Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

The Florida Keys Hotels

Coconut Palm Inn

  • 198 Harborview Dr. Map It
  • Tavernier
Check Rates

Pros

  • Secluded
  • Quiet
  • Sophisticated feel

Cons

  • Front desk closes early each evening
  • No access to ice machine when staff leaves
  • Breakfast is ho-hum

Updated 07/15/2014

Fodor's Review

You'd never find this waterfront haven unless someone told you it was there, as it's tucked into a residential neighborhood beneath towering palms and native gumbo limbos. No wonder it's a favorite of travel magazines. Each unit overlooks part of the 400-foot beach, where draping hammocks beckon you to nap. Prefer to paddleboard or kayak? Just slide one off the sand and go. Or take a dip in the pool. Less adventurous types can head for the Adirondack chairs along the shoreline or to those placed at the far end of the docks that jet into the bay. Units are comfortable, spacious and could be the backdrop for a Tommy Bahama ad with their upscale, tropical decor and hand-carved furniture. Small patios give you your own slice of paradise. Breakfast is served beneath the bayfront chickee.

Hotel Information

Address:

MM 92 BS, 198 Harborview Dr., via Jo-Jean Way off Overseas Hwy., Tavernier, Florida, 33070, United States

Map It

Phone:

305-852–3017

Hotel Details:

  • 13 rooms, 7 suites
  • Rate includes Breakfast

Updated 07/15/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Florida Keys

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Décor

  • Room

  • Value

  • Service

Jan 27, 2010

Coconut Palm Inn Review

Best value in the keys. Big time resort level beach and pool area. Big rooms. Smaller tucked away place. Service best of any hotel I have been at.

  • Service

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2008

PERFECT HIDEAWAY

We celebrated our 15 year anniversary there this past weekend. WOW, exactly what we were looking for. Not commercialized at all. Quiet, very relaxing atmosphere. Hammocks to relax under the palm trees. Pool to chill out in, rooms were perfect size for us. Continental breakfast under the Tiki Bar every morning. Dock right there (free) to keep the boat with the ramp right on site. Couldn't have picked a more perfect place and will definately

be returning with the kids.

Read More
  • Service

  • Value

  • Room

  • Décor

Feb 18, 2008

Very Disappointing

Rooms were nicely furnished and freshly painted, but simple amenities were nonexistent! I felt I'd dropped back in time; as an antique lover, that's heaven for me, but this place definitely wasn't heaven. What's with paying over $200 a night for a motel that closes its front desk at 6 pm? We had problems locking the slider to the porch, and thought we'd left the single key they'd given us on the bed. Thank heavens we hadn't, because with no one

at the desk, who would we have called? We had no phone to use in emergencies, no clock to help us arise in the morning, no wash cloths at all the first night (apparently, all were in the wash), and no light at our door to see how to unlock the door (but one was provided when we asked). The tiki hut breakfast was exactly the same both days---underwhelming. I would not stay here again, and I am really not that picky. Did we stay at the same place that got all these other rave reviews???? I think not.

Read More
  • Value

  • Service

  • Room

  • Décor

Oct 10, 2007

A Great Getaway

What a great getaway. The location is ideal with fantastic views of Florida Bay and a short boat ride to the ocean. We've stayed here on two different occasions and are planning a third visit. Everyone was very nice. It's an easy going place and the other guests were wonderful. The rooms are very clean! The palm trees and hammocks make for a wonderful setting.

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jun 23, 2007

Amazing View!

The hotel was more than I expected. It is hard to judge a hotel on-line because images posted are often enhanced to bring in business. I searched for weeks to find a place to stay that had evrything we were looking for. Needless to say we have found our second home and plan on returning often for relaxing weekend getaways! Staff was always extremely helpful and patient as I booked last minute! Recommend for all types of trips whether romantic,

business, pleasure, etc.

Read More
  • Value

  • Décor

  • Room

  • Service

Jun 7, 2007

Romantically Perfect

We were pleasantly surprised how clean and well maintained the Inn was. The staff was friendly and had great recommendations for dining and recreation. The atmosphere was so relaxing and we really enjoyed our stay. Room 15 is awesome. Our neighbors were friendly and we enjoyed their company. Great place to vacation. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Service

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

A Magic Little Hideaway

This lovely small inn is perfect for a quiet retreat from the real world. I absolutely loved my time there and will definitely return.

  • Service

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2007

more than we expected

What a great place to stay. No complaints. Polite office staff, lovely room, great views. We had a perfect stay.

By waytogo

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Room

  • Value

Mar 7, 2007

Exceptional find!

Away from the maddening crowd -- this spot is convenient to all, but enchantingly private. Comp breakfast under the tiki hut is a lovely start to a fast or slow day depending on your wishes. Staff extremely helpful. Great escape from high-rise and touristy resorts!

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 3, 2007

Wish we could've stayed longer

The perfect place to break up our drive home from Key West. We will be back next year, and stay an extra day or two. Everyone was very friendly--cute room, pool, dock, beach area--even saw a manatee. Also close to Pennekamp State Park (definately recommend spending a day there).

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Mar 2, 2007

Outstanding Find

My girlfriend and I were headed to the Middle Keys to dive, snorkel, swim with the dolphins, hang out and relax in between. The dive operation I use, Conch Republic Divers in Tavernier, referred me to this wonderful, layed back hotel. It is just perfect if you want a gorgeous private quiet setting, a wonderful, helpful friendly staff and outstanding accomodations. ( We were also fortunate enough to be upgraded to a one bedroom suite (#16) when we

had had booked a studio - I'll be booking it again !!!)

Read More
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Feb 14, 2007

Even in the rain the Coconut Palm Inn was perfect!

What a sweet secluded spot in the upper Keys! If you're looking for a great hideaway, this is the place. Not only is it private and cozy, the staff unbelievably nice and accommodating. Whether you're looking for a great cup of coffee or the best stone crabs on the island, they can direct you. We can't wait to go back!

By guayj9

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Room

  • Service

Jan 3, 2007

Casual Elegance!

Coconut Palm Inn is a diamond in the rough offering island elegance in the casual surroundings of the Keys. It couldn't have been more perfect for how we wanted to spend our holiday. We had the convenience of the boat ramp to launch our skis and a private, sandy beach where we felt comfortable beaching them at night. The gulf coast and inlet to the Atlantic is easily accessible for boating and water sports. The amenities were wonderful with a

private beach and heated pool. Lots of private areas under the palms where you can lounge in an Adirondack or doze in a lazy hammock. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing. You can't help but relax, Coconut Palm Inn staff and surroundings are warm and inviting from the moment you arrive!

Read More
  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Room

Jan 3, 2007

Wonderful Place

I was pleasantly surprised by this beautiful little spot in FL which reminded me of a great place I stayed at in Aruba! I love that you walk out of your room onto what seems like your own private beach! Has a quiet, small, tropical atmosphere, where you can put your feet up and relax, or run around to nearby attractions. The best of both worlds, with a very friendly and helful staff. I shall return!

By srfnut

  • Décor

  • Room

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 21, 2006

A tropical escape that Jimmy Buffet would sing about!

During the past year, I have stayed at the Coconut Palm Inn twice. Once with a large group using the multi-room suites. They were great and very clean with a Bali/tropical inspired style. The second stay was impromptu and lucked out by getting main suite. Simply amazing, did I mention the free breakfast and paper? Nothing better than a private retreat that is just blocks from fishing, great dinning and sum fun nightlife! I recommend this hotel to

everyone!

Read More
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 7, 2006

Island Excellence

We went down for a wedding held on the premise. Everything was superb! We thouroughly enjoyed the salt water pool, beach side breakfasts and hammocks. The rooms were clean and up-to-date. The only complanint would be the lack of outlets near a mirror to do your hair. Otherwise, it truly is paradise!

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 23, 2006

Perfect little paradise

Your very own private little piece of paradise, nice sandy beach, beautiful sunsets, reflecting on a glass like sea just has to be seen to believed, decent sized heated pool, excellent buffet breakfast consisting of fresh bagels, toasted if required, muffins, cereal and cereal bars, orange juice and loads of coffee, then you can go and sit at a table on the beach with your breakfast and watch the world go by, Brill. Staff were always there if required.

ps don't forget the bug spray, I ended up with a couple of nasty bites, but overall a fantastic place to chill out, especialy the hammocks,loved the place, keep it up girls.

Read More
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 18, 2006

A dream come true.

I can't say how much I enjoyed this little slice of heaven in the Florida Keys. Everyone I dealt with there was nice, relaxed, service and customer minded, and accomodating. The property itself is very beautiful and relaxation is at every turn, from the docks that strech into the sunset to the warm pool, to the Kayacks and paddle boats available for exporing the bay. I really can't say enough about how nice the folks that run the place are, and

the rooms from the smaller to the larger suites are all just lovely. My best friend recently had his wedding there and we had the place to ourselves. It was wonderful and I can't say enough about it.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.