Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Northeast Coast Restaurants

Clark's Fish Camp

  • 12903 Hood Landing Rd. Map It
  • $$
  • Seafood

Updated 04/24/2014

Fodor's Review

It's out of the way, but every mile will be forgotten once you step inside this former bait shop overlooking Julington Creek. Clark's has more than 160 appetizers and entrées, including the usual—shrimp, catfish, and oysters—and the unusual—ostrich, rattlesnake, and kangaroo. In keeping with the more bizarre entrées is the decor, best described as early American taxidermy: hundreds of stuffed critters gaze upon you in the main dining room, and preserved lions,

gazelles, baboons, even a rhino, keep a watchful eye in the bar. One person's kitschy may be another's creepy. Be careful not to park illegally—tickets are expensive.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

12903 Hood Landing Rd., Jacksonville, Florida, 32258, USA

Map It

Phone:

904-268–3474

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch weekdays

Updated 04/24/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Northeast Coast

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2007

RUINED ANNIVERSARY RUDE MANAGER!

My sister in law made reservations for 18 people on July 1, 2007 for her mother and fathers (my mother and father in law)40th wedding anniversary. The whole family minus two people who were late, were in the reserved room enjoying the party when the manager of the restaurant BARGED in and and aggressively grabbed the (fragile) anniversary cake that belonged to my in laws! She was moving it to clear a table for OTHER people!! She claimed that since

two of the people in out party were late, it voided our reservation of the room!! She was EXREMELY RUDE and she made a HUGE scene! It was SO embarrassing we will NEVER go there again! That manager has NO consideration for others and NO manners! DO NOT GO TO THIS RESTAURANT!!

Read More

By niki

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2006

Nice setting but very disappointing food

After reading rave reviews we gave this place a try. The food was absolutely terrible -- all of it. The only redeeming quality of Clark's is its setting but even the embiance does not entirely compensate for lousy food. All seafood dishes were bland and poorly prepared. It was utter waste of time ( 1 hour wait) and money. If you want excellent seafood with similar setting go to Singletons in Mayport. You will not be disappointed.

By Douglas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2006

Don't feed the Gators

The sign says not to feed the gators, who come up Julington creek,,,,but you don't have to worry about leaving hungry either. During my travels to Jax over the last 10 yrs, been to Clarks about a half dozen times. Keeps getting bigger and busier (and mor mounted animals), but the food keeps up. Try to go some time other than on a weekend to avoid long waits and parking headaches.

By Leon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2005

Great Experience at Clark's

The place is in the woods, no parking, it looks like a shanty, but it is all part of the atmosphere..Being from Pa. I had not seen anything like it, I loved it. Kangaroo was unreal, best appetizer I have had.

By Myra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2005

Atmosphere Fabulous; Food and Service Frightful !

What a huge disappointment for our Saturday night. A long drive followed by a parking nightmare. The place was packed. The hostess told us it would be an hour for a table, but everyone I asked said it was worth the wait. One lady said the food was "wonderful!" The hostess kept calling for "party of 10," "party of 15," "party of 12," etc. After an hour had passed, I went to ask about the wait and the lady yelled, "I told you it would be an hour!"

We waited another 45 minutes. When we finally got a table, it was another hour and a half before we got our food. My lukewarm combination platter tasted like it had been fried the day before. They take reservations for parties of 8 or more, and the locals come in droves. If you're in a party of 3 or 4, then you are out of luck. Maybe it was just my selection that made the food so bad, but Red Lobster has better seafood. We only had a 3-day weekend in FL, so the time spent at Clark's was truly time wasted.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement