Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Restaurants

Jiko

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

The name of this restaurant means "the cooking place" in Swahili, and it is certainly that. The dining area surrounds two big, wood-burning ovens and a grill area where you can watch cooks in North African–style caps working on your meal. The menu here is more African-inspired than purely African, but it does include authentic flavors in entrées like peri-peri chicken flatbread and Zanzibar fish stew. Menu items often change, but entrées might include maize-crusted

fish with tomato-butter sauce orspicy Botswana-style beef short ribs with cassava-potato puree. The restaurant offers dozens of wines by the glass, including a large selection of South African vintages. Ask about the wine-and-dine experiences, the Wanyama vehicle safari-dinner combo (only for hotel guests), and the Wednesday wine tastings.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Animal Kingdom Lodge, 2901 Osceola Pkwy., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-939–3463

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 04/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By spl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2010

Jiko Review

I was very excited to try this restaurant because of all of the great reviews that I read and I always trust Fodors reviews. I must say, however, that I was very disappointed. I ordered fish and the waiter compared it to seabass, it was not even close. It was very dry and it was fried, which was not mentioned on the menu, and it was fine if you covered it in the sauce it came with, but considering that we spent $400 on our meal (there were 6 of

us) I expected a lot more from this restaurant. Don't waste your money. We went to the rainforest cafe the following night and our meal was half the price and so much better, really.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 23, 2009

Jiko Review

I had to convince my very picky parents to eat a Jiko because they were afraid they would hate the spices and preparation of African cuisine. It turned out to be the best meal, by far! My Arctic Char was flaky and in a mouth-watering broth, my husband said his steak was perfectly cooked and seasoned (and that he would never bother waiting at Le Cellier again) and my parents loved the braised lamb so much, they asked for the recipe. A little expensive,

but so worth it!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2008

Delicious

Best meal at Disney! Ate with party of 6 -- everyone extremely pleased with food. Great variety and flavors. Excellent wine list. Only issue was dessert menu -- while everything we tried was very good would have liked more variety and a few chocolate items to choose from!!!

By nbkm7l1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2007

Jiko's is special

I must say of all the places I have eaten at on Disney's property....THIS ONE IS THE BEST. While California Grill has a great menu and the view is great....Jiko's delivers on taste every time. We have eaten here 4 times and every time has been great. I might add that the Animal Kingdom Lodge is the best deal for what you pay.

By dtolman

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2006

Best Disney operated restaurant at WDW

Definitely one of the top restaurants at WDW for imaginative menu options, quality of preparation, and service. Don't skip this restaurant if you have a chance, and want one of the best dining experiences at WDW.

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2005

Off night? Or all hype?

We arrived at this empty restaurant at 6:20 and were told there would be an hour wait. We left our name, and were seated at appx 7:30. Although the service was friendly it was also slow. Beverages did not arrive as ordered, soup never arrived, and coffee was cold. Our entrees were lamb shank and pan-fried monk fish; both were good. Manager was gracious, but overall quite a disappointing experience after all the rave reviews.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2003

An adventure of tastes: Loved this restaurant

While the food may be a fusion instead of African, the wines are all South African. Both food and wine were excellent. We started with the flat bread (delicious!) and progressed to the wonderful asparagus soup. Our server assisted in selecting our entrees (Lamb shank, Pork Chop, and a chicken dish) and the soup. The service from our waitress was extremely friendly, helpful, and attentive. She helped make the evening enjoyable. It was a great setting,

food and wine were wonderful, and service excellent. I'm going back in December 2003 and plan to return to Jiko!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement