Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Disney's Port Orleans Resort–French Quarter

  • 1251 Riverside Dr. Map It
  • $$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Authentic, or as authentic as Disney can make it, fun, New Orleans–style
  • Moderate price
  • Lots of water recreation options, including boat rentals
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Even though there are fewer kids here, public areas can still be quite noisy
  • Shuttle service is slow
  • Food court is the only on-site dining option

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Ornate Big Easy–style row houses with wrought iron–clad balconies cluster around magnolia-shaded squares in this relatively quiet resort, which appeals to couples more than families. Lamp-lighted sidewalks are named for French Quarter thoroughfares. The food court serves Crescent City specialties such as jambalaya and beignets, and to give it even more New Orleans flavor, Mardi Gras colors and parade-float props are scattered around.

Hotel Information

Address:

1251 Riverside Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-934–5000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,008 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2007

Great Family Destination

My family and I just returned from a week at the French Quarter and we can't wait to return. The size of the hotel is perfect by Disney standards. We were in building 6 and were only a short walk from the pool and the restaurant. The pool is outstanding. The food is not gourmet but it is good. Portions are large. Two can often share one entree. The hotel is in close proximity to all Disney parks. Staff are kind and responsive. We researched

extensively before choosing the French Quarter and we were glad we did. It is hard to believe that there are hotels at Disney that charge twice as much. Great Value!

Read More

By dtolman

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2006

Best resort complex at WDW

I love looking at the other resorts on WDW property, but I always stay at the French Quarter, for a lot of reasons. Rooms are as well maintained as those of the deluxe resorts (even better after a recent refurbishment), room size is decent, it has a great pool, both boat and bus service to downtown disney, and most importantly - its the smallest of the spread out resorts, so it tends to be a lot quieter. Food court is typical for disney - though

the bakery may be a cut above. Grounds are pretty and well maintained. Unless you're looking for luxury, an indoor hotel instead of a resort complex, or the cheapest room on the property, its a good buy.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2003

French Quarter Feel For Far Less

We stayed here twice, and have always loved it. The atmosphere is wonderful the rooms are a bit small but very clean & up to date. We loved the ferry ride to Downtown Disney. The food service needs work, but you can take the ferry to a number of restaurants. Wonderful place for a moderate price.

By Madison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2003

Beignets are amazing!

The atmosphere is great! i love walking around it and spending time there. THe food was awesome too. a little expensive for some things but worth it. they had great beignets which tastes like fried dough. I had them everyday i was there. The service was a little slow and not as friendly as expected but everything else was pretty good. the river is really fun to walk and the dragon slide is the best!

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2003

Great beignets! Poor Service

The atmosphere was awesome. But the sevice wasnt too great. i waited in line at the bakery for five minutes while 3 workers kept looking at me. Finally when 4 people started lining up behind me the worker told someone else they had customers. they were pretty slow too. The price of the food was pretty high, but the food was really good. We didnt get a remote with our tv and it was a big deal getting one. Our phone cards never worked in the hotel,

only at the payphones which had a 9 minute fee. We got stuck in the farthest room away from everything when there where plenty of other closer rooms available,hardly anyone was there when we stayed sop i know ther was. nobody was really that friendly as i thought they would be. When we visited riverside, we had a 5 minute friendly conversation with one of the foodcourt ladies and a 5 minutes friendly convo with the gift shop lady, and we were only there for an hour. We had a longer nice chat with those people in an hour than we did at the french quarter the whole week we were there. The beignets where to die for and surprisingly pretty cheap! But like i said, great atmosphere and food, but not so great service and prices.

Read More

By vivian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2003

the big easy rip off

i saved for a long time to take my daughter to disney world and stayed at french quarter what a rip off the rooms are too small i ask for a hair dryer and never got it they did begrudge me a coffee pot after i ask 3 times and they ask me if i wanted coffee i said that would be nice 1.00 a pack!!! every hotel i have ever stayed in give you a cup of coffee the staff was anything but nice they act like we were lower class people every time you pick

up your phone in your room .75 even if you have a phone card not cool in my eyes. all in all i felt that i payed way to much money for what i got i will never again stay at a disney resort off property is more reasonable and much better

Read More

By Kristin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2001

Best Moderate Disney Hotel

My family has stayed with Port Orleans 4 times during the Christmas/New Years Holiday week as well as other moderate Disney hotels and liked this one the best! It's the smallest I believe which makes it most manageable. There's only 1 bus stop which is easy to get to, and the beignets in the morning - uummm! the Best!! The cafeteria type setup in the morning is convenient and quick compared to the other moderate hotels in that they have 1 central

place to go on line and order whatever you want as opposed to the other large moderate hotels that more resemble the picnic area of a mall. We are always pleased with Disney service - they are truly the most helpful and pleasant.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2000

Best Value at Disney

Better theming than many premium resorts - by far the best of the moderates. Convenient access to Downtown Disney via boat. Soon to be merged with Dixie Landings under the Port Orleans name.

By Stacy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2000

Better off staying off-site

The rooms were cramped, the busses slow, it is most definitely cheaper and more convenient to stay at an off site hotel and drive yourself to the parks, you'll save a lot of time and money!!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement