Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Tampa Bay Area Hotels

Loews Don CeSar Hotel

  • 3400 Gulf Blvd. Map It
  • Grande Dame
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Romantic destination
  • Great beach
  • Tasty dining options

Cons

  • Small rooms, can be quite pricey

Updated 04/24/2014

Fodor's Review

Today the "Pink Palace," as it's called thanks to its paint job, is a storied resort and gulf-coast architectural landmark, with exterior and public areas oozing turn-of-the-20th-century elegance. Ditto for the rooms. The staff are known for friendly old-world service. The Don once was a favorite of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, Babe Ruth, and Clarence Darrow. Maritana Grille is the hotel's deservedly popular restaurant, which specializes in Florida seafood and is lined

with huge fish tanks. Ghost hunters may be interested in knowing that Tomas Rowe, who built this Roaring Twenties–era hotel, is said to have come back after death to meet his beloved; some guests and staff swear they see the couple occasionally having a rendezvous in the garden (more romantic than spooky); others say Rowe appears in corridors and rooms.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

3400 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, Florida, 33706, United States

Map It

Phone:

727-367–6952; 800-282–1116

Website: www.doncesar.com

Hotel Details:

  • 277 rooms, 40 suites, 70 condos
  • No meals

Updated 04/24/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Tampa Bay Area

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2007

Pinking it was Perfect

We just returned from our visit during Thanksgiving week and are planning to return next year as well. We had read some negative comments about the small rooms, but they were so well appointed and decorated so beautifully, that we didn't find the room lacking in any way. The staff was always friendly, always helpful, always attentive, and seemed genuinely happy to be there. The pool and beach were equally beautiful and clean and fully staffed.

The Maritana Grille was absolutely delicious and the waitstaff and chef were very amenable with my many food allergies.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2007

$$$$ But worth it !!

I have visited the Don CeSar on a yearly bases for the past 7 yrs. The setting is beatiful, as is the resort. People complain of the High cost, but if money is an issue, they may want to go to a hotel within their means. The staff is polite, very willing to help out with any problem. I Say 5 stars, cant wait for there NEW SPA TO OPEN IN THE SPRING, 2008.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2004

LOVE "THE DON"

I stayed here in July, 2004 and was charmed by the hotel. It's very big but our room was intimate and not in a bad, smallish way. It was a nicely decorated room with a "beach" decor and a view of the Gulf. I often looked out the window for the beauty of it all. I did not eat in the hotel except for breakfast so I cannot describe the restaurants. I love old hotels like this where there are big public rooms with lots of places to curl up with a good

book. The pool gets crowded and you have to be early to get a chaise lounge or you can do what I did and just set up at the outdoor bar and jump in when you feel like it. The hotel truly is right on the beach and there are cabanas for rent. The staff was very cordial and my car was always ready at the valet. I loved the place and would go back in a heartbeat.

Read More

By R

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2004

The Don is Done --

The Don used to be a nice hotel. Having stayed here once or twice a year for the past 5 years, I think I know quite a bit about the hotel. Something has happened. The Don is no longer the nice, clean, elite hotel that earned it its' reputation. The blanket in my room had holes in it. Well and in all fairness, it really wasn't much of a blanket to begin with -- it is one of those sheets of styrofoam that cheap hotels use as blankets. The towels

were thread bare -- well, to be fair, one towel was not worn down so far as to be thread bare, but it did have a hole in it. Perhaps it was once a blanket. Also, in the past, the Don made no qualms about not having any high tech internet access. This is a quaint old fashioned hotel with a charming history. However, they have recently informed guests that they have installed wireless internet access. What they failed to mention is that there is a $10 charge to use this service and, unfortunately, it is merely a "virtual" wireless web. It doesn't actually work. The signal is so poor, you won't actually be able to open even the smallest of websites. It will cost you $10 to find that out though. To top it off, on the first night of this trip, I was attacked in my room by cockroaches. If that doesn't freak you out, nothing will. On the positive side, staff was very pleasant. They were not helpful, but they were very pleasant about it. I asked to be moved to a room where I could actually get the wireless internet service I paid for and to escape the giant cockroaches. They told me they couldn't move me. Even though I saw dozens of families checking out on Saturday morning, they told me they didn't have any other rooms for me.

Read More

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2003

GREAT HOTEL!

This Hotel is a great place to stay! The rooms are beautiful, you have a fabulous beach to lounge on and it is located near many great restaraunts and shops.The hotel also has a great restaraunt and spa. I reccomend staying here. We are going back this year.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2002

Stressful Beach Resort

IF you go, get ready to play survivor with your fellow hotel guests. This resort is very crowded. You have to be the first for everything, otherwise the other hotel guests get the limited resources. If you are not at the pool or beach side by 9:00 a.m. you are just not going that day. The hotel is very crowed with wedding parties, who get quite drunk and obnoxious. Also, there are a lot of kids, so don't expect a get away weekend. After paying

close to top dollar and not getting much, if any, of the amenities, I came away more stressed then when I arrived. If you are looking for a luxury experience this is not it.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement