Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Restaurants

El Siboney

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Dining at this family-style restaurant is like going to Mom's for Sunday dinner—if your mother is Cuban. The dining room is noisy, and the food is traditional cubano. There are well-seasoned black beans, a memorable paella, traditional ropa vieja (shredded beef), and local seafood served grilled, stuffed, and breaded. Dishes come with plantains and beans and rice or salad and fries. To make a good thing even better, the prices are very reasonable.

Restaurant Information

Address:

900 Catherine St., Key West, Florida, 33040, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-296–4184

Restaurant Details:

  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2011

El Siboney Review

Nothing fancy about this restaurant, but the food is delicious and inexpensive. The atmosphere is bustling with both locals and tourists. Don't miss it!

By tww49

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2009

El Siboney Review

El Siboney is the place to be for authentic Cuban food. We had garlic roasted chicken, which is crispy and flavorful, and skirt steak, which is very juicy. All meals come with black beans and yellow rice. Gigantic portion for only around $10. We also had homemade sangria because everybody else was having it. Best sangria I ever had. Service was very average, probably because the restaurant is so busy all the time. Local and tourists flock there

for dinner, and order a variaty of entrees that are all very good. You definitely need to check this place out.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2007

great lunch place

Last in Key West in January this year. Ate there twice for lunch - simply great, but I would avoid the fish as it was a bit dry - Cuban food was simply delicious

By metca

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2007

MARY ELLEN

We have eaten lunch here at least 1-2 times a week for the past 4 months.. The food is wonderful and the staff marvelous...Bean and Cuban bread is a must!!!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2006

The real Cuban restaurant in Key West

Tucked away in a residential neighborhood far from the drunkin Duval Crawler. Great food, large portions. English spoken but use your Spanish if you speak it!!

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2006

A small quaint place for great cuban food

A child friendly place!

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2005

Disappointing Food

Perhaps we caught El Siboney on a bad day? The arroz amarillo (yellow rice) was bland and overcooked, the ropa vieja tasted like sloppy joe mix, the yellowtail not very fresh, and the sangria was like Hi-C. The yuca was fairly good, the maduros (pan-fried plantains) were OK, the black beans nicely seasoned and the lechon asado (roast pork) was also pretty good. Ironically, the food was much better at La Carreta (the Cuban restaurant at the Miami

airport) and my local Cuban place here in Atlanta. I've eaten Cuban food all over Florida, and this was definitely the most disappointing.

Read More

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2004

The Best Roasted Chicken I Ever Had!

We loved this place so much after going there for lunch, we ordered dinner for takeout the same night! The Ropa Vieja and Roasted Chicken are standouts -- excellent value. For those who like a "hole in the wall" (clean), with great, real, ethnic food, this is the place to go! Don't miss it. We're going to Key West for the month of January and this will be our favorite takeout joint.

By Therese

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2004

Inspiring Meal

We both got the #1 (roasted pork, yellow rice and Plantains) and an El Presidente (beer). THE BEST MEAL IN KEY WEST BY FAR! I purchased a cuban cook book (from Dennis Pharmacy)so I could attempt to make these dishes at home - yeah right. You won't be disappointed!!!!!!

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2003

A great value

The entrees were great and the service was prompt and pleasant, despite it being a Saturday night in March. Unfortunately they ran out of yuca (cassava). The best part was the conch chowder -- heavenly! I didn't know that was a cuban dish.

By Lynne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2002

A refreshing change!

Although I loved the great food available in the many nice Key West restaurants, after a few days I longed for a place that was a little more casual, a local place with good food. El Siboney's is just that. Good Cuban style food - fills you up right! A bit of a walk from Duval, but worth it. I had the Ropa Vieja (spicy shredded beef) and would recommend it to anyone. AND - this was probably the least inexpensive meal I had during my week in Key

West and the only place where I was surrounded by locals - not other tourists.

Read More

By Flex

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

Why go to Havana, the food is right here?

Really good and great prices. Be patient and you will get a treat. Just sit back and listen to the conversation of the staff for a real treat while you wait on your food. Cuban Mix is big enough for two at lunch. Look for it and find Little Cuba in Key West.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement