The Lower Gulf Coast Restaurants

Advertisement

Shrimp Shack

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Shrimp Shack Review

Seafood lovers, families, and retired snowbirds flock to this venue with its vivacious staff, bustle, and colorful, cartoonish wall murals. There's a wait for lunch in winter season and a brisk take-out business with drive-through. Southern-style deep frying prevails—whole-belly clams, grouper, shrimp, onion rings, hush puppies, and fried pork loins—though you can get certain selections broiled or blackened, and there's some New England flavor with seafood rolls at lunch. Create your own combo by selecting two or three fried, broiled, or blackened choices. Kids love this place for the buzzing atmosphere and parents love the inexpensive kids meals. For more savings, print out the restaurant's "Kids Eat Free" coupon from the web site. This is your place if you like your seafood simple.

Updated: 05-12-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Value  
    Décor  
    Food  
    Service  

    WONDERFUL FOR LUNCH..

    Yes i visted the shrimp shack for lunch on metro in fort myers.. IT'S great i love there food and desserts the service was very good..

    by cutiepie0258, 4/3/07
  • Value  
    Food  
    Service  
    Décor  

    Horrible experience

    Among the worst restuarants that I have dined at. Apetizer was burnt, Had to ask manager for silverware and plates after our burnt crab cakes were tossed on our table. Our entrees arrived without any side dishes, after several minutes we were told that they had ran out. Entrees were horrible, the fish was rubbery, scallops were under cooked, hushpuppies were also undercooked and didn't taste like anything, very bland. I had to hunt down the waitress to have our drinks refilled.

    by JBV, 5/14/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wish I never Went

    I just left the Shrimp Shack on Colonial Boulevard, and thank goodness I do not live far - I just made it home in time to deposit the terrible meal I ate where it belongs in my bathroom. It was the worst meal I have ever eaten in my life, the food waa so salty, the fried food tasted like it was fried in oil that was in the frier since the place opened! The after taste is very disturbing and I know I will never go back to this restaurant ever again. It was a total waste of money, and can now understand why there were not that many tables occupied.The table was filthy, left over food all over the sides, like no one cared enough to clean it. I do not know how they are in business. I have never done this before, but I felt obliged to tell of this very unfulfilling experience.

    by dinerouter, 11/29/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect for reasonably priced fresh seafood

    1st time at the Shrimp Shack on Metro today. I am very surprised at the negative comments posted here. The food was delivered quickly and was hot and fresh. The service was excellent. Definitely a bargain. It is obvious why the place is packed and people waiting outside every evening.

    by Bobmfl, 4/4/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    THE BEST ANYWHERE

    We love this place. We are locals and eat here at least twice a week. The service is always good, and the food is so hot and fresh. The locals love this place and in season the out of towners do too. A must eat here place.

    by lcda, 9/28/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    PERFECT!!!!!

    We loved it, we just ate here for the second time this trip. We can't wait to come back next year. We live in Boston and this is the real deal for New England Seafood.

    by kksmomie, 10/1/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Seafood Delight

    We have been coming to the Shrimp Shack since they opened and have never been disappointed. The service is great and we have found the staff to be very attentive. The food is incredible! The seafood tastes like it was just caught fresh and delivered from the docks. We have many good restaurants here in Naples but still think the Shrimp Shack is well worth the drive to Ft. Myers. We will be happy patrons for many years to come!

    by NaplesNative, 10/4/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The best seafood in town!

    Wow! Where do I start? No wonder this restaurant usually has lines waiting at the door. The atmosphere is fun. Colorful seafood caricatures delightfully decorate the walls of this lively restaurant. My children loved them. Our server was very friendly and very knowledgable about the menu. We each choose someting different so we could sample a little bit of everything. No one was disappointed! From the fried shrimp, blackened white fish, tasty scallops and buffalo chicken tenders everyone was happy. We especially enjoyed the onion rings with just a light breading and great flavor. We had always heard wonderful things about the Shrimp Shack and decided to try it for ourselves. I travel extensively for business, especially to New England, and this seafood restaurant is right up there with the best of them. Add us to the long list of loyal patrons. We will definitely be back again and again!

    by DiscerningTraveler, 10/8/08

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Shrimp Shack

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums