Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Restaurants

News Café

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

No trip to Miami is complete without a stop at this Ocean Drive landmark, though the food is nothing special. The 24-hour café attracts a crowd with snacks, light meals, drinks, periodicals, and the people-parade on the sidewalk out front. Most prefer sitting outside, where they can feel the salt breeze and gawk at the human scenery. Sea-grape trees shade a patio where you can watch from a quiet distance. Offering a little of this and a little of that—bagels, pâtés,

chocolate fondue, sandwiches, and a terrific wine list—this joint has something for everyone. Although service can be indifferent to the point of laissez-faire and the food is mediocre at best, News Café is just one of those places visitors love.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

800 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, Florida, 33139, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-538–6397

Website: www.newscafe.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 05/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2011

News Café Review

We ate breakfast here four out of our six days in South Beach. When we tried other places, we always came back to News Cafe. Why? The food here was very good and the service was a lot better than we found elsewhere. They do a good job with eggs, and the French toast is yummy. Their coffee tastes good, too. The people watching can be done at any place on the beach, but most of them have not-so-good food. They know how to cook here.

By cmw

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2005

Always the place to be

We've had breakfast here a few times, and the service and food is consistently good. Love the eggs florentine. Would be really nice if there were a bit more elbow & leg room, and (although I'm not a large person) I find the chairs too small and fairly uncomfortable, which isn't very relaxing and makes me want to leave as soon as I've finished eating, so I'm ranking atmosphere a notch lower than I would otherwise.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2003

GREAT LOCATION AND VALUE

Foder's got it right. This is a great people watching place as well as a great value. The bar in the back is very cozy, very friendly, and great if you just want to get a little bit farther away from the Ocean Ave. parade.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2003

Sunnyside up on the plate and on the beach!

It's a great place to start the day.I'm going back in two weeks!Cant wait!!Check the meter.

By Meme

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2001

A must in South Beach.

We think the News Cafe is a must for anyone visiting South Beach. Go for breakfast, go for lunch or if you want a less expensive dinner. Great middle eastern plates. Relaxed, not at all intimidating. Great place to just enjoy people watching and feeling like you are part of the scene.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2001

Fodor's nails it on the head.

Unbelievable people-watching location. That alone makes it worth the price - a respite from the beach and sun and rollerbladers in the heart of hipville usa.

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2000

Terrific value and fun people-watching in the heart of South Beach

News Cafe is my favorite place for breakfast in South Beach, partly because it is totally without pretense -- a rarity in South Beach. Nothing fancy about this place -- just really good food at great prices. The omelettes are fluffy and you can have your choice of a long list of fillings. The coffee is delicious, you can read the paper while you linger over your food, and you can't beat the people watching. It's also a good choice for a late-night

burger or snack. Prices are incredibly reasonable by South Beach standards.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement