Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Disney's All-Star Sports, All-Star Music, and All-Star Movies Resorts

Exterior

At a Glance

    Pros

  • unbeatable price for a Disney property

    Cons

  • no kids' clubs or programs, possibly because this is on the bottom tier of Disney hotels in terms of room rates
  • distances between rooms and on-site amenities can seem vast

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Disney's All-Star Sports, All-Star Music, and All-Star Movies Resorts Review

Stay here if you want the quintessential Disney-with-your-kids experience, or if you're a couple that feels all that pitter-pattering of little feet is a reasonable tradeoff for a good deal on a room. (Hint: for a little peace, request a room away from pools and other common areas.) In the Sports resort Goofy is the pitcher in the baseball-diamond pool; in the Music resort you'll walk by giant bongos; and in the Movies resort huge characters like Toy Story's Buzz Lightyear frame each building. Each room has two double beds, an armoire, and a desk. These are the smallest rooms in any Disney hotel, which helps keep the room rate down.

2010 Fodor's 100 Hotel Award Winner

The three All-Star resorts are great family-friendly budget options. Each hotel is decorated with Disney favorites (Toy Story characters at the Movies resort, Goofy at the Sports resort). Two swimming pools, a playground, and an arcade, plus food-court fare like pizza and burgers, are sure to keep kids happy; affordable room rates please parents.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 1701 W. Buena Vista Dr., Animal Kingdom Resort Area, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830 | Map It
  • Phone: 407/939–5000 Sports; 407/939–6000 Music; 407/939–7000 Movies
  • Location: Disney's Animal Kingdom

    Hotel Details

  • 1,700 rooms, 215 family suites at Music; 1,920 rooms at Movies and Sports.
  • Rate includes no meals.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 02-27-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Disneyworld WIth My Daughter

    My daughter and I took a trip to Disneyworld to celebrate life. We had been going thru a tough time of it. Her dad had just lost his business lease and was forced to move to a new location. He lost his mind and was not able to function.
    I called his family and said something is wrong with your brother. One of the brothers came out and began to verbally attack me for not having a full time job.
    This is when we headed to Orlando and what a relief.
    Easy trip from the airport by the Magic Express shuttle, bags delivered to our rooms. We had the free dining plan so headed to the cafeteria to get something quick and easy for breakfast. Rice Krispies Mickey Mouse..Yummy.
    Then, on to the parks and when we come home we are welcome to a nice clean room and comfortable beds. There is a cafeteria to grab some late night snacks or a dinner if you prefer.
    We are on the free dining plan so we get plenty of food to eat each day...three snacks, a lunch and a sit down dinner. I have arranged reservations for our favorite restaurants in advance.. we will be sure not to miss the outstanding buffet at the Crystal Palace and the awesome buffet at the Animal Kingdom resort.
    Then, we will definitely have breakfast inside Cinderella's Palace. Plus, let's try the new buffets too.
    All in all, we had a wonderful time and a great break from the reality of our lives.

    by mpwalther, 9/9/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Disney's All-Star Sports, All-Star Music, and All-Star Movies Resorts Review

    I have stayed at the Pop Century once and at the All Star Music twice. For argument’s sake, I will say that I have also stayed at the Beach Club and at the Old Key West Resorts as well. Yes, there were differences in certain amenities in the better resorts. But I would never say I had one complaint with the value resorts. They were clean, attractive and fun. The staff was always friendly, efficient and ready to make my stay the most enjoyable it could be. The rooms were the size and layout of a standard motel room. After all this isn’t a deluxe hotel and as such you shouldn’t expect a presidential suite. While not luxurious it was far from shoddy and without charm and warmth. Every night I came home from a long day of being a tourist and the room was immaculately clean with fresh towels and toiletries waiting for me. The food court, while in no way being fine dining, provided good “stick to your ribs” type of food that was perfectly acceptable and affordable. In no way was it like eating at a chain fast food restaurant. They even had something they call the “Build Your Own Salad” that was so good I wish it could be available at other parts of WDW property. Please understand that the value resorts are motels, but very nice and classy motels. They are motels but have set standards to be like hotels. Don’t expect the luxury of the Grand Floridian for the price of a value resort. If you go with that understanding you can’t beat staying at one of Disney’s value resorts. In fact this September you will find me staying at the All Star Movies for a week’s vacation. I expect that I will enjoy myself there just as much as I have at any of the other resorts I’ve stayed at on WDW property. No matter what price range. You just can’t beat it.

    by Dave_Schmidt, 5/17/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    All-Star Sports, All-Star Music, and All-Star Movies Resorts Review

    Went with hubby and 2 kids in 2007, stayed at All Star Sports Resort. My sports loving kids thought it was the coolest thing ever. We requested a quiet room away from the pool and common areas. It was quiet except for someone's car alarm that went off all night in the parking lot next to our room the 2nd night! Also, the first night we realized some kid had peed the bed that had stayed in the room before us. It was too late at night to get a new bed setup, but the next day the staff was right there with new bedding and a new mattress. So they were pretty helpful and apologetic. Food court had good food. The oversized sports stuff was really fun. Everything was very clean. Overall, not a luxury hotel of course, but I think it was a good value and lots of fun. Only real complaint is that the rooms are so tiny, it's pretty hard to fit even a family of 4 into one room. We had to bring sleeping bags and the kids had to sleep on the floor. Now we have 3 kids and I don't think it would be possible to fit into one room.

  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Awesome Hotel

    I really love the All-Star Music because theme looks awesome and clean. I would like to stay in the Broadway theme. Because I love Broadway! This Disney's All-Star Music is awesome! the Shops and Dine are good. and the check-in you watch Disney classic cartoons while your parents check in. That's why I really love to Stay in the All-Star Music Resort.

    by JEANYLASER36, 10/4/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful,Plan to go again.

    Last year I stayed at the All-Star Movie Resort and had a very pleasant experience,not only were the cast members very nice and accomadating but my room was ready earlir than expected.When I got to my room though far away it was very clean.The air condioning was set so that it was chilly,which was great after being in the hot florida sun.I plan to stay at this resort again and expect the same service again.

    by shakespeare1, 5/27/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Disney's All Star Resort= All Star hotel de crap

    I have stayed in hotels all over the country and all over the world. I have stayed in resorts and I have stayed in several Disney properties and now, unfortunately, I can say that I stayed in your All Star Resort. In a word, pathetic! On arrival, it took 45 minutes for the staff (once they got around to it) to find out why our door would not open. Once we got in the roon (again, unfortunately), there were no clean towels and the toilet had an object in it that should have been long gone. The comforters both had tears in them and one of the garbage cans was 3/4 full of trash. OK, things go off thre rails but the real problem began when I called the front desk to complain. All I got was lip service "Oh, my, we'll take care of this tight away." Well right away apparently means when we damn well feel like it when you stay in the Disney ALL Star Resort. Wew left the room for a bite to eat and when we returned, we found that the garbage had been emptied. That's all that had been done in 1 1/2 hours. Pathetic really doesn't cover it. With the exception of the nice young lady who checked us in to the resort form hell, we found the staff to be rude, not caring at all. Maybe they would have done all right in a correctional facility but not a Disney property. Never again ALl Star Resort-Everyone please heed this warning. HOW CAN SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN!!!!!

    by RonwayIncursion, 5/10/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Never Again!

    I've been visiting WDW for over 25 years and always stay on-site, usually at a deluxe or moderate resort. Decided to try to save a little money and stay at a value resort - big mistake. Very small room which I expected, lots of groups - also expected, however every morning I had to literally step over people sitting on the walkway outside of my 1st floor room, whilst they ate breakfast and waited for a (noisy)private bus. No towels at the pools - you have to use your (very small/thin) room towels. The biggest problem was that housekeeping completely missed my room one day and I had to wait a full 48 hours between room cleaning services. After walking thru parks for 12 or 13 hours, the last thing you need is to come back to a dirty/unmade guest room. Housekeeping arrived with a bad attitude and some towels at 1:00 a.m. and didn't want to empty the trash cans. I was assured I would receive a 'VIP Cleaning' the following morning, which made we wonder what type of cleaning they give on every other day!! After several phone calls I was told that I could not be compensated because I was there on a discounted rate. Not very magical; I thought Disney was all about keeping guests happy. Eventually I spoke with an understanding manager who gave us 3 free fast-passes and apologized for the situation. Still not acceptable, but at least he offered to try and make the situation a little better. Disney can do much better than this, and does - at a higher cost in their other hotels. I would never stay at a value resort again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

    by mcgran, 4/24/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    economy vs. convenience

    I recently stayed at the All-Star Music Resort.
    Our room was on the farthest end from the Food Court and the Disney buses. I would not recommend this location unless you enjoy walking an extra mile or two each day. (You will be doing plenty of walking in the parks themselves.)
    The rooms had no in-room coffeemakers, and rates do not include internet access (you will pay an extra $10.00 per day for internet access in your room.)

    If you get a room facing the pool area, be prepared to lose some sleep.

    This Resort entitles you to the privileges of a Disney Resort guest, which provides you with extra hours in the park. Also, you will have access to the Disney bus system for transportation to the parks, which is a plus.

    by lynn53, 1/1/08

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories