Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Universal Orlando Hotels

Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

  • 6300 Hollywood Way Map It
  • $$$
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Preferential treatment at Universal rides
  • Early admission to Islands of Adventure (Wizarding World of Harry Potter)
  • Serene, Zen garden vibe

Cons

  • Rooms can feel cramped
  • Steep fees for in-room Internet access, fitness center, and parking

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

The entrance—a broad, covered footbridge high above a tropical stream—sets the tone for the Pacific Rim theme of this hotel, which lies amid 53 acres of lush shrubs, soaring bamboo, orchids, and palms. The focal point is a 12,000-square-foot lagoon-style pool, which has a small beach and an interactive water-play area. All guest rooms have bright, tropical bed coverings, bamboo ceiling accents, and electronics that include iPod-station clock radios and 32-inch flat-panel

TVs, plus in-room Wi-Fi. Emeril Lagasse's restaurant, Tchoup Chop, draws crowds. The hotel hosts Polynesian-style luaus every Saturday.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, Florida, 32819, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-503–3000; 800-232–7827

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,000 rooms, 113 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Universal Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2007

Fun, fun, fun

Besides the perfect location of this hotel close to Universal Studios and the bars, clubs and resturants of City Walk, plus the great benefit of skipping the amusement park lines with your hotel key, this was beautiful and relaxing place to stay. The lobby is something out of my memories of Hawaii and we played volleyball in the pool before sitting alone later in the hot tub. We joined the Lowes Clun for free and received a jar of whole cashews and

a bottle of decent red wine in our room. We loved it and loved the value! Looking forward to our next Lowes stay!!

Read More

By Chad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2005

Beware of unexpected charges to your credit card

We stayed here for 4 nights. I came with my family so I booked 2 rooms. The rooms were nice but I expected a lot more from this 5 star hotel considering the price we paid ($260/room). The use of the water taxis were great although if you were in a hurry you might just want to walk instead. The great thing about staying at one of the 3 hotels inside Universal was the Express Pass which was absolutely fantastic since we bypassed all the long lines!

The biggest problem I had with this hotel was an added charge of $109 to my credit card for using the mini bar. In fact, we didn't even open the mini bar. I notified the accounting department and even complained to the hotel manager.It's been almost a week and I'm still waiting for results of their investigation. I would definitely not come back to this hotel but maybe try the Hard Rock instead. One more thing, we had a hard time understanding the way the inidividual at the concierge spoke. She didn't seem to have a lot of patience when we asked her questions regarding the hotel.

Read More

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2005

Nice hotel but not luxury rooms

The lobby and the hotel grounds are beautiful. However, if you plan to stay here - don't expect a luxury room. We paid a FL resident rate of ~$200 a night and I feel the rooms are equivalent to a Hilton Garden or Comfort Inn room that should only cost $80-$100/night. That being said - they are clean and spacious and the beds are comfortable. Also on a positive note, the quick pass to Universal was great and adds a lot of value if you don't like

standing in line. I would stay here again if the rates were less. With rates as they are I don't feel that it is worth the price - you are really just paying for a beautiful lobby.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2005

Royal Pacific is a Family Paradise

We are going back to the Royal Pacific got the third straight year! The staff is excellent.The grounds are lush.My husband and daughter both feel as I do.It's a slice of heaven.

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2004

ROYAL PACIFIC---NOT!

The Royal Pacific Resort grounds are beautiful;however,the staff needs major lessons in hospitality. We are Loews First Gold members and express check in was not available, necessitating a long wait for check in. The aggressive valet insisted on taking possesion of my car keys while we checked in, and refused to give me a receipt for them. After checking in, we could not find the valet who took my keys and waited about 30 minutes for him to appear.

The manager at the valet booth could not explain why this kid took my keys in the first place and offered no apology for the inconveince. When we made our reservation, we had requested that the minibar be emptied, as a member of our family needs refrigeration for diabetic supplies. The minibar was not empited, and we waited about 2 hours for a refrigerator that was left in the rather small alcove of the bathroom on a room service dolly, making the already tight space even tighter. The amenity from our Loews First membership that was supposed to be in the room took 3 phone calls and five hours to appear. Because of the problem at check in, we missed the evening beverage service by about 15 minutes ( we had Club rooms)and the staff in the Club would not accomodate our request for a glass of wine.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 24, 2003

Bali High!!

What a great place! I stayed for a convention meeting in '02 and had to come back with my family in summer '03. The atmosphere is amazing with a true pacific rim feel. The lobby, garden and decor are excellent. The pool is amazing and the reason I brought the kids back. They loved the beach front pool and the steamship waterpark area. The water taxi is fun to get around to the theme parks and Citywalk. Universal's package deal allows you to use your

room key as a quick pass at both parks. No waiting and no times set to come back...just go to the front of the line. Looking for the next opportunity to come back.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2003

coming back

We were one of the first ones to stay in this resort last year. We had such a great time,we are on our way back this year. We are to arrive in July,hot,hot,hot.But thats ok because the pool is beautiful.The kids will love the pool,plenty to do. The way we see it is "Its all in what you make of it". see you there!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement