Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Hotels

Ambrosia Key West

  • 615, 618, 622 Fleming St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Spacious rooms
  • Poolside breakfast
  • Friendly staff

Cons

  • On-street parking can be tough to come by
  • A little too spread out

Updated 07/15/2014

Fodor's Review

If you desire personal attention, a casual atmosphere, and a dollop of style, stay at these twin inns spread out on nearly 2 acres. Ambrosia is more intimate, with themed rooms such as the Treetop, Sailfish Suites, and Havana Cabana. Ambrosia Too is a delightful art-filled hideaway. Rooms and suites have original work by local artists, wicker or wood furniture, and spacious bathrooms. Each has a private entrance and deck, patio, or porch. Poolside full breakfast is included,

and children are welcome.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

615, 618, 622 Fleming St., Key West, Florida, 33040, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-296–9838; 800-535–9838

Hotel Details:

  • 6 rooms, 3 town houses, 1 cottage, 10 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 07/15/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2008

Location, Personal Service and Atmosphere

This was the first time my husband I stayed at a B & B. We were nervous because we had heard stories of some being dirty and not well kept. That was not the case at all at the Ambrosia Home. We got in at about 7pm on Friday and their office closes at 6pm. We did get a call on our drive down from Ms. Ambrosia to insure we were ok and if there was anything we needed. They left the room unlocked and the keys on the bed for us. The room was Havana Cabana!

A cuban theme, it was great! The bed was so confortable and the bathroom was very large. When we checked in the next morning, we met Ben. He was great. He knew anything and everything about Key West and the things to do. He gave us discounts on the things we wanted to do and made sure we were comfortable with everything. Ben showed us to the pool and spa and also they offer breakfast at no cost. It is not the typical breakfast you get in a hotel, it is hot and wonderful! Housekeeping was great! She would come in every day and clean, put in new towels and make the bed. They have a gratuity envelope for your housekeeper. She is wonderful. This home is located about 2 or 3 blocks from Duval, and is a little bit of a walk to Mallory Square. I highly recommend talking to Ben about mopeds. Its the greatest thing in Key West. There is so much to do and see and with the moped, you can do it all. Very cheap also. I think this concludes my thoughts, oh, it is also pet friendly! I hope you enjoy this home as much as we did!

Read More

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2005

Really wanted to like it...

Planned to stay here 5 nights. Very nice little place. We had a poolside room, which was very nice, although some of the furniture was age-weary. However, we were on the first floor and there were a lot of heavy foot steps above us. Turned out it was only a single, middle-aged woman walking around barefoot! When new, louder people came we asked to be moved upstairs. We were and it was immediatley obvious that the floor was rigid and hollow.

Don't stay here unless you can get an upstairs room! We wanted to leave early because there were some noisy people congregating in the pool frequently, and a young couple blasting their radio. The managment would not refund us, so we stuck around for a couple more days but couldn't take the drunk hillbillies anymore and left one day early. The staff seemed sympathetic, but still no refund. Must just be bad luck for us. Nice room, cold have been great atmosphere, decent breakfast.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2005

Best B&B

We have been to Key West several times and this was, by far, the best place we have stayed. We had the Jungle Room which was very unique. Very private with a pool and large deck right outside the doors...the grounds were very nice as well as the staff. Great place to stay!!!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2005

Amazing!

This is simply an amazing place, as is Kate's latest property The Gardens Hotel. There are not many places in Key West or anywhere like this. The interior design, the artwork, the custom linens, are what make these properties unique. But it's the PEOPLE who will make your stay most memorable!

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2004

Purely a romantic atmosphere

Stayed in the Treetop room. Atmosphere galore. Romanticism galore. Four poster bed, wood floors, private deck area, private entrance and seclusion. One of the most terrific Guest Houses in Florida.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2004

Ambrosia is (Tree)Tops!

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week (7/21-28) in the Tree Top Two room at Ambrosia Two.This room gave us a view of the pool and courtyard ,which in the morning(we are morning people)was a great spot to have our coffee.The room itself was large with a king bed and plenty of drawer space which even we, who always over pack could not fill.The bathroom was big enough for a bath/shower, fridge, coffee maker a large wall to wall closet, two wicker

pieces with more drawer space, you could live here!The room was always spotless, great house keeping staff who always kept us well supplied with coffee and bottled water.The grounds were well kept and swept daily.The breakfast(expanded Continental) had the usual items of cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins,yogurt, coffee and juice etc. Be forewarned though, this does not start until 9am, so if your hungry earlier fill your fridge or try one of the many restaurants.The staff at Amb. 2 was extremely pleasant, cheerfull and full of info. and recommendations for all activities. Thanks to Tina for the fishing charter she said I should use, great trip.Would I stay here again? Without a doubt.We have stayed at The Pier House and The Marquesa and this was the most casual + relaxing stay we've had in Key West.If you are looking for a change from the chain hotels in KW this is my choice. P.S. Kate Miano owner/Inn keeper of Ambrosia is the new owner of the Gardens Inn.

Read More

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2004

Ambrosia Too is Absolute Paradise!

Absolutely beautiful property with lush landscaping and private swimming/sunning areas. The staff is very friendly. The homemade muffins are to die for!! The one thing that would make this B&B perfect is to have the bedrooms and baths a little cleaner. We did, however, enjoy our stay and would go back in a heart beat. Thank you Marilyn for all of your help!!

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2004

The Best of Old Town in Key West

Have been to Key West numerous times, but a recent stay at Ambrosia House on Fleming was our best yet! The location is the best we've found in Old Town, a short walk to Duvall Street, harbor marina, Mallory Square-even Zachary Taylor State Park (best beach) and Louie's Backyard, our favorite place for an ocean-side lunch, are only a ten-minute walk from Ambrosia. And, the lodging rooms are affordable, very comfortable, and tropical! A free continental

breakfast, featuring local fruits and fresh baked goods was served poolside. The helpful staff made us feel not only welcome, but, like we were family. We'll be back!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2003

Ambrosia too is GREAT

Stayed in Ambrosia Too in Nov -03. Very nicely decorated both inside and exterior. Very clean! Romantic with palmtrees and flowers, birds and two pools not very large but one is lit up at night and you can take a dip in the evening if you don´t make to much noice.. Everywhere you look you will notice little details like scented candels and small statues etc. Our room (poolside room) was elegant and clean with a nice private bath and lots of thick

towels.The furnishing was in light ash and the floor in marble. good A/C and a fridge and coffee maker with free coffe and water bottles. Ironing board in closet and robes to lend during the stay. Beach towels at reception free of use. Staff wery friendly and discret and service minded. Breakfast was really good with fresch tropical fruits, different cereal and yougurth and coffe/the. Bagels, toast and muffins, and different juices. We had no problem with parking outside, the staff helped us. Rate 150 usd due to a holiday, otherwise it would have been 130usd /night (late nov) Perfect location in Old town. Loved it!

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2003

What A Great Place and Location

We stayed at Katies kottage. (5 of us)Loved being steps from the pool and the cats were so sweet. The grounds and artwork were special. Made all of us feel as if we were in our own private little world. Such a great time. We will be back

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2003

Ambrosia Suite

You couldn't ask for a better location in KW. We had an adorable (maybe even over-decorated) two-room suite in the original house. The little lagoon pool was SO refreshing on those hot days. Kate and the staff were helpful and personable. We loved our poolside breakfast but be warned . . . it doesn't start until 9:00! That's our only complaint!

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2002

Quiet but close to the action

My wife and I stayed at Ambrosia for three nights recently. We made our reservations at the last minute so we had the unique exprience of staying in three different rooms in three nights. Although all the rooms were quite different in size and decor, all shared the same comfortable Key West feel. The staff were very conscientious, (especially Jeremy who helped us w/ our last minute reservations) and helpful and the property is magnificient. Perfect

for a relaxing time, but so close to the madness of Duval Street.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2002

A Feast for the Senses!

Ambrosia House lives up to it's name in every sense of the word. The sights, scents, scenery, and overall atmosphere make this guest house experience simply delicious! Be sure to give it a try if you want a lasting Key West memory.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2002

The stay at the Ambrosia House lives up to every "sense" of it's name!

Our stay at the Ambrosia House exemplifies the essence of Key West and the Florida Keys. Along with some of the best service in the Keys, the laid back atmosphere, the sights, the smells, the weather, makes your stay at this beautiful B & B truly a time to remember.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement