Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Restaurants

Blue Heaven

  • 729 Thomas St. Map It
  • Caribbean

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

The outdoor dining area here is often referred to as "the quintessential Keys experience," and it's hard to argue. There's much to like about this historic restaurant where Hemingway refereed boxing matches and customers cheered for cockfights. Although these events are no more, the free-roaming chickens and cats add that "what-a-hoot" factor. Nightly specials include black bean soup, Caribbean BBQ shrimp, bison strip steak with blackberry salad, and jerk chicken. Desserts

and breads are baked on the premises. The banana bread and shrimp and grits are hits during breakfast, but the signature meal here is the lobster Benedict with key lime hollandaise. Bring patience as there is always a wait.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

729 Thomas St., Key West, Florida, 33040, United States

Map It

Phone:

305-296–8666

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed after Labor Day for 6 weeks
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2011

Blue Heaven Review

We enjoyed dinner in the garden and the musical entertainment, but this restaurant feels a little too touristy for my taste.

By seafox

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2010

Blue Heaven Review

There's just something about this place that makes me come back over and over. The experiance is unique, the food is generaly quite good, the lines can be long and well there are chickens at your feet .... I guess it's all of that and more. Sorry to hear the prior comments about the gruff hostess. i've always found them to be friendly and accomodating in a "very Key West style." I'll be back as will ost others - hence the crowd, By the way dinner

on a warm night is very lovely and the food is consitantly tasty!

Read More

By tww49

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2009

Blue Heaven Review

I have to admit, dining with roosters and hens pecking and digging right next to me was... well, weird. But when two roosters suddenly decided to fight each other and their feathers stood up in a way I've never seen before, I was VERY intrigued. Blue Heaven is indeed a unique dining experience. We only had a key lime pie and a cocktail there in mid-afternoon. The food and drink was very good. The waiter's very laid back and friendly. Lots of funky

decorations in/near the restaurant and at the gift shop. The only thing that freaked us out a little bit, was a street or so down where the restaurant is, the neighborhood became rundown and seemingly unsafe. I'd probably only go to the restaurant for breakfast or lunch when there are a lot of visitors.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2008

Excellent, cheap breakfast!

I walked right in and sat down for my breakfast, but it was the middle of the week, and fairly early at 8 AM. Crowd did start to pick up as I left around 9. Service was pleasant and quick. Banana pancakes were excellent! as was the signature granola. Definitely the best breakfast spot in Key West, but I would recommend getting there earlier rather than later, or you probably will wait. Alas, the sign of an excellent restaurant! Be sure and stop

by the gift shop and enjoy the roosters running around your table as you eat!

Read More

By joffy35

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2008

Terrible obnoxious hostess

The hostess was completely obnoxious when we tried to put our name on the wait list. For whatever reason, she cut us off, took the name of the group who came into the restaurant after we arrived, then took our name. When we tried to explain that we were there first, she smirked and made an obnoxious comment. Nothing is worse than a bitter person on a power trip. We were all set to enjoy a nice breakfast, but ended up going somewhere else to experience

it. So much for Key West charm.... There are plenty of great places to eat in Key West. Avoid any place that thinks that customer service is not important once they become a popular tourist attraction.

Read More

By KWLover

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2007

Well Worth The Wait

Outstanding food in a very unique atmosphere. Breakfast is especially awesome, try to get there early enough to get the Lobster Eggs Benedict. It's not on the menu, you have to ask, and it's only available until the lobster runs out! And if you have a long wait, enjoy your time in the open bar drinking the best bloody mary in the world!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2007

Best for breakfast

Great way to start the day!!! Fresh fruit plate with banana bread is outstanding.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2006

A must see tourist trap

I don't mena that to be a negative headline. It's just what Blue Heavan has become. We used to make it a point to go there and it is still very appealling. Just that the tourons have found it now. So when we went to breakfast there last time in town and were told 1 1/2 hour wait we declined and walked right into Camilles 4 blocks away and had an excellent meal!!

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2005

My favorite restaurant anywhere!

My adult children grew up going to Blue Heaven and swinging on the old rope swing. Many a morning we sat on the curb (when the enterance was on Thomas) and waited for our name to be called. Every time I try to think of a different answer to "your favorite restaurant?", I can't! I dream of seafood benadict, whole grain bread and Bailey's banana coladas. My daughters and husband choose Blue Heaven, too. ALWAYS.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2004

Unique Dining Experience

The concept here is excellent food in a funky atmosphere. Sounds like a Benigans, huh? But no, Benigans doesn't have a dirt floor and chickens/cats parading around. You'll either love this or hate it. I've been going to KW for 5+ years and Blue Heaven is the best. However, I feel it's gone down a notch in the last year - too much success perhaps? Still well worth a visit particularly at lunch or when there's entertainment.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2004

Cockle doodle doo

The food is good, but a bit overpriced. The atmosphere outside is unique, but there is an indoor dining area (air-conditioned) if you don't like to sweat while you eat. The wait staff is very friendly. Sunday brunch is great- they serve Baby's coffee.

By JM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2004

Bardello-delicious!

One of the best restaurants in Key West. Try breakfast on a Sunday morning --- eat eggs benedict with chickens running around your feet.

By Therese

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2004

Unique but overated

Very unique atmosphere, outdoor dining, and bar. A bit strange...good food, I was expecting more after all the great reviews...wouldn't go back.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2003

Heaven with Roosters?

I never knew heaven would have roosters pecking at my feet, but if I could eternally dine on food this delicious, well, bring on the roosters. Gourmet sauces could be served in "shot glass" and they would make a fortune. The short haired blond waitress may be the best in the world. Heavenly!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2003

Food & Flies

We had a really great lunch here. They are deservedly famous for their jerk chicken, and there is an incredible dessert if you like bananas called "Banana Heaven." The key lime pie was pretty good. There was a really cool atmosphere aided by the 3-piece band playing blues-y, folk rock stuff. We didn't mind the chickens one bit, but the flies were annoying. Not enough, however, to keep us from going back again someday!

By natalie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2003

FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!!

This is one of the best meals I have had in my life!I have never seen a place like this before.Make sure to sit downstairs in the main part of the resturant.The atmosphere will make you feel great.

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2002

Don't Go To This Heaven

I cannot comprehend why anyone raves about this place. I thought it was a total waste of time and money. Dealing with a rude hostess, waiting 45 minutes (okay sometimes you have to) waiting another 30 minutes only to be served COLD FOOD, don't dare try to complain otherwise the waitress will give you a hard time, she has other people waiting. The place is over rated and over priced. Fodor's rating system does not go low enough for this place. If

I had the choice between going there again or cooking my own eggs in my hotel room the hotel room WINS!

Read More

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2002

eating with the chickens

Finally made it to this Key West institution. What a fun place!!! Unfortunately, it started to rain while we were waiting for a table so we had to eat on the balcony instead of outside. But the jerk chicken was incredible!

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2002

Why dose every one think this place is great?

I don't understand the food is fair at the best. The atmosphere dirty and unplesant. The service was not there. There are meny other good restaurants to try. Go some where els

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2001

Hopefully Heaven will be better!

What a disappointment. Rude staff and nasty chickens under your feet while eating. I can't believe the health department hasn't closed it. On a positive note, the food was delicious. If it's JUST about food, then the place is OK. Otherwise, I'm not sure.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2001

Best restaurant in KW

Went there two years ago due to the Buffett song. Had many a meal there over the next 6 days of our trip. Great conch salad and desserts. Also a great place for the kids (loved the rope swing and chickens). If you don't go, you'll miss the real Key West.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2000

Great brunch

Blue Heaven is a great place for brunch. The food is delicious - I had the avocado omelette and my husband had shrimp and grits (loaded with huge shrimp). Our waiter was so friendly and recommended was turned out to be our favorite restaurant on Key West (7 Fish). You may have to wait for brunch but that have a great bar where you can get a wonderful mimosa or bloody mary.

By k

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2000

The only heaven in Key West!

Hey, so Key West is a big disappointment. What's new? Anyway, divulge at Blue Heaven where funky flavor will seduce you! Must taste the Key Lime pie as w

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement