Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Restaurants

The Fish House

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Restaurants not on the water have to produce the highest quality food to survive in the Keys. That's how the Fish House has succeeded since the 1980s—so much so that it built the Fish House Encore (a fancier version) next door to accommodate fans. The pan-sautéed catch of the day is a long-standing favorite, as is the "Matecumbe-style" preparation—baked with tomatoes, capers, olive oil, and lemon juice, it will make you moan with pleasure. Prefer shellfish? Choose

from shrimp, lobster, and (mid-October to mid-May) stone crab. The smoked fish chunks are the best in the Keys. The only thing bland is their side dishes: simple boiled red potatoes, a hunk of corn on the cob, or black beans and rice. For a sweet ending, the homemade key lime pie is award-winning.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

MM 102.4 OS, 102341 Overseas Hwy., Key Largo, Florida, 33037, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-451–4665

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sept.
  • Reservations not accepted
  • American Express not accepted

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2006

Great Shrimp Dishes!

We asked the "activities director" (which kind of reminded me of Julie from The Love Boat, but I digress) at our hotel to recommend a good restaurant, and this was her suggestion. A fellow guest at the hotel that was standing nearby piped in and agreed with her recommendation. I'm glad that they told us about The Fish House, because otherwise, by the looks on the outside, we would have never have stopped. It was busy, but not too crowded. My husband

and I both really enjoyed our dinners! The portion size was huge! Although, for some reason, every dish seemed to come with a side of corn on the cob? It didn't make sense, especially with the more soupy dishes! Anyway, it was a little pricey, and after my husband and I agreed that we wish we would have just shared 1 dish. Lots of good food and money went to waste since we had no place to store it at the hotel. The Key Lime Pie was delicious!!! This was probably my most favorite meal in Key Largo! I definitely recommend you come hungry, though.

Read More

By Carla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2006

Delicious!

This place is not the least bit fancy. It was crowded and noisy the night we were there, but I would go back again in a heartbeat. I had the catch of the day, pan sauteed. The portions were generous. It was absolutely delicious.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2006

Favorite Keys Resturant

We stopped here after asking 4 locals where to go for fish and all 4 said "Fish House". Someone driving by may be frightened by the outside, but it is part of the charm. Workers are extremely friendly, the atmosphere is like being in a cool friend's basement and the food is some of the best I've ever tasted. You could probably shop around and get cheaper fish, but it would never be as consistently tastey. A must stop on the way to Key West.

By Ted

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2005

Overly Priced Fresh Seafood

Our last dinner in the Keys was a little disappointing. The Mahi-Mahi was very fresh and cooked as requested. That's where it ended. Service was fast but cold, almost rushed. The flavors of everything were average or below...bland. The prices were well above average. We ate at numerous restaurants in Key West and Marathon, this was way over priced for the flavor, presentation and service received. We will look elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2004

So Very Keye

The freshest fish in interesting presentations. Try the conch chowder!

By Jana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2004

Great Fresh Seafood!

We visited the Fish House twice because it was so good. We enjoyed the large broiled shrimp (the broiled seafood platter is great!), we had delicious stone crab, fresh ceviche with large pieces of fish in it, and the key lime pie for dessert. Everything was really fresh. The best was the catch of the day with the black and blue sauce. It was a creamy sauce with a hint of blue cheese and creole spice over the fresh fish and was absolutely incredible!

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2003

Not impressed

Did not think it was a very good meal. Average at best and the sides were awful - Must have prepared them day before . Can not recommend

By Crystal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2003

Fresh fish fast and friendly

My husband and I have been twice and loved it. We like it for it's variety - both in types of seafood and the method of cooking. You can get it bare naked and they'll grill, fry, blacken or broil it. Or they'll dress your fish in one of their house specialty sauces. This place is not for one seeking high-end gourmet. Only those seeking good fresh fish at a reasonable price in a casual atmosphere with friendly, knowledgable waiters will be satisfied

here.

Read More

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2001

A must miss

Food was very average, at a slightly above average price. I went with three other people, and while it wasn't the most horrible dining experience I've ever had. our entire party would never go back again.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement