The Florida Keys Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Coconut Palm Inn

Exterior

At a Glance

    Pros

  • lovely beach
  • tranquil location
  • complimentary use of kayaks and paddleboats

    Cons

  • off the beaten path

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Coconut Palm Inn Review

Recently recognized as one of the Top 40 Secret Beach Hideaways In The World by Travel + Leisure magazine, this low-key inn is set in a quiet residential neighborhood of towering gumbo-limbo and buttonwood trees. Built in the 1930s, the waterfront lodge draws repeat guests with its friendly relaxed vibe. A 400-foot sandy beach is dotted with the requisite hammocks and swaying palm trees. Screened porches are a welcome touch, letting tropical breezes in and keeping mosquitoes out. Well-appointed accommodations are decorated in a tropical style that varies from standard rooms to one- and two-bedroom suites. No two are alike, although sea-foam-green paint is used liberally. A boccie-ball court and sunset yoga classes provide diversion.

    Contact Information

  • Address: MM 92 BS, 198 Harborview Dr., via Jo-Jean Way off Overseas Hwy. Tavernier, FL 33070 | Map It
  • Phone: 305/852–3017
  • Website:
  • Location: Key Largo

    Hotel Details

  • 13 rooms, 7 suites.
  • Rate includes breakfast.
Updated: 05-17-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Coconut Palm Inn Review

    Best value in the keys. Big time resort level beach and pool area. Big rooms. Smaller tucked away place. Service best of any hotel I have been at.

    by kdawgittydawg, 1/27/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    PERFECT HIDEAWAY

    We celebrated our 15 year anniversary there this past weekend. WOW, exactly what we were looking for. Not commercialized at all. Quiet, very relaxing atmosphere. Hammocks to relax under the palm trees. Pool to chill out in, rooms were perfect size for us. Continental breakfast under the Tiki Bar every morning. Dock right there (free) to keep the boat with the ramp right on site. Couldn't have picked a more perfect place and will definately be returning with the kids.

    by momia0918, 9/23/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Very Disappointing

    Rooms were nicely furnished and freshly painted, but simple amenities were nonexistent! I felt I'd dropped back in time; as an antique lover, that's heaven for me, but this place definitely wasn't heaven. What's with paying over $200 a night for a motel that closes its front desk at 6 pm? We had problems locking the slider to the porch, and thought we'd left the single key they'd given us on the bed. Thank heavens we hadn't, because with no one at the desk, who would we have called? We had no phone to use in emergencies, no clock to help us arise in the morning, no wash cloths at all the first night (apparently, all were in the wash), and no light at our door to see how to unlock the door (but one was provided when we asked). The tiki hut breakfast was exactly the same both days---underwhelming. I would not stay here again, and I am really not that picky. Did we stay at the same place that got all these other rave reviews???? I think not.

    by Smithr22, 2/18/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Great Getaway

    What a great getaway. The location is ideal with fantastic views of Florida Bay and a short boat ride to the ocean. We've stayed here on two different occasions and are planning a third visit. Everyone was very nice. It's an easy going place and the other guests were wonderful. The rooms are very clean! The palm trees and hammocks make for a wonderful setting.

    by laguna23, 10/10/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Amazing View!

    The hotel was more than I expected. It is hard to judge a hotel on-line because images posted are often enhanced to bring in business. I searched for weeks to find a place to stay that had evrything we were looking for. Needless to say we have found our second home and plan on returning often for relaxing weekend getaways!
    Staff was always extremely helpful and patient as I booked last minute!
    Recommend for all types of trips whether romantic, business, pleasure, etc.

    by APRILKRUIZ, 6/23/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Romantically Perfect

    We were pleasantly surprised how clean and well maintained the Inn was. The staff was friendly and had great recommendations for dining and recreation. The atmosphere was so relaxing and we really enjoyed our stay. Room 15 is awesome. Our neighbors were friendly and we enjoyed their company. Great place to vacation. We'll definitely be back!!

    by indy4349, 6/7/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Magic Little Hideaway

    This lovely small inn is perfect for a quiet retreat from the real world. I absolutely loved my time there and will definitely return.

    by betsyl120, 3/25/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    more than we expected

    What a great place to stay. No complaints. Polite office staff, lovely room, great views. We had a perfect stay.

    by worldtechguy, 3/14/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Exceptional find!

    Away from the maddening crowd -- this spot is convenient to all, but enchantingly private. Comp breakfast under the tiki hut is a lovely start to a fast or slow day depending on your wishes. Staff extremely helpful. Great escape from high-rise and touristy resorts!

    by waytogo, 3/7/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wish we could've stayed longer

    The perfect place to break up our drive home from Key West. We will be back next year, and stay an extra day or two. Everyone was very friendly--cute room, pool, dock, beach area--even saw a manatee. Also close to Pennekamp State Park (definately recommend spending a day there).

    by zekeman17, 3/3/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Outstanding Find

    My girlfriend and I were headed to the Middle Keys to dive, snorkel, swim with the dolphins, hang out and relax in between. The dive operation I use, Conch Republic Divers in Tavernier, referred me to this wonderful, layed back hotel. It is just perfect if you want a gorgeous private quiet setting, a wonderful, helpful friendly staff and outstanding accomodations. ( We were also fortunate enough to be upgraded to a one bedroom suite (#16) when we had had booked a studio - I'll be booking it again !!!)

    by ctoelken, 3/2/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Even in the rain the Coconut Palm Inn was perfect!

    What a sweet secluded spot in the upper Keys! If you're looking for a great hideaway, this is the place. Not only is it private and cozy, the staff unbelievably nice and accommodating. Whether you're looking for a great cup of coffee or the best stone crabs on the island, they can direct you. We can't wait to go back!

    by ErikaHolli, 2/14/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Casual Elegance!

    Coconut Palm Inn is a diamond in the rough offering island elegance in the casual surroundings of the Keys. It couldn't have been more perfect for how we wanted to spend our holiday. We had the convenience of the boat ramp to launch our skis and a private, sandy beach where we felt comfortable beaching them at night. The gulf coast and inlet to the Atlantic is easily accessible for boating and water sports. The amenities were wonderful with a private beach and heated pool. Lots of private areas under the palms where you can lounge in an Adirondack or doze in a lazy hammock. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing. You can't help but relax, Coconut Palm Inn staff and surroundings are warm and inviting from the moment you arrive!

    by guayj9, 1/3/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful Place

    I was pleasantly surprised by this beautiful little spot in FL which reminded me of a great place I stayed at in Aruba! I love that you walk out of your room onto what seems like your own private beach! Has a quiet, small, tropical atmosphere, where you can put your feet up and relax, or run around to nearby attractions. The best of both worlds, with a very friendly and helful staff. I shall return!

    by pinkbarn, 1/3/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A tropical escape that Jimmy Buffet would sing about!

    During the past year, I have stayed at the Coconut Palm Inn twice. Once with a large group using the multi-room suites. They were great and very clean with a Bali/tropical inspired style. The second stay was impromptu and lucked out by getting main suite. Simply amazing, did I mention the free breakfast and paper? Nothing better than a private retreat that is just blocks from fishing, great dinning and sum fun nightlife! I recommend this hotel to everyone!

    by srfnut, 12/21/06
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Island Excellence

    We went down for a wedding held on the premise. Everything was superb! We thouroughly enjoyed the salt water pool, beach side breakfasts and hammocks. The rooms were clean and up-to-date. The only complanint would be the lack of outlets near a mirror to do your hair. Otherwise, it truly is paradise!

    by therohlfings, 12/7/06
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect little paradise

    Your very own private little piece of paradise, nice sandy beach, beautiful sunsets, reflecting on a glass like sea just has to be seen to believed, decent sized heated pool, excellent buffet breakfast consisting of fresh bagels, toasted if required, muffins, cereal and cereal bars, orange juice and loads of coffee, then you can go and sit at a table on the beach with your breakfast and watch the world go by, Brill. Staff were always there if required. ps don't forget the bug spray, I ended up with a couple of nasty bites, but overall a fantastic place to chill out, especialy the hammocks,loved the place, keep it up girls.

    by Kenny_Diamond, 11/23/06
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A dream come true.

    I can't say how much I enjoyed this little slice of heaven in the Florida Keys. Everyone I dealt with there was nice, relaxed, service and customer minded, and accomodating. The property itself is very beautiful and relaxation is at every turn, from the docks that strech into the sunset to the warm pool, to the Kayacks and paddle boats available for exporing the bay. I really can't say enough about how nice the folks that run the place are, and the rooms from the smaller to the larger suites are all just lovely. My best friend recently had his wedding there and we had the place to ourselves. It was wonderful and I can't say enough about it.

    by billteck, 11/18/06

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories