Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Restaurants

The Forge

  • 432 Arthur Godfrey Rd. Map It
  • Steakhouse

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Legendary for its opulence, this restaurant has been wowing patrons since 1968. After a renovation, The Forge reemerged in 2010 more decadent than ever; and it hasn't looked back since. It is a steak house, but a steak house the likes of which you haven't seen before. Antiques, gilt-framed paintings, a chandelier from the Paris Opera House, and Tiffany stained-glass windows from New York's Trinity Church are the fitting background for some of Miami's best cuts. The tried-and-true

menu also includes prime rib, bone-in fillet, lobster thermidor, chocolate soufflé, and sinful side dishes like creamed spinach and roasted-garlic mashed potatoes. For its walk-in humidor alone, the over-the-top Forge is worth visiting. Automated wine machines span the perimeter of the restaurant and allow you to pick your own pour and sample several wines throughout your meal.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

432 Arthur Godfrey Rd., Miami Beach, Florida, 33149, United States

Map It

Phone:

305-538–8533

Website: www.theforge.com

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch

Updated 05/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2010

The Forge Review

This place is incredible. I knew about the Forge but had never been before. I LOVE IT! The best wine selection in Miami. And they have the itouch sync to order your wines and learn about them. It's a must have experience. Best steak I've ever had. Great server.

By loover

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2010

The Forge Review

It's a great place to eat. Not in the mood for having to deal with having to monitor the restaurant's service and food. In other words, I wanted to be taken care of. And I was! The Forge is excellent. Their famous steak was as advertised. Get it medium rare. You have a selection of wine like nothing you have ever experienced. I gaurantee it.

By dolor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2010

The Forge Review

Yes. This place is fine dining at it's best. And like one of the previous reviews said, it really isn't too pricey for higher end meals. And the meals were higher end by all standards. We have been coming here this summer a lot. I pretty much stick with the steaks (ribeye, filet mignon), but have had the snapper and salmon. I cannot say for sure which I liked better so I guess you will just have to try for yourself! It's worth it.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2010

The Forge Review

I seriously love the Forge. I like a good steak with wine every so often (I'd eat steak everyday if it wasn't so unhealthy!) Their ribeye and "famous steak" are really the best I've had. And the wine selection makes it a great night. I went with a few friends for a Thursday night dinner and we just had a great time. I tried the tuna also and that was fantastic. If you like food and atmosphere (who doesn't?) Id honestly say The Forge could be

the best in Miami.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2010

The Forge Review

What a beautiful place to have dinner. I'd recommend coming early and sitting by the bar and having a few glasses of wine and just enjoy the ambiance of the bar area with the wine machine and friendly bar tenders. Unfortunately, we only had a few minutes there before we were seated. Not that we were upset! The seating is really unique and comfortable yet classy. They have a really great selection of food (especially seafood and steak). I started

out with the tataki and had the duck as the main course. Obviously, we shared because it was so much food, but that worked out even better as I was able to taste my husbands steak. It melted in my mouth! The desert was great too. Thank you Forge for a wonderful time!!

Read More

By roddy61

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2010

The Forge Review

I was here last Friday night and let me tell you this place is worth every penny. To start, the atmosphere is just beautiful. They take care of you in every way as well. I mean literally...have a question about the restaurant? food? wine? they are literally right there and seemed genuinely happy to be of service. My husband took me here as a surprise and he couldn't have made a better choice. I have to recommend the lobster bisque and risotto.

I have never had either better anywhere! The snapper was incredible as well (server filleted right there!) This was an experience I will not soon forget. Have to give credit to my hubby for this call...

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2010

The Forge Review

I'm not sure about this previous review, because my wife and I went to the Forge this past weekend and our experience was wonderful. I agree that the markup on wine was good and would also say that the selection was fabulous. Did that guy really taste all those meals? (I suspect this is someone from a local competitor). To start out, if you are looking for an amazing steak then I would defintely order their super steak. My wife had the snapper

and we had to share because we liked each other's meals so much! The service was excellent. The server was extremely pleasant and funny and it looked like everyone was having a great time over at the bar. I'd highly recommend the Forge if you are looking for a fabulous dining experience...

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2010

The Forge Review

Where do I begin. The hostess was a rude and obnoxious; the bartender didn't acknowledge our presence for the first 30 minutes while we waited 1:30 for our table (no exaggeration); after all of that I was hoping the food would make up for the disastrous start to the evening but it didn't. The Lobster PP&J was average; the filet mignon and short ribs were horrible and my baked potato wasn't worth eating. The only decent thing about the restaurant was

the mark-up on wine was reasonable and the valet was $5. Other than that there are hundreds of other restaurants on the beach that are worth the money, especially if you are looking for a steak (Prime 112, Red, BLT Steak, etc.).

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2008

Miami Spice

We booked dinner for the Miami Spice menu, not expecting it to be as lavish as the regular high-priced menu. Boy were we right. The portions were tiny- my caesar salad was drenched in dressing and cheap parmesan cheese- I have had better at Macaroni Grill. The tenderloin was tasty, but the waitstaff delivered the wrong temperature steak to myself and my 3 dinner companions. The presentation was very plain..I guess if you are ordering from the Miami

Spice menu you don't even get a garnish. The potato salad was the size of two quarters. In addition, the Cheesecake was flavorless..How do you make cheesecake flavorless? The service was ok. Not great. Definitely not 5 star. I have heard good things about the Forge but I guess they treat the Miami Spice customers as second class citizens. I ask why they are even participating then?

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2007

Better restaurants in Miami to go to

Lets just say for the price you pay here - its just not worth it. They got our order wrong and the service wasnt up to par. The steaks were great but you can get a great steak in many Miami restaurants. We had to argue with our waiter to take the cost off for a dessert we didnt even order!!! If you are there for a special occasion be careful - they charge you $3 for a sparkler candle which they dont even offer as an extra - they just light it and

then charge you for it. Give me a break!! Fyi....$5 for valet. They sure find ways to charge you for "little" things after bringing you the bill. I suggest Azul at the Mandarin....just an amazing restaurant. The Forge was a disappointment.

Read More

By tim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2006

Steaks with Character

The filet mignon was reasonably priced and outstanding, cooked to a tender medium rare. The ceasar salad was crisp and not overly chilled. The atmosphere was definitely romantic and impressive with the stained glass windows and candleabra.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement