Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Restaurants

Alabama Jack's

  • 58000 Card Sound Rd. Map It
  • $
  • Seafood

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Calories be damned—the conch fritters here are heaven on a plate. Don't expect the traditional, golf-ball sized balls of dough, these are an unusual, mountainous freeform creation of fried, loaded-with-flavor perfection. The crab cakes, made from local blue crabs, earn hallelujahs, too. The conch salad is as good as any you'll find in the Bahamas. This weathered, circa-1950 restaurant floats on two roadside barges in an old fishing community. Regulars include motorcyclists,

families, boaters and the upscale crowd from nearby Ocean Reef Club, including Kathie Lee Gifford, who all come not only for the food but to admire tropical birds in the nearby mangroves, the occasional crocodile in the canal, and to jam with the bans playing each weekend afternoon. Dinner has to be early here; Jack's closes by 7, when the mosquitoes start biting. It's about a half-hour drive from Key Largo, so you may want to plan a visit for your drive in or out.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

58000 Card Sound Rd., Key Largo, Florida, 33037, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-248–8741

Restaurant Details:

  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in The Florida Keys

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By phinz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2008

The Gateway

If you go to Alabama Jacks expecting normal restaurant-level service, then your expectations couldn't be more out of tune with what Alabama Jacks is all about. The service is quick, the beer is cold and the food is incredible. Conch salad, conch fritters and a Red Stripe in the sun, staring at the mangroves and listening to live music are what this place is all about. It smells like the Keys, it looks like the Keys, and you can't put a price

on this kind of atmosphere. I don't need a busboy with a crumber or a sommelier standing in the corner with a white towel over his arm to enjoy the food and libations. Just take my order, throw the paper bowl of fritters in front of me and make sure my beer doesn't dry up. Everything else would just be stuff I don't need when I dine al fresco in the Keys.

Read More

By donh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2007

Won't go to Miami again without making a stop at AJ'S

What a fun place. We are from the Tampa area where there is Grouper everyplace you turn. The Grouper finers here were by far the best we have ever had. We will be back again and again!!

By Su

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2006

Laid back and Key Wasted

Ya gotta stop for a real taste of the Keys!

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2006

Most stop on way to Keys

I was born and raised in S. Florida and have been to The Keys regularly since birth. Alabama Jacks is the one place we must stop at on the way back from boating in Islamorada or partying in Key West. My wife and I have driven from Palm Beach to Alabama Jack just for the Conch Fritters. The service may not be fine dining, but we don't go there for service. We go there for great food in a great place. If you're heading down to the Keys, or coming

back, make sure you stop by here and relax for a little bit before continuing your drive in either direction.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2005

Service Slacker but Fab Food

The interior wasn't as bad as I expected (based on the exterior). Menu selection is good; serving sizes were smaller than I expected (all served in paper or plastic containers) but the food was well cooked & tasty. Beer & coolers were a bit overpriced for the atmosphere ($4.50 for a cooler; $4 beer). Same waitress on 2 visits; she was lousy & unbelieveably rude but clueless that her comments were inappropriate and inconsiderate. We'll be sure to

ask for someone else if we ever go back.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2004

Alive and kicking.

AJ is still there and doing good business judging from the amount of traffic we saw on our recent drive down the keys(7/14-28). Location: AJ is not on Key Largo but is right before the toll booths on the right hand side going to Key Largo, you'll probably see cars and trucks alongside the road.Anyway, take a seat at the bar or a waterside table and get a cold one, we ordered 2 apps(conch and grouper) very good and large, they could pass for entree's.

Warning though, since AJ is on the Mangrove channels spray yourself down with bug repellent or use the bars, you will get bit no matter what time it is.AJ is an original an a FLA. classic dont pass it up.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement