Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Hotels

Coconut Palm Inn

Pros

  • Secluded
  • Quiet
  • Sophisticated feel

Cons

  • Front desk closes early each evening
  • No access to ice machine when staff leaves
  • Breakfast is ho-hum

Updated 07/15/2014

Fodor's Review

You'd never find this waterfront haven unless someone told you it was there, as it's tucked into a residential neighborhood beneath towering palms and native gumbo limbos. No wonder it's a favorite of travel magazines. Each unit overlooks part of the 400-foot beach, where draping hammocks beckon you to nap. Prefer to paddleboard or kayak? Just slide one off the sand and go. Or take a dip in the pool. Less adventurous types can head for the Adirondack chairs along the shoreline

or to those placed at the far end of the docks that jet into the bay. Units are comfortable, spacious and could be the backdrop for a Tommy Bahama ad with their upscale, tropical decor and hand-carved furniture. Small patios give you your own slice of paradise. Breakfast is served beneath the bayfront chickee.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

MM 92 BS, 198 Harborview Dr., via Jo-Jean Way off Overseas Hwy., Tavernier, Florida, 33070, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-852–3017

Hotel Details:

  • 13 rooms, 7 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 07/15/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Florida Keys

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2010

Coconut Palm Inn Review

Best value in the keys. Big time resort level beach and pool area. Big rooms. Smaller tucked away place. Service best of any hotel I have been at.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2008

PERFECT HIDEAWAY

We celebrated our 15 year anniversary there this past weekend. WOW, exactly what we were looking for. Not commercialized at all. Quiet, very relaxing atmosphere. Hammocks to relax under the palm trees. Pool to chill out in, rooms were perfect size for us. Continental breakfast under the Tiki Bar every morning. Dock right there (free) to keep the boat with the ramp right on site. Couldn't have picked a more perfect place and will definately

be returning with the kids.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2008

Very Disappointing

Rooms were nicely furnished and freshly painted, but simple amenities were nonexistent! I felt I'd dropped back in time; as an antique lover, that's heaven for me, but this place definitely wasn't heaven. What's with paying over $200 a night for a motel that closes its front desk at 6 pm? We had problems locking the slider to the porch, and thought we'd left the single key they'd given us on the bed. Thank heavens we hadn't, because with no one

at the desk, who would we have called? We had no phone to use in emergencies, no clock to help us arise in the morning, no wash cloths at all the first night (apparently, all were in the wash), and no light at our door to see how to unlock the door (but one was provided when we asked). The tiki hut breakfast was exactly the same both days---underwhelming. I would not stay here again, and I am really not that picky. Did we stay at the same place that got all these other rave reviews???? I think not.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2007

A Great Getaway

What a great getaway. The location is ideal with fantastic views of Florida Bay and a short boat ride to the ocean. We've stayed here on two different occasions and are planning a third visit. Everyone was very nice. It's an easy going place and the other guests were wonderful. The rooms are very clean! The palm trees and hammocks make for a wonderful setting.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2007

Amazing View!

The hotel was more than I expected. It is hard to judge a hotel on-line because images posted are often enhanced to bring in business. I searched for weeks to find a place to stay that had evrything we were looking for. Needless to say we have found our second home and plan on returning often for relaxing weekend getaways! Staff was always extremely helpful and patient as I booked last minute! Recommend for all types of trips whether romantic,

business, pleasure, etc.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2007

Romantically Perfect

We were pleasantly surprised how clean and well maintained the Inn was. The staff was friendly and had great recommendations for dining and recreation. The atmosphere was so relaxing and we really enjoyed our stay. Room 15 is awesome. Our neighbors were friendly and we enjoyed their company. Great place to vacation. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

A Magic Little Hideaway

This lovely small inn is perfect for a quiet retreat from the real world. I absolutely loved my time there and will definitely return.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2007

more than we expected

What a great place to stay. No complaints. Polite office staff, lovely room, great views. We had a perfect stay.

By waytogo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2007

Exceptional find!

Away from the maddening crowd -- this spot is convenient to all, but enchantingly private. Comp breakfast under the tiki hut is a lovely start to a fast or slow day depending on your wishes. Staff extremely helpful. Great escape from high-rise and touristy resorts!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2007

Wish we could've stayed longer

The perfect place to break up our drive home from Key West. We will be back next year, and stay an extra day or two. Everyone was very friendly--cute room, pool, dock, beach area--even saw a manatee. Also close to Pennekamp State Park (definately recommend spending a day there).

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2007

Outstanding Find

My girlfriend and I were headed to the Middle Keys to dive, snorkel, swim with the dolphins, hang out and relax in between. The dive operation I use, Conch Republic Divers in Tavernier, referred me to this wonderful, layed back hotel. It is just perfect if you want a gorgeous private quiet setting, a wonderful, helpful friendly staff and outstanding accomodations. ( We were also fortunate enough to be upgraded to a one bedroom suite (#16) when we

had had booked a studio - I'll be booking it again !!!)

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2007

Even in the rain the Coconut Palm Inn was perfect!

What a sweet secluded spot in the upper Keys! If you're looking for a great hideaway, this is the place. Not only is it private and cozy, the staff unbelievably nice and accommodating. Whether you're looking for a great cup of coffee or the best stone crabs on the island, they can direct you. We can't wait to go back!

By guayj9

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2007

Casual Elegance!

Coconut Palm Inn is a diamond in the rough offering island elegance in the casual surroundings of the Keys. It couldn't have been more perfect for how we wanted to spend our holiday. We had the convenience of the boat ramp to launch our skis and a private, sandy beach where we felt comfortable beaching them at night. The gulf coast and inlet to the Atlantic is easily accessible for boating and water sports. The amenities were wonderful with a

private beach and heated pool. Lots of private areas under the palms where you can lounge in an Adirondack or doze in a lazy hammock. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing. You can't help but relax, Coconut Palm Inn staff and surroundings are warm and inviting from the moment you arrive!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2007

Wonderful Place

I was pleasantly surprised by this beautiful little spot in FL which reminded me of a great place I stayed at in Aruba! I love that you walk out of your room onto what seems like your own private beach! Has a quiet, small, tropical atmosphere, where you can put your feet up and relax, or run around to nearby attractions. The best of both worlds, with a very friendly and helful staff. I shall return!

By srfnut

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2006

A tropical escape that Jimmy Buffet would sing about!

During the past year, I have stayed at the Coconut Palm Inn twice. Once with a large group using the multi-room suites. They were great and very clean with a Bali/tropical inspired style. The second stay was impromptu and lucked out by getting main suite. Simply amazing, did I mention the free breakfast and paper? Nothing better than a private retreat that is just blocks from fishing, great dinning and sum fun nightlife! I recommend this hotel to

everyone!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 7, 2006

Island Excellence

We went down for a wedding held on the premise. Everything was superb! We thouroughly enjoyed the salt water pool, beach side breakfasts and hammocks. The rooms were clean and up-to-date. The only complanint would be the lack of outlets near a mirror to do your hair. Otherwise, it truly is paradise!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 23, 2006

Perfect little paradise

Your very own private little piece of paradise, nice sandy beach, beautiful sunsets, reflecting on a glass like sea just has to be seen to believed, decent sized heated pool, excellent buffet breakfast consisting of fresh bagels, toasted if required, muffins, cereal and cereal bars, orange juice and loads of coffee, then you can go and sit at a table on the beach with your breakfast and watch the world go by, Brill. Staff were always there if required.

ps don't forget the bug spray, I ended up with a couple of nasty bites, but overall a fantastic place to chill out, especialy the hammocks,loved the place, keep it up girls.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2006

A dream come true.

I can't say how much I enjoyed this little slice of heaven in the Florida Keys. Everyone I dealt with there was nice, relaxed, service and customer minded, and accomodating. The property itself is very beautiful and relaxation is at every turn, from the docks that strech into the sunset to the warm pool, to the Kayacks and paddle boats available for exporing the bay. I really can't say enough about how nice the folks that run the place are, and

the rooms from the smaller to the larger suites are all just lovely. My best friend recently had his wedding there and we had the place to ourselves. It was wonderful and I can't say enough about it.

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2006

A little piece of paradise

We stayed in a two bedroom suite.The view was beautiful. The staff was very professional and friendly. The grounds were so peaceful because you are off the main road. We were so pleased with our stay we are going to try and come back in january.

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2006

best place we have stayed in the keys

For family scuba diving trips, Coconut Palm Inn was the nicest place we have stayed in the keys. The two bedroom suite had a small living room area and kitchen that included a full sized refrigerator and microwave. The small one bedroom unit had a stovetop and small refrigerator. All was clean (and kept that way daily by a very courteous staff) with ample beach & bath towels and supplies. The grounds add to the picture-perfect sunsets with inviting

hammocks and tiki huts on their beach. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with restaurant finding and any other question we threw their way. We found this hotel on the internet and it was better than expected - we would love to return next year.

Read More

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2006

Coconut Palm Inn Delivers the Keys Experience

I've stayed with my husband and young son at numerous small bayside establishments on weekends and the Coconut Palm Inn was one of the nicest. We go for a mini-vacation based on being on the water and prefer the serene Florida Bay over the Atlantic. The inn's main advantages, in my opinion, are the pristinely clean, hammock-laden beach, the boat ramp and plenty of available dockage, the offer of kayaks and a paddleboat, the friendly, accommodating

staff (who let me check in early!) and the breakfast served on the beach. I've read a few comments complaining about the lack of variety at breakfast but none of the other establishments I've stayed at even offered breakfast. Only character-less hotels and extremely expensive resorts usually do. I found it more than adequate and eating in the shade of a palm overlooking the tranquil bay was heavenly. Our room was fine. We were in one of the smallest available, so the staff warned me of its size, thinking I couldn't be able to fit in the crib. I was expecting something quite tiny but it was bigger than expected and had all the amenities needed, including an equipped kitchenette. The pool was refreshing and the bay water quite clear. If you paddle a kayak a little bit north of the inn along the coast, the water was even clearer; it was easy to view schools of fish, lobster, crab and small barracuda. The only downside was that the small inn is nestled amid a residential community and close to what I gues is a condo building, so I didn't feel like I was isolated on the bay. But on the other hand, it has an exceptionally long beach and is far enough away from US 1 that you can't hear any of the traffic, a huge bonus in this area. All in all, a very pleasant experience! I'll be back.

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2006

FOUND A NEW PARADISE TO VISIT!

I have been coming to Tavenier and Islamorada for many years now, and have stayed at many different places. I have even rented a house there. I was in a wedding at the CPI, so I booked a suite for four days. I wished I could have stayed for four weeks, but my job would not allow that. I am an amatuer photographer and I got some unreal sunset pictures amoung other pictures. The CPI fits the laid back lifestyle of the keys. There is nothing like the

tranquility of the hammocks between the palm trees, you can spend hours in them. The wedding party I was a part of had the whole place to our self it was great. The staff is second to none. They fulfilled my every need. I'm sure Dana got tried of me, but she always helped me with a smile. If you like the laid back lifestyle of the Keys, not the Key West atomosphere (which Key West is not that far of a drive away) CPI is the place for you. CPI is defintely the place for me and I will be back! This is the place to get away and relax, not party, even though the wedding party I was with did manage to party there. Looking forward to my next vist to paradise!

Read More

By Gina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2006

Private Paradise

You feel like you've been transported to a private island! Spectacular sunsets!

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2006

A Room With a Beautiful View

April 10th thru 14th, 2006 My family and I enjoyed our stay at the CPI. It was very peaceful. The view was wonderful. I love staying at a small place like the CPI because you and your children can walk out your room door and the water is probably less than 60 feet away. You felt safe. The room was small but clean. Since the room was small it was nice to have the screened in porch which felt like you had another room. The pool was warm and

being at a small place you are not over crowded with people. Someone commented about there being no place to watch tv in your. Who goes to the Florida Keys to watch tv? The continental breakfast wasn't much but I didn't choose this hotel for the breakfast. They give you beach towels which was a nice surprise. I would go back to the CPI. Dana and Kathy were very nice and helpful.

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2006

Great air and a relaxing time

We just returned home after a wonderful 4 night stay that CPI. The place is small and quiet. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The King bed in room was a little hard, but the trundle was great. But I am picky about my bed! I love the fact the use unscented detergents and hypo-allergenic supplies along with safe orange cleaners in the rooms. The staff is absolutely understanding to people with special needs and requests. I for one have multiple

allergies and sensitivities to so many things. It is very hard for me to find a place to stay in that does not bother me terribly, will this is a great one. I talked with the staff about my concerns and they handled it with all smiles! The place is small slice of heaven on the bayside of the northern keys. It allowed a safe and secure place to stay, while allowing us to branch out to the rest of the Keys. We had a wonderful stay and plan to return very soon. Thanks to all the staff, keep up the good work!

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2006

The BEST!!!!

Had the best time! Beautiful property! Dana was the best!!!!!

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2006

Intimate and Private for sure

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days and WILL BE BACK. Set in a wonderful area to get to Miami and still have the ability for a drive to Key West. I was very surprised at the quality of the Coconut Palm Inn for the price we paid. Also, the service was great. Very friendly! WARNING...Be ready to fall asleep in the waterside hammocks. They hang between the Palm Trees and you can easily lose a day just lounging around. We are an active couple (ages

25 and 26) so we were all about doing things. Snorkeling and scuba diving are about 3 minutes away!

Read More

By AD

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2006

Could be wonderful but falls short

Recently stayed at the CPI. Had read all the reviews before we left and had hoped that the numerous excellent reviews were true and the not-so-good reviews were false. Well... turns out there is some truth in all of them. The location was great. The room looked tropical but, on closer inspection, the mattresses looked like they had been picked out of someone's trash and the bathroom needed a serious redo. The breakfast was okay for the first

couple days but then got old as the same muffins and granola bars were served every day. I sometimes felt like the staff felt inconvenienced when asked for a suggestion on where to go for dinner. Overall I would say it was good but overpriced for what it was.

Read More

By Phaedra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2006

Never again

There's one in every bunch and I guess I'm it. I'm not in the habit of complaining about accommodations, but, my husband and I were so uncomfortable here, during Feb.'06, that we cut our stay in half and moved. We are well travelled and have stayed in many types of 'hotels'. This is the first time, in 30 years of travel, that we have ever felt compelled to leave (and yes, we paid the reservation, in full. That is their policy and we didn't try to

fight it. We were that dissatisfied). Picture 1940's motel, decorated(?) in tacky, mismatched, uncomfortable furniture. No room phone or sprinkler system, a big safety concern if you don't have a cell phone! Since the TV was in the 'bedroom', the only way to watch it was to sit on the edge of the bed or go to bed! No reading lamp in the 'living room', only a light in the ceiling fan that refused to 'turn off'. The weather was too cool to sit outside so we had to choose between the room or driving around. We drove around and took a room at the Marriott. I've since been advised to ask to see your room, before you check in. Then there will be no surprises. Never again!

Read More

By Craig

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2006

Great Location, Great Staff

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon (19 years after the fact, but whatever) and had the best time. This place was relaxing and perfect for us. We loved the scenery and the room was extremely comfortable. The staff was also wonderful. They always seemed happy to see us. It's great to walk into the office and be greeted with such sincere smiles. Thanks for everything. It was the highlight of our vacation.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2006

Heavens Hide Away

Literaly A hide away. Much more than expected. The setting is Fantastic. The service excelent, The rooms very spacious and comfortable with your own screened in patio. A++++

By Stacie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2006

Was I in the same place?

Rooms were TINY, floorboards had buckled so you had to be careful not to trip in the middle of the night, showers were at best lukewarm, "white" towels were actually grey and tattered (even though they ask you not to use them by the pool to keep them sparkling white", the bedspread had a black polka dot pattern that turned out to be mildew, the in-room fridge squealed in high-pitch frequency, "continental breakfast" consisted of cellophane wrapped

muffins and a few granola bars. I am stunned by the other reviews. What gives??

Read More

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2005

Can't wait to return!!

What an awesome place! After several years of searching the Keys for the perfect accommodations, that also provide a great place for our 27' boat, we finally found it at the Coconut Palm Inn! Everyone was friendly! The staff was GREAT! The sunsets perfect.

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2005

Customer service is Key at the Coconut Palm Inn

Our stay at the Coconut Palm Inn was as easy and gracious as could be. Even though it was only 4 days after a hurricane, our room was fabulous and the service exceptional. We will definitely go back!

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2005

From romantic proposal to engagement party with a crowd - this place is perfect!

I have stayed at the Coconut Palm Inn on 4 different occasions now and loved every single time. In July, my boyfriend proposed to me as I was lounging in one of the hammocks strung between to Coconut Palm trees. This past month we celebrated our engagement with my family and friends. The Inn did a great job of comunicating with my guests and making it a wonderful week-end. One of the staff memebers even babysat my friend's children so she could

go out with us one evening. The outdoor grills were a perfect option for a large crowd. We always bring our small boat down, and there is some great fishing - even close by you can get Mangrove Snapper. The rooms a tastefully decorated with a Jamaican Plantation feel, large wooden pieces ornately carved and the rooms are modern & clean with light fresh paint and Audubon bird prints. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and I LOVED THAT TUB! Wow! All the nature lovers enjoyed watching the resident Osprey build his nest. Coconut Palm Inn is perfect, especially nice coming from south Florida so you don't have to drive all the way down to Key West. This place has some very special memories for me.

Read More

By Ernie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2005

Fabulous Family Reunion!!!

Now that all the families have left and I have had a chance to reflect on my 75th Birthday Family Reunion, their stay at The Coconut Palm Inn was the BEST! I came across your website in my search for the ideal accommodations for 3 families coming from Australia, Seattle, WA and Fallon NV. I immediately visited Coconut Palm Inn and my dream accommodations came true. Not only were the suites outstanding but the beautiful and expansive sandy beach

and large swimming pool were made to order -- all my children and grandchildren are water nuts and they surely took advantage of your accommodations. Even Dennis the Menace (the hurricane) didn't chase them away but made their stay safe and exciting. Needless to say, your outstanding service, staff and daily maintenance of the rooms was very appreciated. Thanks for making my 75th the BEST! Ernie & Family

Read More

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2005

Look elsewhere...

Coconut Palm Inn seems more like really nice cabins than a hotel. Its beginnings as what appear to be a fishing lodge can easliy be seen (i.e. the walls are cement, but painted a nice shade of green). As a hotel it is kind of mediocre - some obvious corners were cut in the renovations. For example, the hinges and nails used in the bathroom are rusting through the paint, and inexpensive fixtures were clearly used. Some other gripes: while there

is a coffee maker in your room, they don't provide the single-serving coffee packets that are ubiquitous at other hotels. Also, you can only get ice from the front desk between 9am - 6pm! If you are out for the day and need ice in the evening you are out of luck. There is coin-op laundry on site (a nice touch) for which you are instructed to ask for quarters at the desk. When I did this I was told to walk to a gas station!! The screen porches did not keep mosquitos out. There were lizards, millipedes, and other unidentified bugs in our room. The maintenance guy was walking on the roof at 9:30 in the morning making a LOT of noise. The office was suddenly closed for an hour on Saturday so they could go to church. Well, I guess that's enough. Just didn't seem worth the price they charged. Seems like a good place for kids (there were lots there), but it's not very romantic. From driving around the area me and my fiancee agreed we could have done much better for the money. Wait - one last problem: there IS a sandy beach of sorts here, but you can't really swim from it. There is a lot of growth and some type of jellyfish all over the ground under the water.

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2005

We went "CocoNUTS" over the inn!!

The inn was AWESOME!! The sunsets are BREATHTAKING!! And the staff is WONDERFUL!! This was a much needed vacation from the kids...but next time they are coming with!! There is so much to offer from breakfast on the beach, to kayaks, to lounging in the hammok!We can't wait to return!

By Smitty

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2005

I'm so Depressed!!!

After a week at CPI I find myself sooo depressed. I'm back home and my GPS in my car reminds me I'm 306.7 miles from CPI.

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2005

Perfect relaxation

The perfect quick relaxing getaway I was looking for. Absoultly beautiful.

By Everett

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2005

Relaxing

Very nice staff. Very helpful especially with booking room - went extra mile to accomadate us! Found place true to website pictures. Looking for a quiet and stress free getaway, this is it.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2005

An Oasis in the Keys

Excellent ambience, quiet private beach. Although a little tight, the room was clean, neat and far from ordinary. More than we expected.

By Doris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2005

Fl Keys are great

We Just returned home from the Coconut Palm Inn. A week of heavenly bliss...Second time there & enjoyed every minute of our stay..Thanks for a great get away.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2005

Would Live There If I Could

My wife and I had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and extremly knowledgable. We look forward to our next trip to The Coconut Palm Inn.

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2005

Relax in style

Wonderful water front views, hammocks for reading, quiet, peaceful....what a find!

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2004

Where you want to be.....in the Keys!

I found this delightful place online. And, though I was a little apprehensive when we turned off the highway, the charm unfolded as soon as we stepped inside the fence near the office. We could see that many upgrades have been made are are being made. We were very happy to be in the Coconut Palm Suite as this room was in v.good condition. We also got to see #15 which was a dynamite room. Kathy was great! The perfect person for your front desk!

Her restaurant recommendations couldn't have been better! We celebrated our anniversary royally. And, we hope to be back! Bob and Mary Dunworth, Downers Grove, IL

Read More

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2004

Off-line Oasis

My wife and I enjoyed a thouroughly relaxing weekend here in early November. The inn is just far enough off Highway 1 to be free of all the traffic and attendand noise distractions. We were thrilled with the room, with was much larger and comfortable than we expected. The deck outside was a real hit with us; we enjoyed nightcaps under the stars both nights. The small beach was pleasant and proved to be a particularly striking spot to watch the sunset.

We found abuandant restaurants, liquor stores, groceries etc. nearby. The two-hour dive to Key West was particulalry plesant during the day, when we enjoyed many roadside distrctions.

Read More

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2004

Little Treasure

So glad we found this great little spot. Wonderfully cared for, great setting, very restful. Just what we needed on our last day in the Florida Keys.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2004

Comatose at the Coconut Inn

My husband and I were quite disappointed with the Coconut Palm Inn. The room was nice - we had a deluxe suite, however it was not worth the extra money we paid. We visited in April and were looking for a more energy. None to be found. One can only kayak for so long. Everyone went to bed after the sunset (where no one talked - no happy hour or socializing...?!?) and Tavernier is NOT the place to vacation. The breakfast was prepackaged muffins and inexpensive,

tasteless orange juice. With a bit of an attitude, we were able to cancel our third evening and leave early. Being in our mid 30's we wanted a bit more excitement than this laid back inn located in a residential neighborhood. Interestingly enough, we met a retired couple at breakfast who were complaining about the frozen muffins and found out they too were quite bored and disappointed at the Inn. We encouraged them to go to Key West and we ended up meeting them for dinner and having a grand time - in Key West!!!

Read More

By natalie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2004

Cinnamon greeted us with a smile!

Coconut Palm has a great location- tucked away on a quiet part of the bay and still within an easy drive to activities and restaurants on the Keys. Kathy recommended great snorkling and boat tours for us as first time Key visitors and we took advantage of her "Recommended Restaurants" list with wonderful results. Our suite was more than comfortable and the beach, view and kayaking were awesome extras.

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

Coconut Palms is Perfect!

What a great little place-- intimate, RIGHT on the water, great rooms, great atmosphere, fabulous staff. You feel like you should stay there forever! You'd be crazy not to stay there if you visit the Keys!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2004

Very nice, indeed

Really, a beautiful and peaceful spot. Location perfectly between key Largo and Islamorada...can go either way for great restaurants, bars, and attractions. Or can just chill out on the hammocks and watch the sunset. Also,had a problem with our room the first night, discussed with the staff the next morning, and they worked to correct the problem and have advised us that they are changing the room permanently so other guests wont be troubled. Might

be considered slightly pricey, but the location is beautiful. If you're gonna be out a lot partying and shopping, you might want to find a less expensive place...however - if you want to relax on the beach, take out a paddleboat, swim in the pool and swing in a hammock..this is the spot.

Read More

By Lana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2004

Best Kept Secret

We chose the Coconut Palm Inn after spending many hours on the Internet trying to find the perfect place to stay in the Keys. We were looking for a beachfront suite for our family along with on-site breakfast and a pool. We did not want a luxury hotel chain as we wanted to truly experience the Keys way of life. Our stay at the Coconut Palm was better than we hoped for. Our room was very spacious and immaculate. The grounds were beautiful and well

kept. The staff was outstanding, from the inconspicuous cleaning staff, to the conscientious maintenance man, to the exceedingly helpful office staff. Even the other guests we met during our stay were friendly. It all goes to show that this is a very special place. We feel like we found the best kept secret in the Keys and cant wait to go back!

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2004

A friendly, relaxing stay in paradise

New owners upgraded everything. Many personal touches. Very fiendly, private and layback. Free kayaks and paddle boats. Wonderful beach and pool. Great for kids and adults.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2004

Absolute Serenity

I found the Coconut Palm Inn through the internet and was a little nervous about whether or not it would live up to it's promises. It exceeded every expectation I had. The property is hidden away with a breathtaking view of the bay. My kids and I stayed for 10 days and every day was an adventure. We saw wild dolphins in the bay and many other wonderful sea creatures. My kids played while I had hammock time. It was fabulous!!! Make your reservations

and they will take care of the rest.

Read More

By christy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2004

Gulf breezes wrap theselves areound you.

Lovely, casual elegance, quiet, peaceful, off the main path, I LOVED IT!

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2004

Relaxing and Beautiful surroundings

The place is beautifule. very relaxing. The only thing that needs improvement are the rooms. cable tv should be more inclusive, walls are to thin, you can hear EVERYTHING in the next room, bathroom plumbing could be better. it wouldn't be so bad if the rates reflected the type of room - need to either lower the rates or improve the amenenties!!! - my choice would be to improve the amenenties...

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2004

Wish We Were There!

We recently got back from 3 nights at the Coconut Palm Inn. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. It was very clean and quite comfortable. Kathy at the front desk was friendly and extremely helpful. The setting was quiet and serene. The pool is small but adequate. If you have small children, keep in mind that the pool's shallowest point, aside from the steps, was labeled 4 ft. 6 inches. The beach is not a good swimming beach,

but our kids enjoyed playing in the sand, watching the ospreys in their nest high above the grounds, swimming in the pool and kayaking and paddle boating on the water. The hammocks were an added bonus. The kitchen was quite serviceable. The fridge was full sized and worked well. The handle was broken but it didnt affect the way it worked. The only improvements we thought of would be having steak knives and a better frying pan available. There is a charcoal grill available on the beach, which we made use of. There is continental breakfast on the beach in the morning... pre-packaged muffins, granola bars, etc.... nothing fancy, but a quick convenience. We chose to cook instead and ate al fresco on the deck outside our room. There are also some tables on the beach. Nearby conveniences include a Winn-Dixie shopping center on the main road just south of the turnoff for the Inn. Chad's is a great little casual lunch and dinner spot just north of the inn's turnoff. (They even deliver to the Inn at lunchtime.) All in all, it was a very relaxing, laid-back get-away and we only wish we could have stayed longer.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2004

Nuts over Coconut Palms...shhh! secret

Very relaxing Keys atmosphere, lush tropical landscaping, coconuts on the white sand beach after a breezy evening, spartan rooms don't distract from romantic setting, screened porches ideal for viewing storms, cozy hammocks strung between picturesque coconut palms, good chinese food delivered to the room, fine view of the water, interesting local marine life, spotted a manatee, use of kayaks and snorkling gear included in rate, very pleasant staff,

go without the kids ...please. Very easy to spend a couple of days here doing nothing other than sitting in a chair and looking at the water. Apt to make you sigh several times a day without any explanation.

Read More

By Teri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2003

A True Beachfront Paradise

Our recent stay at the Coconut Palm Inn was outstanding. The fully tiled rooms were spacious and clean. The beach and pool were spectacular (and also very clean). The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. Our early morning or late evening kayak trips were very relaxing. I can't wait to go back!!!

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2003

Somewhat disappointing

From their webiste, the Coconut Palm Inn alludes to having spacious, tastefully decorated rooms on a white sandy beach. The rooms were clean, but very small and plain. The screens on the screened-in porch had holes, and through the glass door, we could see the mosquitos swarming around the porch. There were also gaps in the window around the air conditioning unit, which allowed mosquitos to enter the room. It was obvious the owners were trying

to make improvements to the inn, they should keep working. Also note, this inn is in a residential neighborhood, and at least a 10-15 drive to restaurants and shopping.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement