Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Lower Gulf Coast Restaurants

Shrimp Shack

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Seafood lovers, families, and retired snowbirds flock to this venue with its vivacious staff, bustle, and colorful, cartoonish wall murals. There's a wait for lunch in winter season and a brisk take-out business with drive-through. Southern-style deep frying prevails—whole-belly clams, grouper, shrimp, onion rings, hush puppies, and fried pork loins—though you can get certain selections broiled or blackened, and there's some New England flavor with seafood rolls at

lunch. Create your own combo by selecting two or three fried, broiled, or blackened choices. Kids love this place for the buzzing atmosphere and parents love the inexpensive kids meals. For more savings, print out the restaurant's "Kids Eat Free" coupon from the web site. This is your place if you like your seafood simple.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

13361 Metro Pkwy., Fort Myers, Florida, 33912, USA

Map It

Phone:

239-561–6817

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in The Lower Gulf Coast

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2008

The best seafood in town!

Wow! Where do I start? No wonder this restaurant usually has lines waiting at the door. The atmosphere is fun. Colorful seafood caricatures delightfully decorate the walls of this lively restaurant. My children loved them. Our server was very friendly and very knowledgable about the menu. We each choose someting different so we could sample a little bit of everything. No one was disappointed! From the fried shrimp, blackened white fish, tasty

scallops and buffalo chicken tenders everyone was happy. We especially enjoyed the onion rings with just a light breading and great flavor. We had always heard wonderful things about the Shrimp Shack and decided to try it for ourselves. I travel extensively for business, especially to New England, and this seafood restaurant is right up there with the best of them. Add us to the long list of loyal patrons. We will definitely be back again and again!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2008

Seafood Delight

We have been coming to the Shrimp Shack since they opened and have never been disappointed. The service is great and we have found the staff to be very attentive. The food is incredible! The seafood tastes like it was just caught fresh and delivered from the docks. We have many good restaurants here in Naples but still think the Shrimp Shack is well worth the drive to Ft. Myers. We will be happy patrons for many years to come!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2008

PERFECT!!!!!

We loved it, we just ate here for the second time this trip. We can't wait to come back next year. We live in Boston and this is the real deal for New England Seafood.

By lcda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2008

THE BEST ANYWHERE

We love this place. We are locals and eat here at least twice a week. The service is always good, and the food is so hot and fresh. The locals love this place and in season the out of towners do too. A must eat here place.

By Bobmfl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2008

Perfect for reasonably priced fresh seafood

1st time at the Shrimp Shack on Metro today. I am very surprised at the negative comments posted here. The food was delivered quickly and was hot and fresh. The service was excellent. Definitely a bargain. It is obvious why the place is packed and people waiting outside every evening.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2007

Wish I never Went

I just left the Shrimp Shack on Colonial Boulevard, and thank goodness I do not live far - I just made it home in time to deposit the terrible meal I ate where it belongs in my bathroom. It was the worst meal I have ever eaten in my life, the food waa so salty, the fried food tasted like it was fried in oil that was in the frier since the place opened! The after taste is very disturbing and I know I will never go back to this restaurant ever again.

It was a total waste of money, and can now understand why there were not that many tables occupied.The table was filthy, left over food all over the sides, like no one cared enough to clean it. I do not know how they are in business. I have never done this before, but I felt obliged to tell of this very unfulfilling experience.

Read More

By JBV

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2007

Horrible experience

Among the worst restuarants that I have dined at. Apetizer was burnt, Had to ask manager for silverware and plates after our burnt crab cakes were tossed on our table. Our entrees arrived without any side dishes, after several minutes we were told that they had ran out. Entrees were horrible, the fish was rubbery, scallops were under cooked, hushpuppies were also undercooked and didn't taste like anything, very bland. I had to hunt down the waitress

to have our drinks refilled.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2007

WONDERFUL FOR LUNCH..

Yes i visted the shrimp shack for lunch on metro in fort myers.. IT'S great i love there food and desserts the service was very good..

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2006

Excellent Service and Food

Robert (From Boston), please go back there ASAP. We don't need some Yankee telling us how the seafood is better in Boston and running down our local establishments. If it's better in Boston, please move back post-haste, otherwise get with the local charm of Florida and quit being such an North Eastern Snob. On the subject of the Shrimp Shack, I would hope they build one in Tampa, we have nothing like it here and I believe it would do very well.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2006

Go home folks, there's nothing to "sea" here!

Billed as being "hot, thick, creamy & full of clams", the New England Clam Chowder at Shrimp Shack went one-for-four. It turned out to be luke-warm, thick, muddy & full of undisolved cornstarch chunks! There were little more than two small pieces of clam necks in both of our entire bowls. After 48 years of living in New England and attending many chowder-fests, I know that clam chowder bad or pure heaven in a bowl. Shrimp Shack's was one of worst

clam chowders I've ever tasted! As for the rest of the food, I'll keep it short: it does not get better from here folks! I believe it speaks "fathoms" for this roadside chain of fried-seafood restaurants. After visiting this area over one hundred times since the early 80's, and living here almost two years, you should be made aware there are many other fried-seafood restaurants in Southwest Florida that are far superior. Ask the locals where they go for good inexpensive seafood. Not only will you be happy for doing this, you'll be very surprised to find out that some of these places aren't even seafood restaurants! My picks: The best New England clam chowder in Florida is from Legal Seafoods in Boca Raton. They're a Boston-based chain (of course!). Also, there's a great restaurant in Key West on Duval Street called Mangoes. They make a New England-style conch chowder that is excellent.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2005

Shrimp Shack is MORE than shrimp!!!

The shimp shack may not have the biggest menu, but for a sea food lover, but with what is there you have many good choices. Broiled, fried and blackened, how ever you make like it, you can pretty much get it. Portions were good, service was prompt and friendly. Check them out.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2005

#1 seafood

Best seafood in town!!!!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement