Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Restaurants

Louie's Backyard

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Feast your eyes on a steal-your-breath-away view and beautifully presented dishes prepared by executive chef Doug Shook. Once you get over sticker shock on the seasonally changing menu, settle in on the outside deck and enjoy dishes like grilled scallops with portobello relish, grilled king salmon with fried risotto, and mint-rubbed pork chop with salsa verde. A more affordable option upstairs is the Upper Deck, which serves tapas such as flaming ouzo shrimp, roasted olives

with onion and feta, and Gruyère and duck confit pizza. If you come for lunch, the menu is less expensive but the view is just as fantastic. For night owls, the tin-roofed Afterdeck Bar serves cocktails on the water until the wee hours.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

700 Waddell Ave., Key West, Florida, 33040, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-294–1061

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Labor Day to mid-Sept. Upper Deck closed Sun. and Mon. No lunch at Upper Deck.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2007

Great Terrace

On our first night in Key West, my partner and I had a wonderful meal on the terrace. Our waitress, an interior designer by trade, was genuine and attentive to all her tables. Definately a must in Key West.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2007

Always a pleasure

We go to Key West at least once a year and always dine at Louie's once or twice. That said, we always go for lunch and always eat at the Afterdeck Bar at the edge of the ocean. Fantastic!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2006

Awesome experience...if you are lucky

I have to agree with the good and the bad reviews of Louie's. We have only splurged here one time in 13 years of coming to Key West. Our experience was excellent however we know enough people to know that it can be hit or miss!!! But what a view and we missed Jimmy Buffet performing at the Afterdeck by one night!! Can't beat it for cocktails late afternoon though!!!

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2005

Lunch Manager is rude!

We stopped by on a Saturday before their lunch hour to make reservations - our landlord offered to buy us dinner there. We were told we had to wait until the manager came back to get the gift certificate. We made a reservation for the following evening and waited. A woman was around the hostess podium and I asked if she was the manager , she said yes and I told her we needed to arrange a gift certificate. When she returned she said that could

only be done Monday thru Friday 9 am - 5 pm. We told her we had a reservation for the next evening. She said too bad and that she was too busy to help us and it all had to be done by fax machine which was locked up in office. They missed out on a $150 meal, which they probably don't care about. and we won't eat there now even if Key West freezes over!

Read More

By Delaine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2005

like dating a super model

I love Louie's and we go for an early dinner on the night we arrive. The food is consistently exellent, they have a lobster bisque by which I judge all others. The outdoor seating is lovely. The bar is right on the water and great for seeing all but the best part of the sunset. Don't go at a peak time to avoid waiting even with a reservation. Service is incredibly inconsistent which is particularly annoying given what you are paying. Bar service

is pathetic if you're not a white guy dressed like a golfer. Hosts are pompous more often than not. So why do I love it? It's a pretty setting and I'm so happy to be in Key West eating on the water that it remains one of my most anticipated dinners.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Not the romantic resturaunt I had wished for...

I "proposed" in the garden of our perfect B & B and we strolled to this reputedly romantic rest. for what we hoped was a deliciosly romantic meal...what a disappoinment!!! The table we got was inside-although I had specifically told the person I was making the reservation with my intentions (for a romantic setting). Efforts to move outdoors were squelched because there was a "big family party coming". When they arrived they were indeed a big,

noisy, family party. They got much attention from the rest. staff, and we decided to leave right after dinner. We told the person at the door how disappointed we were and they politely smiled and looked right through us as a big party approached for their evening out. Never again!!! The food was very overpriced and not very creative. We get much better steak in Chicago.

Read More

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Overpriced but good food

We had heard Louie's was a "must do" dinner destination in KW. I would probably not bother next time. The food was great, but they also got a great (expensive) price for it. The service was mediocre at best. We made reservations months in advance and only with insistant prodding did we get a decent table...original table was next to the kitchen! There is much better food/service/atmosphere nearby without the overpriced menu and somewhat haughty

atmosphere. I wouldn't really recommend it.

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2005

Not for kids!

The first time we went to Louie's our girls were young & they were rude to us! (At that time it was supposed to be a 5 star!) One daughter had just ice cream, one had a steak and they enjoyed the food, but were taken by the "mean people". Our seafood was awful. However, several years ago we began to go back for lunches and dinner and it is excellent. The kids are now 22 & 24 & love Louie's, too. The calamari is excellent and we like to go to

the After Deck and sit near Dog Beach.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2003

Special Place

We went for Easter brunch. My family loved everything about this place. The views and atmosphere are truly special. The food was very good. And the service was good and definitely friendly. Highly professional, yet warm & casual too. One of the top dining experiences on our 10 day Keys trip.

By sprintz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2003

One of the best places in Key West

Enchanting. Awesome place with excellent food and atmosphere. The Afterdeck Bar is a good place to catch a mellow sunset (no Mallory Square hoopla here). One of my friends got engaged here - it is that kind of place.

By Neil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2003

Good food and view at a price

The food and view at Louie's backyard are great. The service was nothing less than expected and the food was ever-so-close to being perfect. The good news is that Louie's is a solid dining experience. I think it would be unusual to have a bad dining experience here unless you suffer a case of menu sticker shock. As I alluded, it is a bit pricey, but worth it to avoid being vulgarized by the omnipresent tourist rabble.

By natalie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2003

Go to Blue Heaven instead!!!!!

The food at this resturant is extremely over priced. It is just OK.Go to Blue Heaven instead,it is one of the best resturants on Key west.

By Leanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2003

Snobby, snobby!

Best view in Key West, but only go for a drink. Over rated, expensive and they were extremely snobby when we were the second couple for lunch and were seated in a corner with no view at all! When we aksed to move, they said this was the best table they had...yeah if we were blind. Had a drink and appetizer and left.

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2003

Chewy Louies

Can't understand the High rating. Many significantly better restaurants in Key West (Martins, La Tratoria, Banana Cafe etc.). Overpriced and service and food was OK.

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2002

Don't Miss The Backyard

Considering the name we did not expect much but what a pleasant surprise. If we could have ate there all day we would have. Do not miss this place, great views, great food and great service. If you are only in Key West one day make sure you visit this resturaunt!

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2002

Beautiful!!!

The setting is unbelievable. Even my value-conscious boyfriend said it was totally worth every penny we paid for lunch there!

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2002

aahh paradise

Our absolute favorite place in Key West! We always go during the day and drink/dine in the bar area. This is the best way to enjoy Louie's, right at the water's edge with a cocktail and some lunch or brunch. Great mojitos!

By Desiree

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2002

Food and View Both Breathless

Excellent food and a knock-your-socks- off view makes this place outstanding. The service is friendly and unintrusive, and the outside bar is laid back and stocked with great drinks and conversation!

By Louie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2002

Very Professional Yet Confortable

The food and atmosphere was one of the best we have ever experienced. Price is very good compared to Five Star restaurants. Would highly recommend!

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2001

Classic dining

You will love the atmosphere immediately. You can dine inside with white linen and beautiful table settings or on the porch where it is a little casual or on the deck in your cover-up! We chose to dine inside with air conditioning that day and were treated like royalty. We came for a late lunch and so did not need a reservation. Fresh veggies, seafood, and wonderful conch chowder. Treat yourself to elegance in Key West here.

By Loretta

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2001

Heaven in Key West

This is the best. Melt in your mouth tenderloin special. Great wines. Appetizers - try them all - we did! Come early for drinks outside. Dine inside on chilly nights. A must above all others

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement