Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Restaurants

Osteria del Teatro

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Thanks to word of mouth, this northern Italian restaurant is constantly full of the most refined clink and clatter along often-seedy Washington Avenue. Because of inventive and fresh dishes you might stray from the printed menu, and order one of the many daily specials. A representative appetizer is poached asparagus served over polenta triangles with a Gorgonzola sauce. Stuffed pastas, including spinach crepes overflowing with ricotta, can seem heavy but taste light;

fish dishes yield a rosemary-marinated tuna or salmon in a rosemary-shiitake-lemon sauce.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1443 Washington Ave., Miami Beach, Florida, 33139, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-538–7850

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun. No lunch.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2011

Osteria del Teatro Review

This restaurant has both excellent food and excellent service. Much of their pasta is home made, and the agniolotti I had were light and delicious. The service was very attentive. With so many so-so places in South Beach, this one stands out. It's a little pricy, but worth the price.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2004

Worth The Praise

We just returned from dinner....the food was excellent...homemade papparedelle with crab vodka sauce, lobster salad and to die for chocolate cake. Out only complaint was the atmoshphere....too many tables crammed into a very small location. Overall very good and much better than Ago at the Shore Club.

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2003

Great Food

On a quiet Monday night, I enjoyed excellent crab and white fish ravioli. My lady adored the Fettuccine with shrimp in a pink lobster sauce. The Tiramisu dessert was among the best we have tasted. Expect dinner for two with one drink each to set you back around 100 dollars, excluding tip. There is on street metered parking and very prompt and courteous service. The only drawback was a tolerable thumping drum noise from (above?) the restaurant,

and occasional South Beach car stereos. Other than that, the atmosphere was quite nice. Recommended.

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2003

Great food, great service!

We had dinner here on a Saturday night during a recent vacation to South Beach. Food and service were great. Raphael, our waiter, did a super job. The asparagus and gorgonzola appertizer was wonderful as was the pasta fagioli soup. We had the best table in the house and were never rushed or hurried although we were there for almost three hours.

By nancy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2002

Fantastic!

Enoyed this fabulous little place with my husband and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Only negative comment would be decor...we sat right up against window and felt a tad guilty having such a wonderful meal RIGHT in front of much less fortunate characters. Perhaps some sheer drapes would help?

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2002

All four visits great

Visited for the fourth time a week ago and it was great, as usual. A window table makes for wonderful people watching.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2002

Bene! Bravo!

Reservations are essential, and even with one, you might have to wait. This is not a large place, although that has not diminished the number of tables they have managed to deploy. The food is very good, and there certainly is a lot of it. Don't plan on eating light here.

By Jenn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2002

One of the Best Italian Meals Anywhere

I've eaten Italian in so many places, from New York City to Naples. This is simply one of the best places I've ever been...great service, delicious food (don't miss the squid-ink pasta). A gem.

By Dina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2001

Absolutely Fab!

This was one of the best Italian restaurants I have been to.... The waiters were very friendly, and went out of their way to make sure you were happy, and got what you wanted even if it was not on the menu. The only negative thing was that the place was tiny, and thus no bar or waiting area.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement