Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

  • 900 Cayman Way Map It
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Plenty of on-site outdoor activities give the place a lush summer-camp feel
  • Convenient to Epcot, Disney's Hollywood Studios, and Downtown Disney

Cons

  • You don't truly feel swept away to a tropical island
  • The beach is for sitting on, as the only swimmable waters are in the pools, not the lake
  • Walks from your room to the beach or a restaurant can take up to 15 minutes

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

A series of palm-studded "villages," awash in dizzying pastels and labeled with names straight from Pirates of the Caribbean, each with its own pool, form this Disney value resort. Pirate-themed rooms are perfect for tweens smitten with Jack Sparrow. The villages surround 45-acre Barefoot Bay, with its white-sand beaches and bridges that connect to a 1-acre path-crossed play and picnic area. You can rent boats to explore the lake, or rent bikes to ride along the 1½-mile

lakefront promenade.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

900 Cayman Way, Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, United States

Map It

Phone:

407-934–3400

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 2,112 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2008

Terrible room service

We decided to try a new resort and stayed for 10 nights in Barbados. We had the worst housekeeping ever. She never once changed the sheets, the trash wasn't emptied (you can imagine how full one of those little trash cans get after that long) and she rehung dirty towels that we had placed on the floor. We never tried the food court because when we went to check out the cashier made fun of us to other guests because we had a question about the Disney

Dining Plan. It was our first day and first time trying the plan. The buses had way to long of a wait. Most days we waited 30-45 minutes and sometimes up to 1 hour. We never waited less than 30 minutes. It felt like we spent more time waiting for buses than being at the parks.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2007

Quiet and Relaxing

Just returned yesterday from a week-long trip to Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort. It was a great place to stay! We stayed in Martinique which is right next to Port Orleans so we could quickly walk over for meals, shopping or swimming in the main pool. We loved the beautiful, caribbean-themed decor in the room, the very comfy beds, plenty of space for a week's worth of clothes for a family of 4, peaceful and lovely view of the lake, very quiet room

(we were never disturbed by noise). It was always nice to come back to this serene environment after a full day of incredibly large crowds. The Disney transportation was great too. We could always catch a bus directly to any of the parks and directly back to our resort. They said buses ran every 20 minutes but we never waited more than 10. The only thing that could be improved a bit was the food service. There was plenty of selection but the area was often crowded and service was sometimes slow. However, all employees (cast members) were friendly and helpful. This was our first experience with any Disney resort and it was one we would definitely repeat!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2007

We enjoyed our stay

We only stayed 3 days, but we enjoyed the resort. I thought food court was great. Lots of variety and something for everyone. My family loved the resort store as well. The only issue is they don't have elevators, so if you are not on the first floor, you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. Other than that, we have no complaints.

By Neil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2006

Nice Place To Say, But...

I wouldn't want to eat there. The food, and I mean all of the food places, are terrible. Both over-priced with questionable quality. The resort itself is a nice resort. Not as many kids as other resorts; reasonably centrally located to all of the theme parks and activities. We never waited more than 15 minutes for any bus we needed and all of the drivers were very nice and helpful. The rooms were as you would expect, nice. The beds were better

than expected (yea!) but the pillows were like little soft balls of cotton (argh!). Always try to bring your own pillow if possible, you will always sleep better. The maid service did seem to get a bit impatient if you weren't out of your room for the day when they came to "do their thing." But they always left us enough towels! The laundry room was nice. Good equipment & very clean. $2 for a single wash load, $2 for a single dryer load, $1 for a single load of detergent, and $1 for 2 dryer sheets makes a single load of laundry $6 which is very expensive. Admittedly, there isn't a mask or gun involved. We enjoyed our stay here. It was clean and seemed to be a very safe environment, but we will probably choose another location next time. Variety is a good thing, nothing more...nothing less. You don't go to Disney to hang out in a hotel room anyway. By the way, if you really want to experience a Caribbean Beach and/or a Caribbean Resort...book a vacation to the Caribbean!

Read More

By Brenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2006

A vacation within a vacation!

I truly do not understand the bad reviews for this resort. It has a wonderful laid back feel to it and with a number of pools you can always find a quiet one. You can see illuminations from the beach and wild ducks will eat right out of your hands. There are hammocks on the beaches that are almost always empty, a great way to relax after a long day at the parks. The grounds are lush and tropical. The lakes are way more than ponds and you can also

feed the fish off of the bridge that goes to Parrot Cay, which is a nice little island hideaway. The rooms were extremely clean, the bus service is excellent, the food court is awesome. I have stayed at The Animal Kingdome Lodge and the Wilderness Lodge and the fast food court at the Carribean Beach resort is 100 times better than the Wilderness lodge. Disney's food is expensive everywhere! Do your research well and you will be able to get by on a $100.00 a day for a family of 3. The only advice I can give you is do your research. Disney World is huge be prepared! You will get as much out off it as you put in before you leave. Never go to the World with out preparing first!!

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2005

Where's the beach?

Very disappointed. Arrived late at night to a bleary eyed staff who could tell us little about our package. Paid over $175 for a room that was Motel 8 quality. Gaudy colors, few ammenities. The beaches you see on their ads are ponds. Our room was far from the sandy areas and even farther from the one dining area on the property. Expensive, fast food type food, one sit down restarant open at night. No internet access either. And the staff,

other than one housekeeper was not at all Disney like. We won't be back and I don't understand why Fodors rated this as their choice.

Read More

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2003

Great Hotel, But the beds felt like cardboard

We when to Dinseyworld at the end of July 2003. The hotel was great, the ground beauiful!!, But the beds are worst then motel 6. We even paid for an upgrade for a kingbed. An extra $300.00 on top of the $3800.00 we already paided. I hope Disney pays more attention to the mattress they have, because the plants seemed to be in better conditions. We did have a wonderful time. But you need to take over a week of you plan to go to all the parks. Hope

to go back soon, but will stay at a different hotel.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2003

Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort is a great place to stay!!

It's a nice place to stay! Nice room,good service,convenient bus service to the parks! Only downfall is the OUTRAGEOUS prices Disney charges for everything! Food,drinks,key chains,t-shirts,exc....Your purse will look like it's been vacuumed out by the end of your stay!Nice resort but I won't be back.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2003

Good for the Money

My mife, kids, and I stayed at the CBR in March of 2001. Unfortunately, we were put in Jaimaica which was a very long walk for twin boys who were only 2 1/2 years old. This was our only complaint. The atmosphere was beautiful. I recommend moderate resorts because the food courts offer more variety than the value resorts. You can also chose a sit down meal in the restaurant. Our room was nice and cleaned daily. We did not wait too long for buses

and the pool area was adequate, but not spectacular. Overall, I thought this resort was worth the money. It's only a little bit more money than the All-Star Resorts, and the atmosphere is much better.

Read More

By Julia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2002

Disney Disaster

I feel bad writing this review, but the hotel (motel) was a particularly bad experience for my wife and me. The room opened out not to a hallway, but to a sidewalk. This is all right, but in our case the rubber seal under the door was worn away. When we woke up in the morning, several bugs had crawled into the room. We actually killed a roach in the bathroom. The air-conditioner emitted a strong mildew smell. In addition to the bugs, I woke up in

the morning with a painful sinus headache. The box spring on the bed was broken. This occurred four years ago. The hotel may be in better shape now. They were actually in the process of renovating several of the rooms near us. Personally, I think ours was due to be worked on next, and that's why they let it deteriate to the condition that it had. I'm writing the review now because we may go back to Disney, and I wanted to read to reviews of the other hotels. We did move to another room within the Caribbean. When we requested the move, the individual on the phone was very un-Disney. Just one last note, it was our honeymoon. We may go back for our anniversary. My wife is a Disney nut. I can't think of another way to truly express that sentiment. We just won't stay at the Caribbean. To anyone who may read this, spend the extra money and stay somewhere better.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

Great Value & Convenient

Great place to stay for all ages. We had grandparents, parents, and a 2-year old in our party. Everyone was delighted with the facilities. Bus service was great. Grounds were lovely, and we enjoyed walking to the food court. The little one loved the ducks and playground. We have already recommened this resort to our friends, and we would definitely use it again. Our only disappointment was upon arrival we learned that our two rooms were not

connected as requested. After much insistance, we were reassigned to connecting rooms in Jamica. We loved it.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2001

Caribbean Beach "Last" Resort

My husband and I stayed here in the summer of 2001. I learned two things. Number One: Bus service here is usually slow and crowded. It is a large resort and services a large number of people. Get to bus stops in plenty of time and expect to wait. (At least that way if - and I said if - the bus shows up quickly you'll be pleasantly surprised.) And Two: When making your reservations and when you are assigned a room you must request to stay close

to the food court. We stayed the farthest away (a good 5-7 minute walk - and we walk pretty fast). We only ate at the resort when we had to because of the distance. Also the rooms were the oldest and least cared for in the resort. Shabby carpet, shabby bed spreads (however, the beds were comfortable), and cramped bathroom area. We have stayed at all of Disney's Moderate Resorts (we like Port Orleans the best!) and a few of the Deluxe Resorts. This one is probably the one I enjoyed the least. We will only stay on Disney property when we visit because of the convenience and overall atmosphere, but the Caribbean Beach is definitely a "last resort."

Read More

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2001

Slow Bus Service!!

I went to WDW with my family this past spring. We are all 18 and over and would not stay in this hotel ever again. The main pool area was very small. Our room was so far that everyday we had to walk about a good 5 minutes to get to the main area where all the food and beverages are. The rooms were small and not very updated. The bus service was so slow that one day we waited at least 45 minutes to get to Magic Kingdom. We were the last ones

on the route to be picked up and when the bus did arrive we did not have a seat. Also, on the way home from the parks (when your feet are aching) the buses would be so crowded that you had to stand. I have been to WDW before a couple years ago and stayed at the Beach Club. The Beach Club is a little more expensive but worth the money. I would never stay at Caribbean Beach again.

Read More

By mei

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2001

Don't Do It!!!

We thought staying on WDW would be worth the money. Trust me, it wasn't! The Caribbean Beach rooms were old, run down, faded paint and outdated wallpaper trim. The bedding was in a word ugly. The carpeting was worn and faded. Pool areas were very very small - we didn't even bother. And the only food establishments available on site were fast food restaurants and one sit down place. Bus service was fine - nothing great, we thought it would be

much more convenient. If I go to WDW again, I would stay off site, stay at a more upscale hotel like the Hilton -- get better rooms w/ better amenities and still save 1/2 the money. At $258 per night in Oct 99, it just wasn't worth the money.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2000

Best Moderate for Kids

The large central lake for recreation and Parrot Cay make this a good moderate priced choice for families with kids.

By Marin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2000

Just say No!

Stayed at this property once, and hated it. It was dirty, with little to no customer service. I went to Disney 4 times in 1999 and stayed off site the other 3 times in a better hotel, at a better price. Not worth the money. In fact I asked for money back, and I got it!

By Ted

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2000

Why spend the money?

I was not impressed!! The wait for the busses was excruciating, the rooms cramped and worn, and for people with children - just not a good choice. I'd rather stay off-site in a suite hotel, have a separate bedroom for the kids, drive to the parks more quickly than a bus that makes the milk route, and all for less money!!

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2000

A big part of the whole Disney experience.

I can't imagine how they could have made it better. Disney wrote the book on customer satisfaction. Everything was as close to perfect as it could be. It costs more to stay on the Disney property, but it's worth every penny.

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2000

Caribbean Mon, come and relax

I have stayed at many hotels on Disney property and this still remains one of my favorites! The atmosphere is great and it has such charm. There is definately privacy for those traveling without children but just as great if you are. The price is just right for a Disney hotel. It is a must to stay here, mon!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement