya Grill, but had several quick service meals at Pepper Market. The variety of foods

was good and of the quality of a diner rather than a dinner club. Portions were generous and all was fresh. The rooms were not small but as expected for a hotel room. Two queen beds, a desk and chair, flat panel TV, credenza w/drawers. The A/C worked fine and overhead fan. If a person wants or needs a couch and sidechair in their room, they can pay for a suite or villa. Every staff person I talked to went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Its is rare to get that consistently at any 5 star....I've been to a number of them. I'm not a wealthy person - I saw Spain while in the US Navy while on liberty call. But when I spend for vacation, I spend beyond my class. I've stayed at the Hyatt in LaJolla, CA. I checked out early....snob factor - yes, fun - no. I created my Fodors profile here just because I read one bad review of this great resort. Granted, there is little snob factor here - just clean, friendly, relaxing, and fun. I would recommend to anyone. One more thing - despite 6 days of eating at disney, my party of 3 had no intestinal discomfort whatsoever. Try to accomplish that eating out for even two days in your own locale.

Read More

By Mab85

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2008

Excellent stay

I stayed here with a friend and her mother while the latter was attending a convention and I'm not sure what was paid, so please disregard my comment on the value (I had to enter something!) I was very happy with this resort. It is beautiful and well-kept. The restaurants were great (Pepper Market is a buffet while the Maya Grill is more upscale) and the atmosphere delightful. Our room was a bit far from the main area, but the walk was peaceful

and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2008

Best of the moderates!

This is by far my favorite moderate. It has a beautiful layout. The Pepper Market is a wonderful food court with lots of items to choose from. You rarely hear any noise so this is a great resort for couples without children. The bus transportation is fast and efficient. You rarely have to wait more than 5-10 minutes for a bus. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for a moderately priced resort.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2007

Value Play!!!

My family and I just returned from the CS at WDW. The rooms are very small, the decor is suppose to be Colonial Spain/Old Mexico; however, a little on the "tacky" side. The main pool is nice with a good slide for everyone to enjoy. The only restaurant we dined at on this property was the Pepper Market. Stay away! The variety is large; the quality is lacking. The best features are the transportation to the WDW theme parks, the mini-refrigerator

in the room, and the grounds around the property itself. This is a value play for anyone visiting WDW. If you're use to staying in 4 or 5 star hotels, you will be disappointed at the CS.

Read More

By Shari

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2006

Moderate price is okay

This was our first time at a moderate resort in Disney. It was a little hard to adjust to being far away from the main building, but we got the hang of it. We were expecting the feel of a motel, but it wasn't really like that. This is a beautiful place. We had a room with a private pool right outside our door. The kids loved this in the evenings. We loved the main pool. We weren't too far from the bus stop. That is something to look into when

choosing a room location. The restaurants were nice and everyone was extremely pleasant. We booked this particular trip on Expedia and had vouchers. Everything went smoothly. Great deal for the money.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2004

I'll be back

Had a great time as part of a convention group in 2001. Excellent facilities. Check-in was quick and we were in our rooms within 20 minutes of arrival. The room decore was average, nothing special but they were clean. This is a large hotel. Got up earlie and took advantage of a beautiful morning walk around the lake. Bus system to the rest of Disney was also a breeze. Maximum 20 minutes per run. Food was average at the food court. Too expensive for

what you got...Heading back in 2 weeks (Oct 2004) and booked a family vacation at the resort. We will add another comment when we get back.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2003

Ugh!

rooms are dingy and similar to Motel 6. Bad windows. Property is huge. Only stay here if no other place is available.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2002

If you like long walks around the parking lot

The decor is great. The southwestern motif is pulled off very well. The rooms are very small though, and the double beds are not big enough for two people to sleep in. Disney provides transportation around their entire resort, but from our room it was a 1/2 mile walk to the nearest bus stop. This resort is huge!!! The restaurants were good, not great, but the staff was very good. Given all the choices in the Disney area we would probably try something

else the next time.

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2002

3rd times the charm

I' ll Soon be staying here for the third time here. This time for my wedding reception. Outside the Animal Kingdom lodge this is my favorite Disney Resort for an adult visitor. I only had one bad experience here and that was on the Disney bus to pleasuere Island a bunch of drunk buisness travellers were swearing up a storm. I wouldnt have cared but the bus was full of kids!

By LP

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2002

The Best

I don't understand why so many people are complaining about Coronado Springs. I loved it! Everything about the hotel was great. I stayed there with my family in July 1999 and I coudn't have asked for anything more.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2002

Disney's 100th Anniversary...

must be talking about the carpeting in the rooms of this resort. We stayed there in July of 2001 & got a fairly decent rate ($99), but won't be coming back. The carpeting was dirty and threadbare - not what I expected for a fairly new resort - and nearly 2/3 of the resort was closed. We ended up staying in the Casitas, which was not where we wanted, & couldn't get another room even though they weren't even remotely close to full. Local phone calls

cost more than long distance on my home phone! I ended up using my cell phone - even the roaming charges on it were cheaper than the room phone. On the plus side, the outside grounds were absolutely beautiful, and the main pool was really cool - we loved the Aztec theme. But come on - when you're in Orlando, how much time do you really spend in the room, or even at the resort? Not enough to make it worth even $99 a night for this place. Did it once to see what staying at a Disney resort was all about, so at least my curiosity was satisfied, and for that I'm not sorry we stayed there - but we won't be back.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2001

Cool Pool

I had a nice time here. I visited in the fall so it wasn't very crowded. The view of the aztec temple pool from across the lake is awesome. Very resonable price for a Disney resort. Not as jam packed with kids like the all star resorts.

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2000

There are better moderates

The newest of the moderate resorts seems to lack some of the charm of the others (granted the landscaping was still being planted during our visit). Disney should drop the prices on boat & bike rentals to encourage more resort recreation and take advantage of the central lake.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement