Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

The Florida Keys Restaurants

Blue Heaven

  • 729 Thomas St. Map It
  • Key West
  • Caribbean

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

The outdoor dining area here is often referred to as "the quintessential Keys experience," and it's hard to argue. There's much to like about this historic restaurant where Hemingway refereed boxing matches and customers cheered for cockfights. Although these events are no more, the free-roaming chickens and cats add that "what-a-hoot" factor. Nightly specials include black bean soup, Caribbean BBQ shrimp, bison strip steak with blackberry salad, and jerk chicken. Desserts

and breads are baked on the premises. The banana bread and shrimp and grits are hits during breakfast, but the signature meal here is the lobster Benedict with key lime hollandaise. Bring patience as there is always a wait.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

729 Thomas St., Key West, Florida, 33040, United States

Map It

Phone:

305-296–8666

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed after Labor Day for 6 weeks
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2011

Blue Heaven Review

We enjoyed dinner in the garden and the musical entertainment, but this restaurant feels a little too touristy for my taste.

By seafox

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2010

Blue Heaven Review

There's just something about this place that makes me come back over and over. The experiance is unique, the food is generaly quite good, the lines can be long and well there are chickens at your feet .... I guess it's all of that and more. Sorry to hear the prior comments about the gruff hostess. i've always found them to be friendly and accomodating in a "very Key West style." I'll be back as will ost others - hence the crowd, By the way dinner

on a warm night is very lovely and the food is consitantly tasty!

Read More

By tww49

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2009

Blue Heaven Review

I have to admit, dining with roosters and hens pecking and digging right next to me was... well, weird. But when two roosters suddenly decided to fight each other and their feathers stood up in a way I've never seen before, I was VERY intrigued. Blue Heaven is indeed a unique dining experience. We only had a key lime pie and a cocktail there in mid-afternoon. The food and drink was very good. The waiter's very laid back and friendly. Lots of funky

decorations in/near the restaurant and at the gift shop. The only thing that freaked us out a little bit, was a street or so down where the restaurant is, the neighborhood became rundown and seemingly unsafe. I'd probably only go to the restaurant for breakfast or lunch when there are a lot of visitors.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2008

Excellent, cheap breakfast!

I walked right in and sat down for my breakfast, but it was the middle of the week, and fairly early at 8 AM. Crowd did start to pick up as I left around 9. Service was pleasant and quick. Banana pancakes were excellent! as was the signature granola. Definitely the best breakfast spot in Key West, but I would recommend getting there earlier rather than later, or you probably will wait. Alas, the sign of an excellent restaurant! Be sure and stop

by the gift shop and enjoy the roosters running around your table as you eat!

Read More

By joffy35

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2008

Terrible obnoxious hostess

The hostess was completely obnoxious when we tried to put our name on the wait list. For whatever reason, she cut us off, took the name of the group who came into the restaurant after we arrived, then took our name. When we tried to explain that we were there first, she smirked and made an obnoxious comment. Nothing is worse than a bitter person on a power trip. We were all set to enjoy a nice breakfast, but ended up going somewhere else to experience

it. So much for Key West charm.... There are plenty of great places to eat in Key West. Avoid any place that thinks that customer service is not important once they become a popular tourist attraction.

Read More

By KWLover

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2007

Well Worth The Wait

Outstanding food in a very unique atmosphere. Breakfast is especially awesome, try to get there early enough to get the Lobster Eggs Benedict. It's not on the menu, you have to ask, and it's only available until the lobster runs out! And if you have a long wait, enjoy your time in the open bar drinking the best bloody mary in the world!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2007

Best for breakfast

Great way to start the day!!! Fresh fruit plate with banana bread is outstanding.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement