Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Hotels

Marquesa Hotel

Pros

  • Elegant setting
  • Romantic atmosphere
  • Turndown service

Cons

  • Street-facing rooms can be noisy
  • Expensive rates

Updated 07/15/2014

Fodor's Review

In a town that prides itself on its laid-back luxury, this complex of four restored 1884 houses stands out. Guests—typically shoeless—relax among two richly landscaped pools, rock waterfalls, and peaceful gardens. Elegant rooms surround a courtyard and have antique and reproduction furnishings, earthy tones with black-and-white accents, marble baths, and outdoor sitting areas. The lobby has several outstanding works by local artists. The clientele varies from mature

and affluent to baby-mooners who've discovered its romance.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

600 Fleming St., Key West, Florida, 33040, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-292–1919; 800-869–4631

Website: www.marquesa.com

Hotel Details:

  • 27 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 07/15/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Florida Keys

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By alana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2004

Deluxe Treatment

Wonderful peaceful and safe atmosphere. The service (bellhops etc) was great. Nice cool and heated pool. Conveniently located. Watch for extra costs.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2003

B&B style without the tackiness

You can enjoy a Key West style B&B experience here, but you will take the high-class road in so doing. The suites are very well decorated with beautiful furniture, the place is spotless, and the best restaurant in town is just downstairs!

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2003

A Gem in Key West

This will be our 8th year staying at the Marquesa. A trip to Key West for us would not be complete without staying at this lovely inn. It is on the pricey side, especailly since a basic breakfast is not included, but the location is perfect. I also would like to be able to view some of the other rooms for future visits and wish that package deals were an option.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2003

Great place to stay

We had a great visit to Key West and much of it was because of the Marquesa Hotel. Wonderful location and great pool area. Gardens around the pools (two of them) is wonderful. Marquesa Resturant is very good, but as they tell you, a place for 'fine food' and a little pricey. Staff was very helpful.

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2003

Great service !

Love the atmosphere, the pool, the intimate ground. Romantic, yet close to all the activities on Duval St. My room is small though, and facing street. Could be loud when traffic is heavy. Will definitely recommend to friends. Only one downside - they never check their email from the website.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2002

Key West Rest

This is a wonderful small hotel. Our room with a very large balcony and marble bath was gorgeous. Although it would also be great to be on the water, on balance we preferred this quieter, historic area. The staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the Saturday night complimentary cocktail reception by the pool where we had a chance to meet other guests. Also we had a terrific gourmet dinner at the Cafe Marquesa. I would

definitely recommend this hotel. unless being on the water was important

Read More

By Darla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2002

Paradise!!!!!!

It just doesn't get any better than this!!! Total pampering, amazing service, delightful Cafe, plush room with a cozy balcony, great location. Michael, the concierge, made our stay the most memorable and fun vacation we have had thus far! Anything and everything we asked, he delivered. Massage - in your room or poolside? Sunset cruise - the private catamaran with catered French cuisine is highly recommended! Snorkeling - what time? Jet skiing

- I'll arrange it! A romantic, quiet slice of heaven in the midst of an area that can be as fast-paced or laid back as you prefer. Even Cafe Marquesa was splendid. Quiet setting, tastfully decorated with a delectible menu and succulant desserts! I can't wait to return to Key West just to stay here again! Spend the extra money, it is worthy every penny...and tell Michael I sent you!

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2002

If you want to get pampered, this is the place to stay

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Key West, and stayed at The Marquesa for two nights. The service was amazing and the pool area is a lush, tropical oasis. We plan on returning again when we visit Key West.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2002

I disagree regarding the staff, but the room was super

I recently stayed at The Marquesa, I was very impressed with my stay there. I do disagree with the other comments regarding the staff. Yes, the room service and housekeeping was excellent, but I found the front desk staff to be standoffish, arrogant, and surly. The hotel is in the middle of the action, walking distance to almost everything yet quiet and nice. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement