Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Northeast Coast Restaurants

O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits

Updated 04/24/2014

Fodor's Review

Dining outside is a treat at this bustling little spot across from the marina. Set in the circa-1791 General Worth house, it has a homelike feel with a balanced clientele of locals, students, and visitors. Favorites include coconut shrimp, blue-crab cakes, and fresh local grouper. Beef lovers may want to try the filet mignon or the New York strip. From upstairs, you have a great marina view; in the courtyard you might enjoy the perfume of blooming jasmine. Call ahead for

"preferred seating."

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

118 Ave. Menendez, St. Augustine, Florida, 32084, USA

Map It

Phone:

904-824–0808

Restaurant Details:

  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 04/24/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2013

New Favorite Restaurant

My husband and I came for dinner on Friday night. We are St. Augustine locals but hadn’t tried OC Whites yet. I am GLAD we did! We were sat right away under the jasmine arbor (smelt amazing). We started with the Coconut Shrimp appetizer, I had a mojito and my husband had a draft beer. Wow was the mojito good! For the entrée I ordered the Herb Grouper, which was cooked perfectly, and the fish tasted very fresh. My husband got the Surf and Turf...

two words “Lobster Tail” YUM! ??The service was great. The young male server was very helpful and quickly got us drinks when needed. The manager stopped by to see how things were going as well. I noticed that he made his way through the restaurant to talk to all the tables.??I am glad we stopped in and I am sure we will make it one of our go-to restaurants.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2007

Poor service is all I can say about this place.

We stopped here on Sunday afternoon (12/31/06) around noon for lunch. We were seated promptly and after a bit a waiter came to get our drink orders. My wife and I each ordered a coke and the waiter said he would back in a moment with the drinks and to take our food order. He returned about 5 minutes later with our cokes and then took our food order and told us the fish we ordered was quick to fix and would be out in just a few minutes. Well apparently

they discovered they were out of fish and had to go catch some more for our lunch. After waiting for over an hour without our waiter even checking on us as we sucked on the ice cubes in our empty drinks, we decided to leave a $5.00 bill to cover our mediocre cokes and poor service and we left to go somewhere else. I don't know if they ever caught the fish for our lunch and I will never know as I plan never to return to O.C.Whites ever again. I can however offer other alternatives for great food while visiting St. Augustine. First and for most Osteens is a great place to eat. Another great place we found was Scarlet OHaras. As for O.C. Whites "Frankly I don't give a damn" P.S. I had to put 1 for the food even though we never got it so that I could add my rating.

Read More

By Shar

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2005

Over Rated

Food was uneventful. Service was very slow.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2005

A Great Spot to Soak Up the Sun

O.C. White's is definitely my pick for casual dining in St. A. On a sunny day in the fall or spring sitting outside can't be beat. Great drinks, great service and better food make this choice a no brainer.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2005

What you would expect.

The food was good, as was the service. A long wait to get in was the only problem, but it was nice to wait on the patio with a glass of wine and listen to the entertainment. The restaurant seating is limited.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement