Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Tampa Bay Area Hotels

TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Pros

  • Great beachfront location
  • Close to restaurants

Cons

  • Large, sprawling complex
  • Lots of conventions
  • Pesky resort fee

Updated 04/24/2014

Fodor's Review

The only resort on the beach offering up its own fireworks display, the island-chic TradeWinds is very popular with foreign travelers and the go-to place for beach weddings; it's also one of the few pet-friendly resorts in the area, with a play area and a room-service menu for dogs and cats. There's actually an entire building with rooms reserved only for those traveling with pets. Those traveling with children will find loads of kid-friendly activities, too; the little

ones will love digging for sharks' teeth with the notorious pirate, Captain Redbeard. TradeWinds is also certified as "autism-friendly" by the Center for Autism & Related Disorders. Most rooms have a view of the beach, though you may have to crane your neck in some. The best views are from gulf-front suites with balconies. All rooms have undergone major renovations, and now have a classy aesthetic, as well as flat-screen TVs. There are on-site swimming lessons for children and adults.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, Florida, 33706, USA

Map It

Phone:

727-363–2212

Hotel Details:

  • 584 rooms, 103 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/24/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Tampa Bay Area

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By koala

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2012

We had a living social deal for the Tradewinds Sandpiper property now known as the "Guy Harvey Outpost" so we gave it a shot without knowing too much about it. The Tradewinds Grand Resort property just a a few hundred yards down the beach is a little nicer, but also pricier. This one was a slightly older property with spacious rooms, but was clean and very convenient. The service was excellent and very friendly. They only had one cafe-type restaurant,

and we ate there for breakfast only and then had dinner elsewhere as it wasn't very visually appealing and the food lacked creativity. The beach was great and the pools were fine. Was glad they had an adults only one, even thought it didn't have a view of the beach. For the price this makes a very enjoyable moderately priced casual vacation.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2009

Room looked like an upper class motel room.

Great location; nice and quite as it's set back from Gulf Blvd.

By flylady

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2008

Terrible Service and property

Worst stay I have ever had at a resort anywhere. Service very bad, room very low end, food not good. Do not waste your time or money. We left a day early. Very disappointing.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2008

Wonderful service and property

We stayed at the Sandpiper property of the TradeWinds this past month (March) and it was awesome! We really liked the adults only pool and had a fun time our entire visit (walked over to Island Grand and had a wonderful meal at Bermudas). Housekeeping was attentive, and everyone smiled at us everywhere we went. Our room had a gulf view and was clean and comfy. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and I would definately advise anyone who is considering

visiting this part of the gulf coast to check out TradeWinds!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2008

A Noisy, Buggy mess

We stayed at the the Tradewinds Sandpiper in march 2008 and found the experience to be intolerable. There are 2 bars next door that crank the tunes from 2 pm to 1 am every day. Lots of LOUD familys, smokers and "How Ya Doin" easterners. music is played everywhere from the hallways, restaurant, bathrooms etc. Also we had lice bugs in our beds and overall the room were not cleaned properly. The maid knocked on our door at 11:00 am even though we

had our DO Not Disturb sign out. I wanted to escape!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement