Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Pros

  • Impressive architecture
  • Boarding point for romantic cruises or free water taxi to Magic Kingdom
  • Elegant dining options
  • Children's activity center, free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • No direct bus to Magic Kingdom, no monorail

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

The architects outdid themselves in designing this seven-story hotel modeled after majestic turn-of-the-20th-century lodges in the American Northwest, with a cavernous lobby, supported by towering tree trunks, an 82-foot-high, fireplace made of rocks from the Grand Canyon, two 55-foot-tall hand-carved totem poles that pay homage to the region's Native American culture, all lighted by enormous tepee-shaped chandeliers. The hotel's showstopper is its Fire Rock Geyser, a

faux Old Faithful that erupts with sometimes alarming regularity, near the large pool, which begins as an artificially heated hot spring in the lobby. This hotel is a good option if you're a couple without kids looking for more serenity than is found at Disney's other hotels.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

901 Timberline Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-824–3200

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 727 rooms, 31 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By zippy64

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2009

One Disney's great successes!

This place just looks and feels great. The Whispering Canyon is always a treat and the theming is really excellent - even by Disney standards. Have stayed here three times in the last 15 years and its now our Disney resort of choice.

By ricesk

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2008

Excellent theming and service

Loved this resort! So much to see and do. And service is excellent compared to the moderate resorts, in my opinion. Whispering Canyon-my favorite Disney restaurant! Only con is the size of the resort's food court...they really need to expand the area with more food choices. There's an outside eating area when it's nice weather but if it's raining, it's very hard to find a seat in the seating area too. Transportation to Magic Kingdom was slow and

cold on the boat but much better than waiting and waiting for the bus..and being pushed/shoved every which way. So great to be close to the Magic Kingdom! I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with the Wilderness Lodge.

Read More

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2007

Would not be my first choice at WDW.

We've been to WDW at least a half-dozen times the last 18 months. On previous vists, we've stayed at the Animal Kingdom, the Polynesian, and the Beach Club. What I liked about this property was the overall theme, the Whispering Canyon Cafe, the hiking trail, and fire-places on a few floors. What I hated - and this is probably why this is the hotel I'm least likely to stay at - is the transportation system to and from the Magic Kingdom. More than

once, it took us 45 minutes. The boats are relatively small (for their intended purpose) and on a brisk day quite cold. It also took the bus about an hour to get from the hotel to the MGM. As with every other WDW stay, we stayed on their club level, in this instance the Old Faithful Club. We found their staff to be the least friendly and in several instances, just plain wrong.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2007

Disney is Magical as Usual!

I get a still get a smile on my face when I think about the wonderful time I had at this resort. My boyfriend and I went to Disney for the Disney Triathlon, stayed at the Wilderness Resort as the race starts nearby at the campground. The resort is beautiful, with even the music and the scent reminding us of a trip north instead of to the unforgiving Florida heat. The pool, the walkways, the resturants, and especially the lobby made us love this place.

AND - huge bonus: we thought we had an ugly view of the hotel dumpsters until we realized we were facing the magic kingdom through the trees and could watch the evening firework display from our balcony! It was a truely amazing trip of which I will always remember. Thanks, Disney!

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2006

Best Disney Hotel

Have stayed at Boardwalk, Caribbean, and Yacht Club. Wilderness Lodge is by far the best Disney hotel I've stayed at.

By Shari

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2006

Theme, theme, theme

We have stayed twice at the Wilderness Lodge. Both times we were able to have bunk beds for our kids. We love the atmosphere here. We enjoy being at places that are themed and the Wilderness Lodge carries the theme throughout the propery, from the music in the lobby to the animal noises and footprints outside. The restaurants are great and we really enjoyed the Lodge tour. There was food to sample at both the smokehouse and Artist's Point. We

especially enjoyed having a room that overlooked the lobby.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2005

Beautiful room next to dumbwaiter

I love this hotel, however, some of the rooms are located near service elevators (like ours), which made the most relaxing part of the day (sleeping) almost impossible. Let's face it, when you go to Walt Disney World (a long planned out trip for a very worthy little boy), you want everything to be perfect (like the tv and trip planning guide show). The room was beautiful, the grounds were amazing, the food was even delicious! But when it comes

to sleep (and I really did need it), the location of our room was so noisy that I could not sleep. When I complained about the room, I was told that there was no other room available. We will try again. Maybe next time we will not only get a room with a view but a room that we can actually sleep in.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement