Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Hotels

Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge

  • 33000 Overseas Hwy. Map It
  • Clubby Atmosphere

Pros

  • Local fishing crowd
  • Nice pool
  • Great price

Cons

  • RV park is too close to motel
  • Deer will eat your food if you're camping

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

There's a congenial atmosphere at this lively family-owned lodge-campground-marina—a happy mix of tent campers (who have the fabulous waterfront real estate), RVers (who look pretty permanent), and motel dwellers who like to mingle at the rooftop pool and challenge each other to a game of poker. Rooms have tile floors, wicker furniture, and doors that allow sea breezes to waft through. A skywalk joins the upper story rooms with the pool and deck. Campsites range from

rustic to full hook-ups. Everything is spotless—even the campground's bathhouse—and the service is good-natured and efficient. Satellite wireless means you can pick up a signal most places on property, depending on the weather. The staff will book you a room, sell you bait, or hook you up with a fishing charter. There are plenty of family-oriented activities, so the youngsters will never complain about being bored. Discounts are available for weeklong or longer stays.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

MM 33 OS, 33000 Overseas Hwy., Big Pine Key, Florida, 33043, United States

Map It

Phone:

305-872–2351

Hotel Details:

  • 16 efficiencies
  • No meals

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Florida Keys

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By TEDSTER

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2008

GREAT MEMORIAL DAY

First time to the lodge and had a great time with my family,would recommend this camp site to anyone.The people were very helpful and polite. Service was spectacular, we will return there for sure. thanks, Ted.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2008

unexpected surprise

We were fortunate enough to stop in and ask if there were any RV sites available-there was one! We booked for one and ended up staying for 3. What a gem you have. From the check in to the check out we were treated just like family. Open and friendly. Clean and efficient. We are keeping our fingers crossed for a site next winter. We knew the name of Joanne from the first person that we met. We thank her and her daughter for doing such a wonderful job

in a "business" that is getting less and less personal-except at BPKFL!!!! Thank you!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2007

4 Generations now staying there

My husband has been spending three weeks at BPKFL every year for 30 some odd years. The place is definetly home. We spend the other 49 weeks of the year talking about going and planning our trip. The day we get back from being there we are ready for another three weeks. This year we will have the fourth generation of our family visiting our "happiest place on earth". The separation from T.V.(we camp in a tent)and the simpler way of life has us

yearning to be back all year long. The Gladwell's are the best family in all of the Keys. They know how to take care of guests. You would think we were related how we talk about them once we get home. Well after you stay there you'll know what I mean you get to know them and they become a family away from home. Our family consists of 22 people this year making the 5 hour drive which we ould be willing to do no matter how long it was it is very worth the time money and energy involved. HAPPY LOBSTER YA'LL

Read More

By gbrowan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2007

Better then Bahia Honda!

We just returned from Big Pine yesterday after spending Spring Break camping. We were very pleased with the campground. We stayed at Bahia Honda last year but couldn't get in this year. My family and I decided that we will not be going back to Bahia Honda. BPKFL has everything that we need (pool, great campstore, great staff, spotless restrooms and family restrooms, arcade for the kids). We also felt that the campground was probably a little safer

for our children on their bikes. The campground is gated 24/7, so no one is driving through to 'look around'. The 'regulars', retired older couples who winter at BPKFL are wonderful people. We camped in our popup for 4 nights and the cost for 5 people (with tax) was about $270...great value for the keys. I would highly recommend BPKFL.

Read More

By rachwRN

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2007

Feels Like Home

Like many of the other reviewers, much of my family has been staying at BPKFL for 25+ years during the first weeks of August for lobster season. We LOVE it! It's clean, fun, comfortable and such a joy to return to. The fact that we have returned year after year speaks for itself. Just GO THERE!!!!!!

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 19, 2005

Love this place, will visit for many years to come!

My boyfriend's grandmom is retired and spends 2-3 months each winter here, faithfully. She has a trailer on a lot. My boyfriend and I have been going down there to visit her each winter faithfully for 5 years, since we first met. We wouldnt stay anywhere else. The grounds are magnificently kept, the staff is friendly and resourceful, and the faithful folk who stay there every year are so friendly and laid back. They have continuous activities and

the camp store has everything you could ever need (including complimentary coffee in the morning). In addition to that, it's located only 33 miles from Key West. There's plentiful wildlife all around you, the deer are like dogs and will come right up to you in hopes of a free meal (but dont ever feed them, they are endangered). You have access to water all around you, which for an avid pair of kayakers/snorkelers/divers is a paradise. You also have access to fishing and one of the key's worl renowned fishermen stays right there at the lodge waiting and ready for anyone who wants to go back country fishing or snorkel Looe Key (thanks Dusty)! There is fine dining all around you. And the view of the moon and stars at nite from the tiki hut beach is phenomenal. I just cant say enough good things about this place. I HIGHLY RECOMEND IT! We will continue to visit Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge for many years to come. (As for the folks a few comments down who left a bad message,c'mon, they just went thru a hurricane. When your surrounded by water, what do you expect to have happen. All of America knew about all the hurricanes that hit the south over the past few months, you should have known to call and find out the conditions. Dont let a hurricane's wrath leave a bad taste in your mouth. This place is truely a diamond in the rough!)

Read More

By Dale

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2005

BPK is laid back and fun

I have stayed with friends and in my own camper and could not say anything bad. This is a great family place with good and clean facilitys. Will definitly go back .

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2005

BASQUE IN THE SUN & REST WITHOUT A CARE!

We had a fabulous time, lucked out & got a canal site for the RV. Very relaxing and the staff were exceptional and polite.The other guests were pleasant & friendly....The wildlife was everywhere. It was a great way to relax & rest, everything is there games, water, fishing, the pool.... What more could you ask for.... IT WAS WONDERFUL & WE WILL GO BACK AGAIN!

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2005

Relax or Rev up

My husband and I (and sometimes the rest of the grown family) have gone to Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge for 10 years with a school group. This group (called Project Biology has been welcomed there by the staff and the camping "regulars" for at least 25 years. We have also stayed in the lodge which is clean and comfortable. The rooms are "nice" -- they are not fancy, but yet perfect the kind of time spent in the Keys (beach, sand, pool, snorkleing,

great dining). They offer two exits from each room, the back exit. includes a picnic table overlooking the water. The atmosphere is relaxing but with enough activity available in the area for those that want great dining and a huge variety of other activities. When we retire we plan to spend time there.

Read More

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2005

a log time camper, the owners are like family

I have been going down to joans resort BIG PINE KEY FISING LODGE for two months in the summer my whole life, that of 26 years. My father and mother have been going there since the second year it opened almost 30 years ago every summer faithfully. I have grown up there, seen a lot of changes, people come and go. To me its a second home I know everone there. Even old man john who actually lives on the camp ground. In august they have a traditional

lobster hop or play to say, and they have a bannana split party too, bring your biggest bowl. To any one wanting to stay in the area big pine key fishing lodge will welcome you. My father passed away with cancer jan 16th 2005 everyone will remember George W Scott the man who gave me all the memories of this special place in this small key in big pine florida. I LOVE YOU DAD. CHRIS SCOTT.

Read More

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

Made our Keys family vacation complete!

We had a bumpy start to a much anticipated family trip to the Keys with our new camper. We decided to stay a few extra days and booked at the last minute at Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge...got a great site and thoroughly loved the place!! We will never stay anywhere else again!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement