The Florida Keys Restaurants

Advertisement

Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven Key west Fl

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Blue Heaven Review

The outdoor dining area here is often referred to as "the quintessential Keys experience," and it's hard to argue. There's much to like about this historic restaurant where Hemingway refereed boxing matches and customers cheered for cockfights. Although these events are no more, the free-roaming chickens and cats add that "what-a-hoot" factor. Nightly specials include black bean soup, Caribbean BBQ shrimp, bison strip steak with blackberry salad, and jerk chicken. Desserts and breads are baked on the premises. The banana bread and shrimp and grits are hits during breakfast, but the signature meal here is the lobster Benedict with key lime hollandaise. Bring patience as there is always a wait.

    Restaurant Details

  • Reservations not accepted
  • Closed after Labor Day for 6 weeks.
Updated: 05-12-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Best for breakfast

    Great way to start the day!!! Fresh fruit plate with banana bread is outstanding.

    by mojitogirl, 2/3/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Well Worth The Wait

    Outstanding food in a very unique atmosphere. Breakfast is especially awesome, try to get there early enough to get the Lobster Eggs Benedict. It's not on the menu, you have to ask, and it's only available until the lobster runs out! And if you have a long wait, enjoy your time in the open bar drinking the best bloody mary in the world!

    by KWLover, 11/29/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Terrible obnoxious hostess

    The hostess was completely obnoxious when we tried to put our name on the wait list. For whatever reason, she cut us off, took the name of the group who came into the restaurant after we arrived, then took our name. When we tried to explain that we were there first, she smirked and made an obnoxious comment. Nothing is worse than a bitter person on a power trip. We were all set to enjoy a nice breakfast, but ended up going somewhere else to experience it. So much for Key West charm.... There are plenty of great places to eat in Key West. Avoid any place that thinks that customer service is not important once they become a popular tourist attraction.

    by joffy35, 4/1/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Excellent, cheap breakfast!

    I walked right in and sat down for my breakfast, but it was the middle of the week, and fairly early at 8 AM. Crowd did start to pick up as I left around 9. Service was pleasant and quick. Banana pancakes were excellent! as was the signature granola. Definitely the best breakfast spot in Key West, but I would recommend getting there earlier rather than later, or you probably will wait. Alas, the sign of an excellent restaurant! Be sure and stop by the gift shop and enjoy the roosters running around your table as you eat!

    by Corinn45, 8/18/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Blue Heaven Review

    I have to admit, dining with roosters and hens pecking and digging right next to me was... well, weird. But when two roosters suddenly decided to fight each other and their feathers stood up in a way I've never seen before, I was VERY intrigued. Blue Heaven is indeed a unique dining experience. We only had a key lime pie and a cocktail there in mid-afternoon. The food and drink was very good. The waiter's very laid back and friendly. Lots of funky decorations in/near the restaurant and at the gift shop. The only thing that freaked us out a little bit, was a street or so down where the restaurant is, the neighborhood became rundown and seemingly unsafe. I'd probably only go to the restaurant for breakfast or lunch when there are a lot of visitors.

    by tww49, 12/11/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Blue Heaven Review

    There's just something about this place that makes me come back over and over. The experiance is unique, the food is generaly quite good, the lines can be long and well there are chickens at your feet .... I guess it's all of that and more. Sorry to hear the prior comments about the gruff hostess. i've always found them to be friendly and accomodating in a "very Key West style." I'll be back as will ost others - hence the crowd, By the way dinner on a warm night is very lovely and the food is consitantly tasty!

    by seafox, 4/14/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Blue Heaven Review

    We enjoyed dinner in the garden and the musical entertainment, but this restaurant feels a little too touristy for my taste.

    by Kimberment, 10/15/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Blue Heaven

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums